We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great airport hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Steigenberger Airport Hotel Amsterdam

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Steigenberger Airport Hotel Amsterdam to your Saves list
Steigenberger Airport Hotel Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Stationplein ZW 951 | 1117 Schiphol-Oost, 1117 CE Schiphol, The Netherlands (Formerly Dorint Hotel Amsterdam/Airport)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Schiphol
Toledo, Ohio
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Great airport hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2013 via mobile

Hotel offers a free shuttle from the airport. We had to wait 30 mins for shuttle as last one had just left. Waiting outside in rain was a bummer. Hotel staff was very friendly and helpful. Lobby very nice with art for sale and art exhibit. Excellent rooms with nice decor and comfortable beds. Nice breakfast buffet but there is a charge, not included in room price.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

720 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    365
    259
    58
    16
    22
See reviews for
88
213
55
268
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (72)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Belfast, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

A great hotel with excellent facilities and friendly staff. Stayed one night as was changing flights at Amsterdam and extended my stay to relax.The transfer service was excellent with helpful driver as was travelling with 4 elderly guests, 7 Large Suitcases, 7 Small Suitcases and two wheelchairs. Both Drivers helped me with the luggage and getting my Grandparents on/off coach.

Check-in was smooth and friendly and all assistance was offered and full facilities explained, we all ate in the Sports Bar and was quick and tasty and again service was excellent.

My reason for only giving 4 stars is that breakfast was not the same standard, lots of dirty tables and food not replenished quickly and thus lots didn't get a hot selection. Full Hotel but seemed Short Staffed as any staff where working very hard and this was disappointing as didn't match the efficiency shown in the rest of the hotel.

I shall look forward to my return visit

Room Tip: Ask for first Tower Room if lots of Luggage
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warsaw, Poland
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

I like this hotel. For me on business, sleep and comfort are the main priorities. This hotel ticks those boxes and more. The staff are very helpful and polite and there is a free shuttle bus to the airport.

The onsite bar is very good and serves excellent bar food. I did not try the restaurant.
Breakfast was good, but a little busy as it always is in a good airport hotel. If you're stopping over at Schipol, I recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dorking
Top Contributor
123 reviews 123 reviews
72 hotel reviews
Reviews in 73 cities Reviews in 73 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

Efficient and friendly check in - good sized room - spotlessly clean and comfortable. Choice of food in the bar and restaurant area - excellent service in the Italian restaurant. Courtesy bus runs every half an hour and works well - though beware big queues at check in if it is full - I was lucky and arrived at a quiet time, but saw long queues the next day.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Budapest, Budapest, Hungary
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2013

Usually when we are in AMS for work we stay in Steigenberger. The Hotel is 10 meters from the Airport. From the WRONG side of the Airport though :) Means a 10 mins driving back and forth. Which is OK as they have their free shuttles quite frequently. Taxi cannot be put on room bill (1 minus point) Receptionists are not so professional and medium kind. Funny enough they take LH miles and more but not AF/KLM cards... Breakfast is really good but pretty expensive, Sports and Media Bar is OKish. NOTHING to see in the surrounding area, You need to go to AMS by taxi if You want to see ANYTHING.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ballyclare, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

Having booked my room through Hotels.com and received receipt of my payment through email. I arrived at the hotel at 12.40am after a long flight from the US and because the hotel reservations had not communicated my booking they kept me waiting for one hour at reception until eventually I started shouting at them.
They have no concept of customer service and then once I eventually get to my room the bed cloths were damp and the room smelt damp.

Room Tip: Please don't book this hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AMS_Steigenberger, Deputy General Manager at Steigenberger Airport Hotel Amsterdam, responded to this review, September 11, 2013
Dear Mr. Forsythe,

In first instance we would like to thank you for your review on Tripadvisor with regards to your stay at Steigenberger Airport Hotel Amsterdam. With this information we are able to further improve our services.

With regards to the miscommunication of your booking, we would like to offer you our sincere apologies. Please be advised that this is absolutely not up to our normal standards. Your comment has been shared with the responsible department head and we will make sure this will not happen again in the future.

We would kindly ask you to contact us personally to clarify all doubts. This can be done by contacting the Executive Office. They can be reached from Monday till Friday from 09:00 – 17:30 hours via +31 (0)20 5400 800 or via stephanie.enninga@airporthotel-amsterdam.steigenberger.nl

Mr. Forsythe, once more we would like to thank you for taking the time to provide us with feedback. We certainly hope that we may welcome you again in the future to show to you that we are able to offer excellence on all parts of our service.

Kind regards,
STEIGENBERGER AIRPORT HOTEL AMSTERDAM

Marjolein Bruschke
Deputy General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

I visited Amsterdam couples of times for business purpose and always stayed at the area closed to the Schiphol Airport. In December 2012 I decided to try with Steigenberger Airport Hotel Amsterdam. I booked 4 rooms for our team. The hotel was very nice and clean. The room was good. It was closed to the airport having the regular free-shuttle bus from/to airport. On top of it, it was closed to the simulator centre where we did training of our pilots. Once of the best hotel around Schiphol Airport.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Steigenberger Airport Hotel Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Steigenberger Airport Hotel Amsterdam

Address: Stationplein ZW 951 | 1117 Schiphol-Oost, 1117 CE Schiphol, The Netherlands (Formerly Dorint Hotel Amsterdam/Airport)
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Haarlemmermeer > Schiphol
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Schiphol
#2 Business Hotel in Schiphol
#3 Romantic Hotel in Schiphol
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Steigenberger Airport Hotel Amsterdam 4*
Number of rooms: 440
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Steigenberger Airport Hotel is a first class business hotel with a wide range of recreational facilities. The good accessibility thanks to the free shuttle service to and from the international railway station and Amsterdam Schiphol Airport and direct access to the A4 and A9 motorways, makes Steigenberger Airport Hotel Amsterdam the perfect location for your accommodation, meeting or event. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, HotelTravel.com, Despegar.com, Travelocity, getaroom.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, EasyToBook and Tingo so you can book your Steigenberger Airport Hotel Amsterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Steigenberger Airport Hotel Amsterdam Schiphol, Haarlemmermeer

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Steigenberger Airport Hotel Amsterdam, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.