We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Would highly recommend” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Steigenberger Airport Hotel Amsterdam

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Steigenberger Airport Hotel Amsterdam to your Saves list
Steigenberger Airport Hotel Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Stationplein ZW 951 | 1117 Schiphol-Oost, 1117 CE Schiphol, The Netherlands (Formerly Dorint Hotel Amsterdam/Airport)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Schiphol
Tasmania, Australia
Top Contributor
123 reviews 123 reviews
50 hotel reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
“Would highly recommend”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2011

Stayed here on the first night of a Trafalgar tour, what an absolutely lovely hotel. The decor is modern, luxurious and tastefully decorated. The foyer area is vast, has a lovely warm feeling, and there is seating, plants and flowers present and even a small snack bar. As the tour director checked us in I had no contact with the reception staff, but other staff I encountered were pleasant and most helpful. A word of warning be careful when you enter the lift, the room’s numbers are split between two sets of lifts, so check your room number against the numbers in the lift before you press the button. The room itself is again tastefully decorated and very comfortable, with all conveniences provided, including free internet and toiletries. The beds are extremely comfortable, with a feather topped mattress cover and feather doonas and pillows, an excellent sleep. Breakfast was buffet style, very good and plentiful, and all tastes were catered for. The only small gripe that I would have with the hotel would be the lack of an exhaust fan in the bathroom. A beautiful hotel and a very comfortable stay, would highly recommend.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dorint_Amsterdam, Manager at Steigenberger Airport Hotel Amsterdam, responded to this review, October 20, 2011
Herewith we would like to thank you for taking some of your valuable time to share your feedback regarding your stay at the Dorint Hotel Amsterdam Airport with us and other (future) visitors. Please be advised that we have passed on your comments to all departments concerned.

Of course we are happy to see that you would highly recommend us to other guests.
We really hope you’ll be back and are looking forward welcoming you in our hotel again.

For now, I thank you again and have a good day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

722 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    365
    260
    59
    16
    22
See reviews for
88
213
55
269
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (72)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2011

We stayed at this wonderful hotel for a week in mid August of 2011. We were traveling with another family with the same age kids (9 and 12) and we were meeting up with dutch friends who lived in Amsterdam. We were initially worried that the location of the hotel would be a problem, as it is approx 20 min train ride from downtown Amsterdam. We were wrong! The location was a positive; very close to Schiphol airport and easily accessible by hotel shuttle and trains leaving every few minutes from airport. It was nice to have a relaxing and quiet hotel to come home to at the end of non stop sightseeing. Also, the hotel was in close proximity to the freeways, as we rented a car to explore the countryside of Holland.
The amenities were great; rooms modern, clean, sleek, our kids loved the pool, we loved the health club and the massages (great massage therapists). The hotel staff couldn't have been nicer and the food-especially huge breakfast buffet was fantastic. This hotel was a welcome, sparkling clean respite from all the hustle and bustle. Also, the beds were exceptionally comfy. A huge thumbs up!

Room Tip: We stayed on concierge floor which was great but all the rooms are sleek and modern from what I saw.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dorint_Amsterdam, Manager at Steigenberger Airport Hotel Amsterdam, responded to this review, October 20, 2011
Herewith we would like to thank you for taking some of your valuable time to share your feedback regarding your stay at the Dorint Hotel Amsterdam Airport with us and other (future) visitors. Please be advised that we have passed on your comments to all departments concerned.

Of course we are happy to hear that you have had such a great time in our hotel.
We really hope you’ll be back and are looking forward welcoming you in our hotel again.

For now, I thank you again and have a good day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mexico
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
194 helpful votes 194 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2011

It's somewhat far away from Amsterdam, but if you take the bus shuttle to the airport, and from there the train to Amsterdam, you can be there in no more than 15-20 minutes without hassle.

The hotel is gorgeous, very modern with big rooms, and one of the best beds I've slept in. We were touring Europe for a month and stayed in 13 different hotels, and this was by far the best one of them all.

If you are traveling with children as we did (teenagers), they have communicated rooms which makes it much more convenient and easy.

The bar and the restaurants are great, and everybody is very attentive and courteous. The breakfast restaurant is great and also one of the best breakfast buffets we had in all of our tour in Europe, really abundant and tasty.

The pool is great for relaxing and the spa/wellness area is fantastic! It's something not to miss. Just bear in mind that these type of facilities in Europe are cloths optional, so have to be prepared for that. It really was an incredible experience, you can grab some marine salt to exfoliate on the steam room.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dorint_Amsterdam, Manager at Steigenberger Airport Hotel Amsterdam, responded to this review, October 20, 2011
Herewith we would like to thank you for taking some of your valuable time to share your feedback regarding your stay at the Dorint Hotel Amsterdam Airport with us and other (future) visitors. Please be advised that we have passed on your comments to all departments concerned.

Of course we think it is lovely to hear that you experienced us as best hotel during your trip in Europe. We really hope you’ll be back and are looking forward welcoming you in our hotel again.

For now, I thank you again and have a good day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin, Germany
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2011

The hotel is located close by the airport. Obviously they don’t trust their guests as the minibar is big but empty but you can by drinks at reception and cool them yourself then in the minibar (which is rather a fridge).
The hotel has “zero” atmosphere, the rooms are less than average. You don’t get any amenities like bathroom shoes, bath robe or anything like that.
I had to stay there during the big IBC fair. They charged a fortune (€ 700) but the city center was even more expensive or booked out anyway.
Amsterdam is expensive (hotels) but that is just rip off!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dorint_Amsterdam, Manager at Steigenberger Airport Hotel Amsterdam, responded to this review, October 20, 2011
Herewith we would like to thank you for taking some of your valuable time to share your feedback regarding your stay at the Dorint Hotel Amsterdam Airport with us and other (future) visitors. Please be advised that we have passed on your comments to all departments concerned.

With regards to the fact that the minibar in your room was empty, I would like to inform you as follows. Our standard rooms on the 1st - 5th floor, are all equipped with empty minibars. This way guests can fill the minibar with their own preferred items, which can be bought in the D-Shop in the lobby. If guests would like to have a filled minibar, it is possible to book an upgrade to the Executive or Club Floor. Than the minibar items are included in the room rate. This is the same for bathrobes, slippers and extra amenities.

We are very sorry for the fact that we were not able to meet your expectations. With this reaction we would like to offer you our sincere apologies for the misunderstanding. However we do hope that we will have the opportunity to welcome you again in the future and to prove we are able to offer excellence on all aspects of our services.

For now, I thank you again and have a good day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cary, North Carolina
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2011 via mobile

I stayed at the Dorint during a recent business trip to Amsterdam.  It's a very modern and sleek hotel in terms of architecture and design.  I stayed on the 6th floor which is supposed to be the executive rooms.  Very good use of limited space so you dont feel cramped.  2 single beds merged together to form one king-sized bed but with separate sheets and blankets.  Amenities included free Internet connection (Ethernet or wireless), soap shampoo conditioner lotion in bath, slippers, hair dryer, free safe that can fit a small laptop or jewelry box.  Amenities that may be available only for exec rooms include espresso coffee maker and complimentary bathrobe.  Don't expect a flat screen tv - according to the hotel they have yet to find one that is earth friendly.  

Glass wall partially covers a third of the shower/tub and there is no shower curtain so one has to be careful about water coming from the shower.

This hotel - as with much of Amsterdam - practices environmental
conservation.  Your door badge is also your key to the room's electricity and has to be inserted into a slot that keeps the lights on.  When you leave with your badge, the
lights turn off automatically after a few minutes.

The breakfast buffet is extensive, healthy, and quite good.  However, food served in the media/sports bar is unexpectedly mediocre, avoid if you have other choices.

  • Stayed September 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Uppsala, Sweden
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2011

A perfect place to stay when you have meetings in the Schiphol area. A perfect place to arange a meeting, conference etc.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2011

A great place to stay near Schiphol airport with a convenient shuttle service to the airport.
On the downside there is not much to do in the immediate vicinity of the hotel itself. Good breakfast with a large choice ranging from fresh fruit to eggs and pancakes. Excellent free Spa facilities (sauna, steam bath, swimming pool and paing massage services) which are a welcome change for business travellers.
The rooms are spacious and offer free Internet. The hotel is fairly clean and contemporary, yet misses a bit of character for me personally.
The staff is very friendly and open to any suggestions which might make your stay more comfortable. Having the Dorint Gold card ensures nice upgrades such as a free bottle of wine, newspaper and a free gift upon arrival.
My first choice when I do not have to be in the center of Amsterdam.

Room Tip: Ask for the Max Havelaar room or the Executive Suites
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Steigenberger Airport Hotel Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Steigenberger Airport Hotel Amsterdam

Address: Stationplein ZW 951 | 1117 Schiphol-Oost, 1117 CE Schiphol, The Netherlands (Formerly Dorint Hotel Amsterdam/Airport)
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Haarlemmermeer > Schiphol
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Schiphol
#2 Business Hotel in Schiphol
#3 Romantic Hotel in Schiphol
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Steigenberger Airport Hotel Amsterdam 4*
Number of rooms: 440
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Steigenberger Airport Hotel is a first class business hotel with a wide range of recreational facilities. The good accessibility thanks to the free shuttle service to and from the international railway station and Amsterdam Schiphol Airport and direct access to the A4 and A9 motorways, makes Steigenberger Airport Hotel Amsterdam the perfect location for your accommodation, meeting or event. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, HotelTravel.com, Despegar.com, getaroom.com, Booking.com, EasyToBook, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Steigenberger Airport Hotel Amsterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Steigenberger Airport Hotel Amsterdam Schiphol, Haarlemmermeer

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Steigenberger Airport Hotel Amsterdam, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.