We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Steigenberger Airport Hotel Amsterdam

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Steigenberger Airport Hotel Amsterdam to your Saves list
Steigenberger Airport Hotel Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Stationplein ZW 951 | 1117 Schiphol-Oost, 1117 CE Schiphol, The Netherlands (Formerly Dorint Hotel Amsterdam/Airport)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Schiphol
Doha, Qatar
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Very nice stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

My family and I recently stayed at the Steigenberger Airport Hotel Amsterdam on our way home to Doha after a wonderful holiday in the Caribbean. We stayed one night during a layover in Amsterdam and were treated very well at the hotel by a very friendly and accommodating staff. Rooms are very nice, extremely clean and comfortable. Great Pub/restaurant at the Hotel. Highly recommend for a short stay.

Room Tip: Very convenient if you are in Amsterdam for a quick turnaround at the airport.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

719 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    365
    258
    58
    16
    22
See reviews for
88
213
55
267
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (72)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Victoria, Canada
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2013

Smiles on check-in, smiles on depature. It's the in-between that really counts. I stayed for 6 nigts, as work kept me in the general area. Standard bed and breakfast deal. The breakfast is excellent. Rooms are clean and supplied with basics.

Housekeeping did not ensure filling the liquid soap dispenser in the shower. Shower - another impossibly stupid Euro convention whereby it is impossible to shower without splashing water out of the enclosure, so the floor is always wet an so is the bath mat.
Main critique from this, my second vist to this location, is the tricky area of customer service...
On my third evening I went to the sports bar with my paper to eat and read. I was solo. Occupancy at 65%. Table choices were limited to a double (2 person) or quad (4 person). The doubles where all arranged together - some where occupied already. I chose a quad for comfort (bench seat at my back) and light, and so I could catch the last of the day's light to read by.
Waitress asked if others would join me. (I could predict her next request). "No".
"Would you mind moving to another table?" "Yes, I would mind" "But we might get busy and want this table"
"You can have 'em all".

I went across the street to another mid-range place with kitschy male waiters dressed in faux pilot shirts, Wings Cafe, was adequate. It was either that or bus it back to the airport and eat at some place there.
It just wasn't busy enough for this request.

Some of the back story: my colleague and his request for a bed for his small 12 year old son... after the promised triple room did not materialize... and as no extra bed or cot was able to be provided, I stripped the unused extra bed in my room and loaned the little gaffer bedding so he could sleep on the floor in his parent's room.

Then, the incredulous smirk on the face of the waiter when we asked for side plates while we shared appetizers...

As I reported my concern about the table change request to reception, I was handled with complete and utter indifference and there was zero follow up from anyone. Sometimes the personality traits of some employees just seems to render them... insufficient to the task.

We have several compay employees at this hotel on occasion. I have choice, and will not stay at the Steigenberger again on my next business trip.

The hotel may of course respond to this critical review - it will no doubt contain the usual bland mantras espoused in the latest hospitality manual. "We hope you will see us again..."
The Dutch are not the only stubborn people in the Euro-zone. Not a chance.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Parsippany, New Jersey
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013

Always stay here for business trips. The shuttle to and from the airport is always on-time and runs frequently. I have never been bothered by noise, sleep like a baby. Staff is helpful, meeting rooms are good, the lounge is great for a drink. The one down side is that there is no where to easily grab a bag of chips or a soda - stock up on that at the airport before catching the shuttle.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairfield, Connecticut
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

I had an overnight layover in Amsterdam and booked this hotel redeeming miles. I was surprised at how new and funky this hotel was. The floors literally smelled like new carpet. The room was not very big, but very well laid out. The bathroom was spacious and new. The stand to put your suitcase was situated in an open area between the coat closet and a cabinet, which contained the safe, fridge, coffemaker and ironing board/iron. The cabinet had a very fun design with separate compartments for all the items and pictures of them on the door handles. There is also a gallery in the lobby of the hotel, which really elevated the lobby area. The spa has many services, including massages, facials, etc. which I found unusual given the location. I wish I had time to use those services. I did visit the pool, which was quite nice. The most impressive part of the hotel for me was the fact that they had not one, but two 24/7 establishments. A sports and media bar, which has many TVs, free WIFI, tons of drinks and some average food. They also have a coffee bar with a very cute library which also offers food and drinks all night. My flight into Amsterdam arrived late, so it was nice to get a Heineken and some grub when I got to the hotel. I went to the bar because it offered outside seating. There is also what appeared to be a very nice Italian restaurant where breakfast is also served. The shuttle to the airport runs every half hour, which is convenient. The wifi was strong in the room, but I definitely could not use it while I was sitting outside. The hotel also features a fair trade and green floor, which I would imagine is pretty cool as well. I would recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chessington, Surrey
Top Contributor
113 reviews 113 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 62 cities Reviews in 62 cities
87 helpful votes 87 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

The Steigernberger is fine for a quick trip where I was working close to the aorport so did not want to go into the centre of amsterdam.

They have a nice informal bar selling snacks rather than having to go into the main restaurant.

Rooms were good, service was good, no bad points to highlight. I would use this hotel again.

Room Tip: This hotel runs a free bus shuttle to and from the airport.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2013

The hotel building looks new and so was the room. Service was good. Free unlimited wifi. The hotel is a ten minutes drive from the airport and there's a free shuttle every half hour. We used the shuttle to catch train to the city centre via airport.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2013

Our stay at the Steigenberger Airport hotel was very good as they have a free Shuttle bus that operates for the hotel to the Airport and back every 30 mins. The hotel itself is very nice inside and the rooms are also clean and comportable.
I do think this is a very convenient place for a short s

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Steigenberger Airport Hotel Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Steigenberger Airport Hotel Amsterdam

Address: Stationplein ZW 951 | 1117 Schiphol-Oost, 1117 CE Schiphol, The Netherlands (Formerly Dorint Hotel Amsterdam/Airport)
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Haarlemmermeer > Schiphol
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Schiphol
#2 Business Hotel in Schiphol
#3 Romantic Hotel in Schiphol
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Steigenberger Airport Hotel Amsterdam 4*
Number of rooms: 440
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Steigenberger Airport Hotel is a first class business hotel with a wide range of recreational facilities. The good accessibility thanks to the free shuttle service to and from the international railway station and Amsterdam Schiphol Airport and direct access to the A4 and A9 motorways, makes Steigenberger Airport Hotel Amsterdam the perfect location for your accommodation, meeting or event. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, HotelTravel.com, Despegar.com, Travelocity, getaroom.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, EasyToBook and Tingo so you can book your Steigenberger Airport Hotel Amsterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Steigenberger Airport Hotel Amsterdam Schiphol, Haarlemmermeer

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Steigenberger Airport Hotel Amsterdam, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.