We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Overnight Stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Steigenberger Airport Hotel Amsterdam

Save Saved
You added Steigenberger Airport Hotel Amsterdam to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Steigenberger Airport Hotel Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Stationplein ZW 951 | Schiphol-Oost, Schiphol 1117 CE, The Netherlands (Formerly Dorint Hotel Amsterdam/Airport)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 6 hotels in Schiphol
Center Harbor, New Hampshire
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Good Overnight Stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2013

My wife and I spent the night of Oct 25 at this property. It is located on the opposite side of the airfield from the terminal and takes about 12-15 minutes by hotel shuttle to get there. Rooms are small by US standards but comfortable and well-equipped. Our only problem was a very hot bathroom caused by a heater behind the mirror. We ate in the sports bar (a little noisy but acceptable) where the menu is typical pub food. Breakfast, however, is a lavish buffet with a myriad of choices. Very good! Only issue we have is the confusion caused by them taking our credit card info and posting a charge, which we signed for, at the time we checked in; then we were asked for our credit card again with another charge posted when we checked out. They said we wouldn't be double-billed. We'll see.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AMS_Steigenberger, Deputy General Manager at Steigenberger Airport Hotel Amsterdam, responded to this review, November 4, 2013
Dear guest,

Herewith I would like to thank you for taking some of your time to provide us with feedback with regards to your recent stay at Steigenberger Airport Hotel Amsterdam. Your feedback is highly appreciated and will be shared with all involved departments.

It has been our pleasure to have you as one of our guests and I look forward to welcome you again in the future.

Kind regards,
Marjolein Bruschke
Deputy General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

623 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    308
    225
    55
    16
    19
See reviews for
70
170
52
224
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (63)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Montrose, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2013

we were very disappointed.
after checking all the amazing reviews on trip Advisor, we decided to stay in this hotel for our short visit in Amsterdam (as it's spa facility gets a lot of good reviews)
we booked and fully paid online well in advance, and expecting to having a relaxed weekend filled with some spas and romantic dinners, but after arriving this Hotel, we were told that our room is not available and we have to stay in a different hotel!!!
All our plans are destroyed!!!
When we asked if the alternative hotel got a spa, the staff assured us that it had the same facility, but that was not the case: by the time we arrived to that alternative accommodation, the spa was closed, and won't operating during the time of our stay.

To stay in this hotel is like to win a lottery, your pay doesn't guarantee your stay.
what's the point for doing a lot of research on Trip Advisor, and in the end get shoveled to somewhere else???

AVOID at all cost!!!!!

Room Tip: To stay in this hotel is like to win a lottery, your pay doesn't guarantee your stay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marlow
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013

Chose the Steigenberger due to its proximity to Schipol and its promise of a 'free' transfer to teh airport. The hotel itself and the rooms are good, however the first shuttle is not until 6 am! So if you have an early flight the 'free' transfer is actually a paid taxi - really not acceptable for an airport hotel - especially as there is no clear mention on the website.
The other issue is that despite having a mini bar there are no actual contents! If you want anything including basics such as water you have to order from the bar - very poor in this day and age

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AMS_Steigenberger, Deputy General Manager at Steigenberger Airport Hotel Amsterdam, responded to this review, October 25, 2013
Dear Mr. Marlow,

First of all I would like to thank you for taking some of your time to provide us with feedback with regards to your recent stay at Steigenberger Airport Hotel. This is highly appreciated by all of us as with this information we are able to further improve our services.

Regarding your comment of the hotel shuttle, I can inform you as followed. We are currently analysing the possibility to extend the driving times of the shuttle. At the moment we only provide a free shuttle between 06:00 - 00:00 hours.

Our Superior Rooms do have a mini bar but it is not filled with products. The reason for this is that use of the items is not included in the room rate. There is a shop on the Ground Floor where guests can buy daily fresh products which can be cooled in the mini bar. Our Executive Rooms are provided with a filled mini bar and usage of these items is included in the room rate.

Once again, I would like to thank you for your feedback. I look forward to welcoming you again in the future.

Kind regards,
Marjolein Bruschke
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doncaster, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013

whats not to like; a great airport hotel, very little aircraft noise, great bar and restaurant food plus the wines. the sports bar has several TV screans so its easy to see football if thats your thing. good service with English spoken through out. the airport shuttle bus is prompt through out the day. rooms & bathrooms are of a good size with modern and comfortable furnishings.

if booking for a number of days check your requirements as i believe that there is a booking charge if you check out early!!

opersite side of the road there is the WINGS bar which also is great for quality food and drink if you wish to try someother eating venue.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AMS_Steigenberger, Deputy General Manager at Steigenberger Airport Hotel Amsterdam, responded to this review, October 22, 2013
Dear Mr. Steven,

Herewith I would like to thank you for taking some of your time to provide us with feedback with regards to your recent stay at Steigenberger Airport Hotel Amsterdam. It is with this information that we are able to further improve our services. Your positive words will be shared with all involved departments.

It has been our pleasure to have you as one of our guests and I certainly look forward to welcoming you again.

Kind regards,
Marjolein Bruschke
Deputy General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hobart, Tasmania, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013

Modern, clean 5 star hotel. We stayed for one night only as it was conveniently situated near the airport and a shuttle bus takes you to the airport/return every hour. we booked through Getaroom which gave us the cheapest rate for this hotel.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AMS_Steigenberger, Deputy General Manager at Steigenberger Airport Hotel Amsterdam, responded to this review, October 21, 2013
Dear Mr. Tony,

Herewith I would like to thank you for the positive feedback given with regards to your stay at Steigenberger Airport Hotel Amsterdam. I will make sure this is shared with all involved departments. It has been our pleasure to have you as one of our guests and I certainly look forward to welcoming you again.

Kind regards,
Marjolein Bruschke
Deputy General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belgium
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013

I stayed at this hotel for one night and I enjoyed it very much. The lady at the reception was very nice and friendly and seemed a bit surprise when I asked her a bit more information about the restaurants of the hotel. I ate something small at the Sports Bar, which was very animated and it was very good value for money. I did not test the pool and spa, however I was very pleased the internet was working so well. The bed is very comfortable and there is little noise overall (well sometimes you hear a door that closes but overall it was ok for such a big hotel). Things to improve: I did not have the time showing on the tv and there was no clock either for at night, and housekeeping did leave a hair from the previous customer in the bath but overall I would definitely recommend this hotel. Breakfast was very elaborate, lots of juices and warm drinks and a very good and varied buffet.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AMS_Steigenberger, Deputy General Manager at Steigenberger Airport Hotel Amsterdam, responded to this review, October 21, 2013
Dear Ms. Melanie,

Herewith I would like to thank you for taking some of your time to provide us with feedback with regards to your stay at Steigenberger Airport Hotel Amsterdam. This is highly appreciated as with this information we are able to further improve our services. I will share all your positive words with the involved departments. It has been our pleasure to have you as one of our guests and I certainly look forward to welcoming you again.

Kind regards,
Marjolein Bruschke
Deputy General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013 via mobile

Great hotel we spent 4 nights here. Only downside was the travel to schipol and the then to Amsterdam or rottordam
The hotel lay on a free bus which runs all aday every half hour. This was free and good . The train journeys to Amsterdam n Rotterdam roughly 20minutes.
There was Resturant at hotel plus the hotel sports bar. Italian Resturant slightly expensive.
We bought snacks for the room from schipol train supermarket.
If staying in dam again would stay here again. But for location maybe stay raddison blu which is located in the dam so no train or bus journeys needed
But overall enjoyed my stay in hotel and dam but weather was rather wet side.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AMS_Steigenberger, Deputy General Manager at Steigenberger Airport Hotel Amsterdam, responded to this review, October 21, 2013
Dear Mr. Joecrozot,

Herewith I would like to thank you for taking some of your time to provide us with feedback with regards to your stay at Steigenberger Airport Hotel Amsterdam. With this information we are able to further improve our services. It has been our pleasure to have you as one of our guests and we certainly look forward to welcoming you again.

Kind regards,
Marjolein Bruschke
Deputy General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Steigenberger Airport Hotel Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Steigenberger Airport Hotel Amsterdam

Also Known As:
Dorint Hotel Amsterdam
Steigenberger Airport Hotel Amsterdam Schiphol, Haarlemmermeer
Address: Stationplein ZW 951 | Schiphol-Oost, Schiphol 1117 CE, The Netherlands (Formerly Dorint Hotel Amsterdam/Airport)
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Haarlemmermeer > Schiphol
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 hotels in Schiphol
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Steigenberger Airport Hotel Amsterdam 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Steigenberger Airport Hotel is a first class business hotel with a wide range of recreational facilities. The good accessibility thanks to the free shuttle service to and from the international railway station and Amsterdam Schiphol Airport and direct access to the A4 and A9 motorways, makes Steigenberger Airport Hotel Amsterdam the perfect location for your accommodation, meeting or event. Starting on January 1st 2014, the usage of the WLAN will be free of charge for guests of all hotels of the Steigenberger Hotels AG. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Tingo, Otel, TripOnline SA, EasyToBook, HotelsNL, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Steigenberger Airport Hotel Amsterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Steigenberger Airport Hotel Amsterdam, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.