We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Blu Angel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Radisson Blu Hotel Amsterdam Airport

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Radisson Blu Hotel Amsterdam Airport to your Saves list
Radisson Blu Hotel Amsterdam Airport
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Boeing Avenue 2, 1119 PB Schiphol, The Netherlands (Formerly Radisson SAS)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
GET AN AMAZING 30% OFF
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in Schiphol
Anstruther, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Blu Angel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2013

A warm welcome from Andy at reception set the tone for our stay. This airport hotel is served by a shuttle bus from Schiphol airport though, rather bizarrely, there are two big chunks of the day when no bus is available. Our room could not be faulted - spacious and very well appointed. We further warmed to the hotel when we were offered two complimentary drinks at the bar which was tended by an affable and very efficient barman. 'Affable and pleasant' describes all of the staff without exception.
Being in many airport hotels is akin to being cut off - you can't just go out and find a decent restaurant. And so we were obliged to eat in the hotel brasserie.This was a a big disappointment. After a lengthy wait, our order finally arrived - a pasta with ill prepared vegetables and industrial tomato sauce - the addition of overcooked prawns cost an extra 5 euros, adding insult to injury. Not even our charming server could compensate for this definition of mediocre.
Breakfast the following morning was a major improvement, the Radisson staff and the buffet both proving to be first class.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

583 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    209
    264
    69
    30
    11
See reviews for
59
139
40
266
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2013 via mobile

We came late at night and got a warm welcome. Entered the suite I didn't want to leave ever.. Great room - huge and well designed, till the little details.
Wonderful breakfast. So we can say with certainty that is the way to start a trip in the Netherlands .

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Limerick, Ireland
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2013

I have stayed here lots of times and find it has improved significantly in recent months. The rooms have been improved and the staff are really friendly and efficient. There have been a number of recent occasions where the service has really impressed.

Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ipswich, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2013

There was out of date food and drink in the minibar. The worst case was a smoothie that was more than two weeks out of date. This was the type that you drink from a carton with a straw, so if someone had drunk it without checking the date, they probably would have ended up with with a mouthful of mould! Also an energy bar was more than three weeks out of date. I emailed the hotel advising them to check all the minibars for out of date items, but got no reply.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Martijn L, Director of Sales at Radisson Blu Hotel Amsterdam Airport, responded to this review, July 29, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you for your valuable feedback on Tripadvisor regarding your stay in our hotel, the Radisson Blu Hotel Amsterdam Airport.

Your feedback concerned the products in our minibar. We would like to let you know that your health and that of other guests was never at risk. The date on the packages was a "best before date" not a final expiration date. We check our minibars every month to ensure all products are up to date and meet our high standards. Even so, of course, this should never have happened. Therefore we sincerely and deeply apologize for the inconvenience caused.

We thank you again for sharing your feedback with us.

With best regards,
The Management Team of Radisson Blu Hotel Amsterdam Airport
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scituate, MA
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2013

I personally am not a fan of staying at airports, but in some cases it makes sense. This Radisson Blu is nicer than many others (I find the chain itself is quite inconsistent), but the room was spotless, spacious and well-equipped. It's about 5 minutes from Schiphol but is rather quiet. Service was spot on.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wollongong, Australia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013 via mobile

In the past six weeks we have stayed in a number of hotels, many of which were Radissons. Have been happy with them all including this hotel. Friendly helpful staff. The room was fine. Also one of the best scrambled eggs I have tasted over the past six weeks.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
uk
Top Contributor
321 reviews 321 reviews
81 hotel reviews
Reviews in 107 cities Reviews in 107 cities
248 helpful votes 248 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2013

Airport hotels are not generally known for their character and personality, and this was no exception. On the other hand, it is a very comfortable place to stay. I chose it because it was about half the price of a similar standard of hotel in Amsterdam itself. I'm not sure I would do so again, though. It's just a little too much hassle - you need a shuttle followed by a train into town, which will take between 3/4 hour and an hour - or longer if you just miss the shuttle, as we did once. So about 2 hours of your day is spent on a fairly tedious journey to and fro.
Also, you can't wander around at night taking in the atmosphere in town because you're worried about getting back and not missing the last shuttle. The other problem was that after a full day of sightseeing, you feel like going back to your room for a rest before heading out again, but the distance means you can't really do that. So all in all, I wouldn't recommend booking here for a break in Amsterdam itself. Of course, if it's an airport stopover, that's different.

The rooms were good - we were amusingly enough in room 747 - and the upgrade we took to a business class room meant we had a great view over the runway, almost a 180 degree panorama. So if you're into planespotting, get a room on that side of the hotel! The bed was amazingly comfortable too. The standard room was also perfectly ok and nothing to complain about, though rather dated in decor (the corridors were a horrible peachy-orangey colour which was frankly vile, but I believe they are refurbishing floor by floor.)

It's well worth getting breakfast included as there is absolutely nothing else nearby - you would have to eat at the airport instead. They charge the usual ludicrous amount for it as an add-on, but if you get it in your room rate it's good value. I think I only paid about £45 extra for 6 nights for the two of us. Check the offers on Hotels.com or Expedia and make sure you pick a rate including breakfast. Food was actually very good here - not just breakfast but also the one evening meal we had - but the prices were, as you would expect, extortionate.

They do seem to have a policy of offering room upgrades for "9 euros" but don't make clear (or at least didn't to us) that this is per person, not per room. So make sure you understand exactly how much extra you will be charged. The business class rooms are more spacious and include a bathrobe, slippers and extra toiletries, but there isn't much "wow factor" - apart from the mattress, which must have been one of the most comfy I have ever slept on and was much better than the one in the standard room.

Service was generally very good and certainly professional, but this is really a business hotel and a place to crash after a plane journey (if I can put it like that!) more than a place for tourists. One exception might be if you are planning trips around the whole of the Netherlands, not just Amsterdam, as there are frequent trains from Schiphol station itself and you might just as well base yourself here as in the centre of town.

Room Tip: If interested in planes, ask for one on the runway side. If worried about noise, ask for one on the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Radisson Blu Hotel Amsterdam Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Radisson Blu Hotel Amsterdam Airport

Address: Boeing Avenue 2, 1119 PB Schiphol, The Netherlands (Formerly Radisson SAS)
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Haarlemmermeer > Schiphol
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Schiphol
#3 Business Hotel in Schiphol
#4 Luxury Hotel in Schiphol
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Radisson Blu Hotel Amsterdam Airport 4*
Number of rooms: 279
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Radisson Blu Hotel Amsterdam Airport, located in the green business-park Schiphol-Rijk, mere minutes from Amsterdam International Airport Schiphol. Make use of the free shuttle which rides 24 hours a day, 7 hours a week and is completely free of charge for hotel guests. The hotel offers 279 spacious and modern hotel rooms, including Superior Rooms, Business Class Rooms and Suites. Finish work on the big work desks that are in all of the hotel rooms and connect using free High-Speed wireless internet. Amaze your taste buds with a culinary meal at the Otium Lounge or Restaurant and start your day with the Radisson Super Breakfast Buffet. Or have it in your room with the 24-hour room service. Need a ride to the office? Our complimentary InPark Business Shuttle rides in every day to companies nearby. The service-minded staff looks forward to welcome you and using true 'Yes I Can!'-Service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Rezidor, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Hotel.de, EasyToBook and Tingo so you can book your Radisson Blu Hotel Amsterdam Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Radisson Amsterdam
Radisson Raalte
Amsterdam Radisson
Radisson Blu Hotel Amsterdam Airport Schiphol, Haarlemmermeer

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Radisson Blu Hotel Amsterdam Airport, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.