We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best hotel sleep in memory - no windows” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mercure Schiphol Terminal

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Mercure Schiphol Terminal to your Saves list
Mercure Schiphol Terminal
3.0 of 5 Specialty Hotel   |   Amsterdam Airport Schiphol Terminal Building | PO Box 75041, 1117 ZN Schiphol, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel amenities
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Salt Lake City, Utah
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Best hotel sleep in memory - no windows”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2014

Loved this airport location. Room is compact yet nicely appointed. I did not like the annoying absolute checkin and checkout times. Walking to my gate though the next morning in 4 minutes though was priceless.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SvanBerkel, General Manager at Mercure Schiphol Terminal, responded to this review, January 24, 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you very much for your review. Because we are a transit hotel we have different check-in and check-out times. We hope to welcome you again when you are at Schiphol Airport!

Best regards,

Sandra van Berkel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

296 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    91
    123
    58
    12
    12
See reviews for
30
91
65
74
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
St. Petersburg, Florida
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2013

This was our first time using the Mercure Schiphol prior to an early flight the next morning. Quick, friendly check-in process - there was a room available before the 8:00PM check-in time and we got it, no problem. Comfortable bed, clean room, functioning plumbing. All I hoped for.

Room Tip: I've only staid one night, in one room. Don't know about any others. Mine was satisfactory.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SvanBerkel, General Manager at Mercure Schiphol Terminal, responded to this review, December 26, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your kind review.
We hope to welcome you again in our hotel!

Best regards,

Sandra van Berkel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2013

This was our first time using the Mercure Schiphol for a layover. Quick, friendly check-in process - there was a room available before the 8:00PM check-in time and we got it, no problem. We were in-transit for this layover, but got helpful tips on how to bring in checked luggage if we needed to overnight before an originating flight. Double room was adequately large. Hotel-supplied Internet worked fine. Air conditioning was a bit noisy, but the room was quiet enough for sleeping. Since this is inside the terminal, there are lots of options for eating. Definitely beats going off-airport for an overnight layover. We'll use the Mercure again when we have a layover in Schiphol.

Room Tip: Choose a double room if available if you want additional space.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SvanBerkel, General Manager at Mercure Schiphol Terminal, responded to this review, December 12, 2013
Dear Guest,

I'm glad to hear that you enjoyed our hotel.
We hope to welcome you again.

Best regards,

Sandra van Berkel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
121 helpful votes 121 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2013

BE AWARE: check-in at 8 PM, and check-out at 9 AM

The hotel located inside the airport in Departure Hall No.3, right behind the passport control, so to enter to the hotel you MUST have printed hotel reservation and/or boarding pass.
If you have luggage as I had, for a following flight check-in you have go back to arrival hall, go through passport and customs control again, and return to departure hall. VERY uncomfortable.

The receptionists were very kind and helpful, unfortunately it can't justify all other bad things there…

Stains on carpets are almost everywhere, the bath appliances are clogged, so the water stuck in a sink and a shower tub (VERY unpleasantly feelings), toilet covers seems to be cleaned by dirty rag only … The coffee/tee caps have sticky stains remaining from previous guests.

Bed sleeping experience was bad too, as comforters were very short and the pillows are so convenient, so I had to sleep without it.

The hotel didn't provide its own internet service, so I had to use airport VERY SLOW internet service - download 0.51 Mbps, upload 0.12 Mbps, moreover this services is limited for 2x 30 minutes periods.

Airconditioner brings into the room air with airplanes exhaust gases, so I felt kind of intoxicated there. The thermostat doesn't working, whatever way you turned the dial the temp remaining the same.

The TV set is attached to side wall, so it was very inconveniently see the TV from any position, except of siting on the floor at the bathroom entrance, furthermore the TV has very limited choice of international channels.

Would NOT recommend this hotel for my fellow travelers at all.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SvanBerkel, General Manager at Mercure Schiphol Terminal, responded to this review, December 5, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience at the Mercure Amsterdam Schiphol Terminal. I am sorry that your experience did not meet your expectations; please allow me to express my sincerest apologies.

At Mercure, we strive to provide a superior service experience for every customer; therefore your feedback is very important to us. Please rest assured that we are taking the appropriate measures to address the problem and prevent future occurrence.

In the future please inform us directly about the problems in your room so we can find a solution for you immediately. The hotel has free WIFI during your whole stay, sometimes unfortunately there is a bug in the system. The receptionist and the hotel directory in your room can give you the information what to do in this situation to use the internet your entire stay.

We appreciate your sharing your concerns, and it is our hope that you will give us the opportunity to better serve you in the near future.

Sincerely,

Sandra van Berkel
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New England
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2013

I highly recommend the Mercure shower rental units at Amsterdam's Schipol (AMS) airport terminal. The showers are clean, quick, and cheap. The service is wonderful. The shower units are immaculately clean. Each rental includes a shower unit with a shower, towels (one for the floor, one for after your shower), shampoo, bar soap, disposable drinking cup, toilet, sink, power outlet (or two), mirror, trash can, bench, hair drier, coat hangers, coat hooks, and a locking door (so that your whole space is private). Also, you can ask to use a free iron and ironing board. The front desk also sells additional small convenience items, such as moisturizer, razors, combs, slippers, and so on. Please see my photo, titled "AMS Mercure shower rental unit." I will use anytime I have a layover at AMS.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SvanBerkel, General Manager at Mercure Schiphol Terminal, responded to this review, December 5, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your nice comments about our shower service.
I hope to welcome you in our hotel again for a nice refreshing shower!

Best regards,

Sandra van Berkel
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2013 via mobile

I have stayed at Mercure hotel a number of times. It is a place to stay when you have long hours to kill and are very tired. The rooms are just adequate and clean though if you are not a smoker, all rooms may smell of cigarett. The place is not really a hotel but a collection of rooms. Don't expect much in the way of service. Since rooms are limited it is based on first come first served basis so often there may be no room available. Best is to take a shower at Mercure. It is not cheap but is worth every penny after a long flight. It truely works, giving you back lost energy and a feeling of cleanliness you need. Showers are small but adequate and are sold separately from the rooms.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Mercure Schiphol Terminal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Schiphol Terminal

Address: Amsterdam Airport Schiphol Terminal Building | PO Box 75041, 1117 ZN Schiphol, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Haarlemmermeer > Schiphol
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Specialty Lodging in Schiphol
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Mercure Schiphol Terminal 3*
Number of rooms: 33
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity and TripOnline SA so you can book your Mercure Schiphol Terminal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure Schiphol Terminal Hotel Schiphol-Oost
Mercure Schiphol Terminal Haarlemmermeer

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mercure Schiphol Terminal, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.