We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Can be very good with more frequent shuttle..” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Van der Valk Hotel Schiphol

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Van der Valk Hotel Schiphol to your Saves list
Van der Valk Hotel Schiphol
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Rijksweg A4 No. 3, 2132 MA Schiphol, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
Benefit an extra 10% off
Ranked #5 of 7 Hotels in Schiphol
London
Level Contributor
27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Can be very good with more frequent shuttle..”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2012

Ok, let's get over with the negatives first. The hotel is a bit far to be considered an airport hotel ,it takes around 15-20 mins from airport to hotel, the way back is a bit fast ,while going from airport to hotel you have to travel at least 10 mins on the highway before you can have a U turn. This considerably increases one way journey. The shuttle frequency is every 40 mins..which is a bit too much, should have been 25-30 mins, having said that they are very punctual..you can correct your watches by checking their departure times (from airport first bus is at 6:20AM and last one is around 11:20PM).Also for some strange reasons they do not have tea kettles/tea arrangements in the rooms (even in the suites) you have to borrow tea kettle from reception with a 15 euro deposits(subject to availability) and tea bags/sugar etc from restaurant(which can be refused depending on who is managing the restaurant on that day).
We reached hotel around 3:00PM, and to our surprise though our booking was confirmed there were no rooms available, this took some time eventually we were upgraded to Mexican suite at no additional cost. The hotel as mentioned by someone is ''BIG'' as it is just 4 floors high but has 400+ rooms. All rooms are huge with balcony and it is bit off the road so you can have any room without worrying about the noise from A4 motorway. The Mexican suite which was given to us seems to be newly built as some part of it is quite elegant while few things are tacky...looks as if it was hurridly completed with the existing furniture for the tulip season rush to accomodate evantualities like overbooking.It has 3 choice of showers, a bath tub, toilet is seperate, and well it has a sun bed (yes you heard it right a personal tanning sun bed).I was a bit shocked to find no television..soon found out that there was a screen with overhead projector for TV channels, not much of TV channels to select from though. The decor does not look like from Mexico..not sure why this is called Mexican suite. Breakfast is elaborate and hot. We also used room service, the food was good and decently priced. Staff is accommodating, when we went to restaurant and ordered something which was not on restaurant menu but was on room service menu, they arranged for the same. There are also some good eating joint just across the road, which has KFC,burger king and some good restaurants.The indoor swimming pool is small and not quite warm.The massage, though we didnot use but is again decently priced..This hotel if booked early is great value for money and a good stop for Keukenhof or Amsterdam, can also be used for park and fly as they offer parking for long terms too..
Will recommend

Room Tip: Be on time for the shuttle as they are spot on time and do not wait even a minute
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,019 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    562
    1,012
    287
    107
    51
See reviews for
510
695
157
362
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (126)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Brasília, Brazil
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2012

The booking procedure of Hotel Van der Valk did not follow the conditions set in the reservation made through booking.com. Before my arrival, they charged my credit card for the total amount of my overnights without my authorization. They said they only blocked the amount, but it was actually a charge. But even as a blocking, I did not authorize it previously nor was that foreseen in the booking conditions. On my arrival, they blocked (actually charged) another amount as a condition for the use of other facilities (restaurant, breakfast paid extra etc). On my check-out, I wanted to have the blockings canceled and use another credit card of my convenience. For the first time in the use of credit cards, I heard it was not possible to cancel the previous blocking. I'd have to wait a few days until the "blocking" fell automatically. This procedure is not fair and affects the necessary confidence and credibility of booking procedures through internet because it arbitrarily goes far beyond the conditions set in the contract.


Best regards


Carlos Vasconcelos

Room Tip: Hotel located along a highway. Higher floors in the front offer a better view (of the highway). Good...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
77 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2012

We stayed in this hotel for two nights before leaving Amsterdam. It was easy to get the shuttle to Keukenhoff from Schipol. The hotel and the rooms are very spacious and clean. We did not have breakfast at the hotel, but there are quite a few options in the eating area opposite the hotel. Wifi was free in the rooms. The free shuttle was comfortable. If you are leaving for the airport during the morning peak hours, It would be useful to leave earlier as the shuttle gets caught in the traffic and when we were leaving it took 40 minutes to get to the airport than the usual 10. We used the swimming pool which was really clean.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Market Harborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
151 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2012

Good sized rooms, normally clean and certainly comfortable. Very handy for the airport but certainly NOT a base for Amsterdam holidays.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boise, ID
Level Contributor
35 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2012

We booked a room for the night before an overseas flight from Schiphol. The plan was to check into the hotel, then take a train into downtown Amsterdam for dinner and a bit of sight seeing. Driving from Muenster, Germany, we followed the directions to the letter but could NOT find this place. We ended up driving in circles for FOUR hours trying to find the place. My cousin called the hotel and had to go through phone mail and then was put on hold, repeatedly.

When we FINALLY found the danged place, it did not even have a sign "A4." It had some other name, which I was too tired by then to write down. I realized that I had seen the odd looking sign for this hotel 4 hours earlier as we were approaching Schiphol for the first time.

When checking in, my fuming cousin relayed her dismay about the directions and the lack of proper signage. The receptionist chuckled and said, yes, we've had problems with that. Duhhhh.

The beds were wonderful and the room was spacious and clean, but smelled smokey.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Maarten-St. Martin
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2012

Great hotel - regular free shuttle to and from Schipol. Clean rooms, comfy beds. The elevator was broken when i was there so i had to walk up to the 4th floor, luckily i didnt have my checked luggage with me so not a problem. Free internet in rooms and there is a big "food hall" kind of place across the road to get a bite to eat. huge bathtub in room - very nice after a long flight. I have stayed there twice and i will be staying there again in June when i travel to Europe again.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Schiphol
4.5 mi away
citizenM Schiphol Airport
6.2 mi away
Steigenberger Airport Hotel Amsterdam
2.7 mi away
Hyatt Place Amsterdam Schiphol Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.4 mi away
Hotel Ibis Amsterdam Airport
7.0 mi away
Park Plaza Amsterdam Airport
Park Plaza Amsterdam Airport
#120 of 356 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 1,066 reviews
4.6 mi away
Sheraton Amsterdam Airport Hotel and Conference Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Van der Valk Hotel Schiphol? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Van der Valk Hotel Schiphol

Address: Rijksweg A4 No. 3, 2132 MA Schiphol, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Haarlemmermeer > Schiphol
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Schiphol
#4 Romantic Hotel in Schiphol
#5 Luxury Hotel in Schiphol
#5 Business Hotel in Schiphol
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Van der Valk Hotel Schiphol 4*
Number of rooms: 565
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Centrally located, a stone's throw away from the Schiphol Airport and close to the centre of Amsterdam, you will find luxury, comfort and hospitality with us. Because of its ideal location our hotel is easily accessible by car, public transport or by the free shuttle service. Our hotel offers generous parking spaces, where you can park your car free of charge during your stay in our hotel. Our friendly staff members, the generous, luxurious rooms, suites and many amenities will make you feel at home straight away.We're looking forward to welcoming you in Hotel Schiphol A4! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, HRS, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Van der Valk Hotel Schiphol reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Schiphol a4 Hotel
Schiphol a4 Hoofddorp
Van Der Valk Hotel Schiphol Haarlemmermeer

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Van der Valk Hotel Schiphol, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.