We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A nice place to relax!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Van der Valk Hotel Schiphol

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Van der Valk Hotel Schiphol to your Saves list
Van der Valk Hotel Schiphol
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Rijksweg A4 No. 3, 2132 MA Schiphol, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
Benefit an extra 10% off
Ranked #5 of 7 Hotels in Schiphol
Bergen, Norway
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“A nice place to relax!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013

If you don`t like to live in a big city, but prefer things like a swimmingpool and a balcony, than the Van der Valk Schiphol A4 is a really nice place.
The breakfast had both fried eggs that where prepeard why you waited (not fried 3 hours ago and lurking under a pan), and actually a surprisingly good coffee.

High quality restaurant for dinner with nice and positive staff. If you are staying for more than a night you could also eat at the "roadstop" who in addition to KFC, Burger King and other fast food restaurants, has an very nice Argentinian Steak House.

Downsides: The swimmingpool attracts children, noisy jumping children.. Not always the best combination if you actually want to swim for exercise.. The wellness-center did not function in the morning. The sauna was cold etc.
On the webpage it says that they hav 42 inch Flat screenTV in every room. In my room it was not a 42, probarbly around 30 inch or smaller.
I lived in the new section, the balcony has no walls seperating you from your neighbour who is smoking and watching you. In the other/older part, it looked as if the balcony is seperated from the neighbours.

The shuttle bus was free, on time, but I think 40 minutes intervall is a bit too long. Every 30 minutes would be better, every 20 minutes would be perfect.

A few downsides, but all in all I will probarbly come back sometime!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,937 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    535
    967
    281
    103
    51
See reviews for
473
664
152
360
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (122)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Chaumont-gistoux
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013

We booked a triple room in this hotel as an overnight stay following a visit to friends close by. The hotel room was very spacious with a huge LCD television, but was a little bit outdated. The bathroom had both shower and bathtub and had sufficient towels, shampoo and soap for the three of us. The beds slept perfect and the air-conditioning was silent and worked very good. We really enjoyed the room and had a good night sleep. Just one little thing the bed-lamps did not work. The breakfast the next day was perfect with just everything you could imagine for breakfast.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Galahotels.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki, Finland
Level Contributor
23 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2013

Excellent breakfast. The location is good too, close to the airport and possibility to use a shuttle buss. Nothing interesting around if you want to have a little walk; well, it's an airport hotel so..

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
626 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 260 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2013

We spent our last evening in Amsterdam at this hotel & very pleasantly surprised with our stay! We landed from Basel & took the free, short shuttle trip to the Valk, spending our last enjoyable night with our family in the hotel bar. Our room reservations made our check in, seamless & the staff were very pleasant. The room rate was reasonably priced & was very spacious, also included all required amenities. The hot buffet breakfast was included in our room rate & served in the main dining hall in the restaurant. I would recommend this hotel to anyone staying in the Schiphol area.

Room Tip: It can be a long walk to your room, so you may want to request a room close to the centre of the hot...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eindhoven, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
310 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2013

This hotel is located at about 15 minutes from Schiphol Airport. Just like us, many people use it after or before flying from that airport. We could park our car there for just a little extra for 3 weeks. Shuttles to the airport although are only free during daytime from 6 am. We were unlucky to fly both times in the night. You must order a shuttle or taxi then and pay 20 Euro for the shuttle taxi, or a normal taxi we were forced to take because the shuttle was full, and then pay 25 Euro.
The entire price for us was therefore 215 Euro, in total for 4 persons. Pretty much, but a lot is included. But because of the price for me, I rate this at 3 instead of 4 stars.
We had a room with an extra wall between the beds, because of the little children. Although booked, we did get at first a wrong room and had to get back to the reception to change that. But it was quickly solved.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bruges, Belgium
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2013

We stayed in the hotel for 1 day before we went to the airport.It is a very good hotel with quiet rooms so close to the airport.Also a small gym and swimmingpool and the breakfast was excellent ,everything you could think of was there very very good.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

Stayed hear for 2 nights and I loved it great food beds staff and comfort one of the best hotels I have stayed at will defo be back the hotel has a balcony so if your a smoker then it's excellent not having to go outside also very quiet even next to airport. Facilities are great you can even use after you have checked out :) great hotel

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Schiphol
4.5 mi away
citizenM Schiphol Airport
2.7 mi away
Hyatt Place Amsterdam Schiphol Airport
6.2 mi away
Steigenberger Airport Hotel Amsterdam
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Crowne Plaza Amsterdam Schiphol
6.4 mi away
Hotel Ibis Amsterdam Airport
2.6 mi away
Hampton by Hilton Amsterdam Airport Schiphol
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Van der Valk Hotel Schiphol? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Van der Valk Hotel Schiphol

Address: Rijksweg A4 No. 3, 2132 MA Schiphol, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Haarlemmermeer > Schiphol
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Schiphol
#5 Business Hotel in Schiphol
#5 Luxury Hotel in Schiphol
#5 Romantic Hotel in Schiphol
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Van der Valk Hotel Schiphol 4*
Number of rooms: 565
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Centrally located, a stone's throw away from the Schiphol Airport and close to the centre of Amsterdam, you will find luxury, comfort and hospitality with us. Because of its ideal location our hotel is easily accessible by car, public transport or by the free shuttle service. Our hotel offers generous parking spaces, where you can park your car free of charge during your stay in our hotel. Our friendly staff members, the generous, luxurious rooms, suites and many amenities will make you feel at home straight away.We're looking forward to welcoming you in Hotel Schiphol A4! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, EasyToBook, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Venere, Agoda and getaroom.com so you can book your Van der Valk Hotel Schiphol reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Schiphol a4 Hotel
Schiphol a4 Hoofddorp
Van Der Valk Hotel Schiphol Haarlemmermeer

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Van der Valk Hotel Schiphol, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.