We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Expect more” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Steigenberger Airport Hotel Amsterdam

Save Saved
You added Steigenberger Airport Hotel Amsterdam to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Steigenberger Airport Hotel Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Stationplein ZW 951 | Schiphol-Oost, Schiphol 1117 CE, The Netherlands (Formerly Dorint Hotel Amsterdam/Airport)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 6 hotels in Schiphol
Groningen
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Expect more”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2009

Expect More is the slogan of the Dorint Hotel Amsterdam. You can not expect more then they deliver you. The service level en the kindness of het people is on a very high level.It's a beautiful Hotel with al the facalitys you may expect en more. A nice wellness area with Sauna en pool en relaxroom. I stay a lot in Hotels al over Europe but the Dorint stands high on my favorit list since this weekend. Small details like not charging you a Cola you've reached from the minibar are very important for the satisfaction of the customer.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

623 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    308
    225
    55
    16
    19
See reviews for
70
170
52
224
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (63)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Québec
Top Contributor
112 reviews 112 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2009

The Dorint was a nice surprise. Helpful staff, clean, regular and free shuttle service to and from the airport every 1/2 hour, good food in their restaurants, the breaksfast buffet really complete with juices, cereals, cheese, breads, cold meat, eggs ( easy over, scrambled and sunday morning ...as you like), a working desk and free cable internet, not WIFI but nothing is perfect and yes, soundproof. No noise from the corridor and no noise from outside.But if you prefer to open your window for fresh air, you can.

I would recommend this hotel probably even if you are not on a business trip. Amsterdam can be reach easily by train from the airport ( where you get to with the hotel shuttle).

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta, Indonesia
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2009

location at Schiphol airport, modern interior with great lay out, nice n comfort bedroom, staff helpful n pollite, nice lobby

Stayed June 2007
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Netherlands
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2009

Despite being residents of the Netherlands and living very near Schiphol, we recently escaped to the Dorint hotel for one night to avoid a wild local festival. We wanted a good night’s sleep before a long transatlantic flight the next morning, and we weren’t disappointed. Among the many highlights of this hotel, we didn’t hear a single plane all night and slept like babies.

The hotel is modern in its décor and offers free parking (with pink painted “Ladies Parking” spots available in front) and also a free shuttle to and from the airport. The bar is open 24 hours a day and a beautiful spa and workout facility – complete with a pool – is available for guests. Free breakfast is included with some room deals. Wireless internet is available on the ground floor and in the rooms via broadband.

After a night of sound sleep on the plush, king-sized bed, we headed down to breakfast. The buffet was impressive but the service was a bit lacking. We had to wait to be served water for tea and no one came to help us. After 20 minutes we opted to head back to the room and make use of the complementary tea and coffee (and water boiler) located there. When it was time to leave, we exited the parking ramp and were bid farewell with the sign “You will be back.” I think they might be right!

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio
Top Contributor
135 reviews 135 reviews
63 hotel reviews
Reviews in 69 cities Reviews in 69 cities
147 helpful votes 147 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2009

This hotel was OK. It was clean (although the first thing I saw on entering my room was a huge stain on the carpet) and it did have a very, very nice spa area. It is, however, about a 15 minute drive via the hotel bus and the bus only runs every half an hour. If you are just looking for someplace to crash overnight and would like to relax in a nice spa (sauna, steam, whirlpool, cold plunge) then it would be good. If you have a few free hours to go into Amsterdam, the trip via train is not much longer than the bus ride to the hotel! And when you are leaving the airport, you've got to stand around and wait for the bus. If you are unlucky and just miss one (the run FROM the hotel every half hour) you will be standing there for at least half an hour (not fun when you've just flown all night). The staff was very friendly and helpful. I didn't try the restaurant.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxfordshire
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2009

Great hotel 7 minutes from the airport with the free shuttle bus service. Emphasis is on clean and professional. Hotel is a little pricy. Well located for the motorway network around Amsterdam. Staff are generally very friendly.

I have now stayed regularly at the hotel every week since late June 2009. The gym and pool/spa facilities are excellent. There is also a great park just around the corner from the hotel, and Amstelveen, a nice town outside Amsterdam, is just 5km away - with many good restaurants. It is by a long way one of the best airport hotels in Amsterdam.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2009

The staff are friendly and helpful most of the times. That been said, we had a couple of staff treat us with that very familiar Dutch manner. Also, be aware to put the “Do Not Disturb” sign on the door as seems the staff don’t understand the concept of a lie in (we were woken up 4 times when we didn’t, first one at 8.15am!)
There is a free shuttle that runs all day, every half hour, from Schiphol to Dorint and back. Just walk to the right as you come out of the airport until you find the stop with all the hotel shuttle timetables. It takes 10mins to/from Schiphol from/to Dorint and another 15mins from/to the city centre to/from Schiphol by train and the trains leave every 10mins during the day. Less often during the night. There is also a paid shuttle to the city centre twice a day.
The hotel has gym facilities, sauna and pool and it also offers massages and treatments. I cannot comment on any as we didn’t use them. We also didn’t use the free bikes offered but if you are going to the city centre make sure you do! You are much safer on a bike in Amsterdam than on foot, even if you are a novice rider.
The room was big enough with good facilities, smartly incorporated in the room. Modern furnishings, comfortable bed and very good natural and artificial lighting. The blackout curtains did a very good job blocking the light out. The internet access was by cable only in our room (the cable is only long enough to place the laptop on the desk near it so if you want more bring your own cable) but it was fast and reliable. The bathroom, a good size, featured a heated mirror (so it didn’t steam) which I thought was very helpful. The room also had a dividing sliding door between the main room and bathroom/hallway area. I found this really convenient as I didn’t have to wake my partner up to get ready in the morning.
We booked through Expedia and got a great price but we saw on the door that the normal price was €300 per night which I thought that was a bit excessive, especially if you think that they also charge for parking €8,50 per day which I thought was bit cheeky. You can park across the street for free during the weekends but not during the week as it is reserved for badge holders only.
We also had a meal at the hotel “Sports Bar”. The food was good and the prices very reasonable and the atmosphere was good.
In general we got more than our moneys worth through Expedia and found this to be a great hotel if you don’t mind not being in the city centre. In my opinion it offers a lot more than a city centre hotel and it’s not difficult to commute to the city centre from the hotel. Great also if you want to visit Amsterdam and have day trips to near Rotterdam and other cities.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Steigenberger Airport Hotel Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Steigenberger Airport Hotel Amsterdam

Also Known As:
Dorint Hotel Amsterdam
Steigenberger Airport Hotel Amsterdam Schiphol, Haarlemmermeer
Address: Stationplein ZW 951 | Schiphol-Oost, Schiphol 1117 CE, The Netherlands (Formerly Dorint Hotel Amsterdam/Airport)
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Haarlemmermeer > Schiphol
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 hotels in Schiphol
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Steigenberger Airport Hotel Amsterdam 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Steigenberger Airport Hotel is a first class business hotel with a wide range of recreational facilities. The good accessibility thanks to the free shuttle service to and from the international railway station and Amsterdam Schiphol Airport and direct access to the A4 and A9 motorways, makes Steigenberger Airport Hotel Amsterdam the perfect location for your accommodation, meeting or event. Starting on January 1st 2014, the usage of the WLAN will be free of charge for guests of all hotels of the Steigenberger Hotels AG. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Tingo, Otel, TripOnline SA, HotelsNL, EasyToBook, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Steigenberger Airport Hotel Amsterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Steigenberger Airport Hotel Amsterdam, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.