We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hotel ok - service ok” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Steigenberger Airport Hotel Amsterdam

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Steigenberger Airport Hotel Amsterdam to your Saves list
Steigenberger Airport Hotel Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Stationplein ZW 951 | 1117 Schiphol-Oost, 1117 CE Schiphol, The Netherlands (Formerly Dorint Hotel Amsterdam/Airport)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Schiphol
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Top Contributor
194 reviews 194 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 74 cities Reviews in 74 cities
83 helpful votes 83 helpful votes
“Hotel ok - service ok”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

Had to stay in area for work, and my colleagues were already booked in to this hotel. It is expensive normally but there was a deal that made it more reasonable. Good points - rooms are quite large, well furnished, very clean, and bright Shuttle bus is excellent to/from airport every 30 minutes. Bad points - double bed is actually two singles pushed together, breakfast is incredibly expensive at €26. There is a little shop selling bottles of water and snacks, but to pay you have to queue up with people checking in - gave up in the end so asked at bar, was given a bottle of water and on check-out saw that I'd been charged €7.50 for it.

Overall I wouldn't stay here if I was paying.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

787 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    394
    284
    65
    19
    25
See reviews for
91
231
58
299
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (77)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Maastricht, The Netherlands
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
89 helpful votes 89 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2013

I spent a week here on Business. Here are the observations:

Bad
- Veeeeery, very, very slow WiFi. Anything further than Gmail, Google, forget it. A VPC for a company laptop would probably crash the entire hotel
- Dodgy pricing in their main bar/restaurant (Sport and media bar). Depending on the day the same dish can be 10-20% more expensive, no explanation whatsoever, and not what is stated in the menu.
- Lacking some basics in the room: Only one shower gel/shampoo, and a big one in the shower which they don't really refill, no slippers (maybe you have to buy them at reception?), etc.

Good:
- Close to the airport, constant shuttle service
- Nice clean rooms, and friendly staff
- Very nice breakfast

In short, you can find better things around here for the price. It won't be my choice next time.
Oh, and don't even think of ordering the Fish&Chips at the Sports Media bar!

Room Tip: Ask for something not facing the other tower of the hotel, it's not nice to have 50-75 rooms loo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013

We only stayed here one night and most was fine. The elevators were having technical difficulties and not reading the card keys, so it took awhile to get up to our rm. The rooms were avg size, but the bathroom was nice and large.
The concierge on duty was not interested in being helpful. We wanted some info about a canal cruise which we were supposed to book through him and yet his answers were consistently, I don't know. I finally had to push to get him to find the answers we needed. One of the shuttle bus drivers drove right past us at the airport without even slowing down at the designated pick up spot. The location is totally business park near the airport.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toledo, Ohio
Top Contributor
156 reviews 156 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2013 via mobile

Hotel offers a free shuttle from the airport. We had to wait 30 mins for shuttle as last one had just left. Waiting outside in rain was a bummer. Hotel staff was very friendly and helpful. Lobby very nice with art for sale and art exhibit. Excellent rooms with nice decor and comfortable beds. Nice breakfast buffet but there is a charge, not included in room price.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

A great hotel with excellent facilities and friendly staff. Stayed one night as was changing flights at Amsterdam and extended my stay to relax.The transfer service was excellent with helpful driver as was travelling with 4 elderly guests, 7 Large Suitcases, 7 Small Suitcases and two wheelchairs. Both Drivers helped me with the luggage and getting my Grandparents on/off coach.

Check-in was smooth and friendly and all assistance was offered and full facilities explained, we all ate in the Sports Bar and was quick and tasty and again service was excellent.

My reason for only giving 4 stars is that breakfast was not the same standard, lots of dirty tables and food not replenished quickly and thus lots didn't get a hot selection. Full Hotel but seemed Short Staffed as any staff where working very hard and this was disappointing as didn't match the efficiency shown in the rest of the hotel.

I shall look forward to my return visit

Room Tip: Ask for first Tower Room if lots of Luggage
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warsaw, Poland
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

I like this hotel. For me on business, sleep and comfort are the main priorities. This hotel ticks those boxes and more. The staff are very helpful and polite and there is a free shuttle bus to the airport.

The onsite bar is very good and serves excellent bar food. I did not try the restaurant.
Breakfast was good, but a little busy as it always is in a good airport hotel. If you're stopping over at Schipol, I recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dorking
Top Contributor
133 reviews 133 reviews
75 hotel reviews
Reviews in 77 cities Reviews in 77 cities
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

Efficient and friendly check in - good sized room - spotlessly clean and comfortable. Choice of food in the bar and restaurant area - excellent service in the Italian restaurant. Courtesy bus runs every half an hour and works well - though beware big queues at check in if it is full - I was lucky and arrived at a quiet time, but saw long queues the next day.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Steigenberger Airport Hotel Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Steigenberger Airport Hotel Amsterdam

Address: Stationplein ZW 951 | 1117 Schiphol-Oost, 1117 CE Schiphol, The Netherlands (Formerly Dorint Hotel Amsterdam/Airport)
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Haarlemmermeer > Schiphol
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Schiphol
#2 Romantic Hotel in Schiphol
#3 Business Hotel in Schiphol
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Steigenberger Airport Hotel Amsterdam 4*
Number of rooms: 440
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Steigenberger Airport Hotel is a first class business hotel with a wide range of recreational facilities. The good accessibility thanks to the free shuttle service to and from the international railway station and Amsterdam Schiphol Airport and direct access to the A4 and A9 motorways, makes Steigenberger Airport Hotel Amsterdam the perfect location for your accommodation, meeting or event. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, EasyToBook, Cheap Tickets, HotelTravel.com, Priceline, Despegar.com and Agoda so you can book your Steigenberger Airport Hotel Amsterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Steigenberger Airport Hotel Amsterdam Schiphol, Haarlemmermeer

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Steigenberger Airport Hotel Amsterdam, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.