We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“'Average' Hilton Property, There Are Better At the Airport & Beyond” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hilton Amsterdam Airport Schiphol

Save Saved
You added Hilton Amsterdam Airport Schiphol to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hilton Amsterdam Airport Schiphol
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Schiphol Boulevard 701, 1118 BN Schiphol, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book Early & Save
Ranked #6 of 6 Hotels in Schiphol
Helsingborg, Sweden
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“'Average' Hilton Property, There Are Better At the Airport & Beyond”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2013

I've stayed twice at the Hilton Amsterdam Airport Schiphol. Neither time impressed me. This is an "average" Hilton property at best.

Had it not been for the favorable room rate (around US$150), I would have stayed at Citizen M, which ranks #1 of 7 among Schiphol Airport hotels on TripAdvisor, or Sheraton, closer to the terminal if you're walking and ranking #3 on TripAdvisor. Hilton ranks 7 of 7, and clearly could do a better job.

Better choices within the Hilton family in Amsterdam, if you have time to get there and back for your flights, are the Doubletree (outstanding) and the Hilton Amsterdam (dated, but a good hotel with rooms featuring views, free use of bikes, at least for Hilton elites, excellent breakfast and a nice executive lounge).

Where does the Hilton Schiphol fall short? 1) Time it takes to get to the hotel from the terminal. Although it is less than an 8-minute walk, you pass the Sheraton about midway if you're walking. A small squabble to be sure. 2) Guest rooms are adequate but dated. 3) The executive lounge is drab, lacks quality food and is not business friendly - for example, when I needed to print a document, I was told that I would need to take the elevator down to the business center, even though I could see that there was a printer underneath the desk where the lounge host sat. 4) Other have complained about the cost of internet. As a Hilton elite (Diamond), I receive free internet.

Would I stay again? Only if the price were irresistible. Otherwise, I would pitch camp at Sheraton or Citizen M - or perhaps another higher-ranking Schiphol Airport property (there are six that rank ahead of Hilton - out of seven total) on TripAdvisor.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Desi J, Guest Relations Manager at Hilton Amsterdam Airport Schiphol, responded to this review, November 19, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review at Tripadvisor, which I have noticed with great concern. To assist you further I will contact you through a personal message.

Yours sincerely,

Desi Janson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

916 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    157
    334
    247
    117
    61
See reviews for
116
184
130
427
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (120)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Stockholm, Sweden
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2013

Stayed here one night in november in an executive twin room on the 8th floor. This hotelis located just a short walk from the main terminal / Schiphol plaza. You don't need to take a shuttle bus to the hotel, like many of the other Schiphol hotels. Checked in pretty late in the evening and the check-in was smooth and staff was really nice. The room was about 25m2 and had a view over the airport. The room was overall OK but the hotel needs to be renovated I think. The bathroom hade some yellow stains and the room felt a bit old with dark furnitures and an old carpet. The tried to go to the executive club room late in the night just before closing but the girl working there refused us entry, even though the club was open 20 minutes more. We just asked if we could go in quick to have som sparkling water but she said no again and acted very rude, since she was talking to the phone in the same time, with whom I don't know.
The breakfast the next day in the restaurant was good with many varieties of hot and cold food, juices, yoghurts, coffee and so on.

I give this hotel 3 star but no more. It sure has potential to be a 4 or 5 star but then I think the rooms needs to be more up to date.

Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Desi J, Guest Relations Manager at Hilton Amsterdam Airport Schiphol, responded to this review, November 19, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review at Tripadvisor with regards to your stay with us in the hotel.

I am pleased to read that you had an enjoyable stay with us! Furthermore I would like to thank you for the compliment with regards to your nice check-in experience.

Next to this it cannot go unnoticed that we are building a new hotel, which will be state-of-the-art and a true flagship. However, regardless of how proud we are of this upcoming highlight, as the hotel is due to open in 2015 we will do our utmost to make sure our guests have a hassle free and enjoyable stay with us in a clean and comfortable hotel with a good selection of outstanding food & beverage facilities and great service till then.

Moreover as the direct feedback of our guests is of paramount importance for us we wish to thank you once again for your comments. Please rest assured that we have immediately addressed all your issues and are working hard to improve wherever possible.

I look forward to have the pleasure to welcome you back with us upon a future visit to the Schiphol area.

Yours sincerely,

Desi Janson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Usa, Japan
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
59 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2013

Location good (but Sheraton is closer walk to airport). This hotel is quite bland. Rooms are small, service polite but nothing special. Beware of internet fees....27 euros for one night....in U.S. dollars that is $36.00. Astounding! Even at the best hotels at the room I have almost never encountered internet fees that high.

Room Tip: beware of internet prices!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Desi J, Guest Relations Manager at Hilton Amsterdam Airport Schiphol, responded to this review, November 19, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review at Tripadvisor with regards to your stay with us in the hotel.

As the direct feedback of our guests is of paramount importance for us we wish to thank you once again for your comments. Please rest assured that we have immediately addressed all your issues and are working hard to improve wherever possible.

We hope to have the pleasure to welcome you back with us upon a future visit to the Schiphol area.

Yours sincerely,

Desi Janson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2013

Within walking distance of airport. Very good experience. Perfect for staying the night before a flight. Also convenent to trains at Schipol. Well worth the stay. Internet is very expensive. Food is good quality, but also expensive. Very clean.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Desi J, Guest Relations Manager at Hilton Amsterdam Airport Schiphol, responded to this review, November 7, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review at Tripadvisor with regards to your stay with us in the hotel. I am pleased to read that you had an enjoyable stay and rewarded us with 5 stars.

Furthermore I would like to use this opportunity to thank you for your compliments with regards to the location and the cleanliness of the room. I will definitely communicate these to our team.

Moreover we have complementary internet in our public areas and we have special packages with internet included. I would like to apologize for not informing you correctly.

We are looking forward to your next stay with us.

Yours sincerely,

Desi Janson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Den Haag, The Netherlands
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2013

With a late arrival and early checkout the internet/breakfast package had no value for me. Not willing to pay over 20 euros for an hour of internet use, declined it. Location is good if you need to get to a plane in the morning, wasn't there long enough to see any of the facilities.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Desi J, Guest Relations Manager at Hilton Amsterdam Airport Schiphol, responded to this review, November 7, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review at Tripadvisor with regards to your stay with us in the hotel.

I am pleased to read that you had an enjoyable stay with us!

The internet is complementary in our public areas. I would like to apologize for not informing you correctly.

We are looking forward to you next visit.

Yours sincerely,

Desi Janson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frisco, United States
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2013

This hotel was recommended by my travel agent and we were very pleased with all the services. We arrived at 8:00am from an international flight and were told that we could check in immediately. It was wonderful to get the extra 5 hours much needed sleep.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Desi J, Guest Relations Manager at Hilton Amsterdam Airport Schiphol, responded to this review, November 7, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review at Tripadvisor with regards to your stay with us in the hotel. I am pleased to read that you had a most enjoyable stay and rewarded us with 4 stars.

We are looking forward to your next stay with us.

Yours sincerely,

Desi Janson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Porthmadog, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2013 via mobile

You know what you get from the Hilton. This seemed to be ideal straight off the flight into hotel. BUT it wasn't if you exit from the airport into the streets there's hotels closer. In fact you could possibly jump into a taxi and get into the heart of Amsterdam in a similar time.
The hotel it's self was fine, friendly staff, efficient etc, interior a little dated and rooms smaller than other Hilton Hotels

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Desi J, Guest Relations Manager at Hilton Amsterdam Airport Schiphol, responded to this review, November 7, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review at Tripadvisor with regards to your stay with us in the hotel. I am pleased to read that you had an enjoyable stay.

Next to the walkway of 7 minutes we have a complementary Shuttle Service from and to the airport for the comfort of our guests.

We are looking forward to your next visit.

Yours sincerely,

Desi Janson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hilton Amsterdam Airport Schiphol? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Amsterdam Airport Schiphol

Address: Schiphol Boulevard 701, 1118 BN Schiphol, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Haarlemmermeer > Schiphol
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Luxury Hotel in Schiphol
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton Amsterdam Airport Schiphol 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Conveniently located next to the World Trade Centre at theinternational airport, Hilton Amsterdam Airport Schipholis close to a number of the city’s attractions. Whetherstaying for work or pleasure, enjoy friendly service, a choiceof excellent dining options and state-of-the-art facilities.AT A GLANCE• Located directly at the airport via a covered walkway• Executive Floor and Lounge• International cuisine at Greenhouse Restaurant• Fitness Room and Sauna• High speed wireless internet• 20mins from Amsterdam Central Station• Business Centre ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Tingo, Hotels.com, Odigeo, EasyToBook, Otel, Agoda and Venere so you can book your Hilton Amsterdam Airport Schiphol reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Amsterdam Airport Schiphol Hotel Haarlemmermeer
Hilton International Amsterdam
Amsterdam Hilton
Hilton Amsterdam Airport Schiphol Haarlemmermeer

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hilton Amsterdam Airport Schiphol, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.