We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overnight BAD airport hotel” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Mercure Schiphol Terminal

Save Saved
You added Mercure Schiphol Terminal to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Mercure Schiphol Terminal
3.0 of 5 Specialty Hotel   |   Amsterdam Airport Schiphol Terminal Building | PO Box 75041, Schiphol 1117 ZN, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel amenities
Toronto, Canada
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
85 helpful votes 85 helpful votes
“Overnight BAD airport hotel”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2013

BE AWARE: check-in at 8 PM, and check-out at 9 AM

The hotel located inside the airport in Departure Hall No.3, right behind the passport control, so to enter to the hotel you MUST have printed hotel reservation and/or boarding pass.
If you have luggage as I had, for a following flight check-in you have go back to arrival hall, go through passport and customs control again, and return to departure hall. VERY uncomfortable.

The receptionists were very kind and helpful, unfortunately it can't justify all other bad things there…

Stains on carpets are almost everywhere, the bath appliances are clogged, so the water stuck in a sink and a shower tub (VERY unpleasantly feelings), toilet covers seems to be cleaned by dirty rag only … The coffee/tee caps have sticky stains remaining from previous guests.

Bed sleeping experience was bad too, as comforters were very short and the pillows are so convenient, so I had to sleep without it.

The hotel didn't provide its own internet service, so I had to use airport VERY SLOW internet service - download 0.51 Mbps, upload 0.12 Mbps, moreover this services is limited for 2x 30 minutes periods.

Airconditioner brings into the room air with airplanes exhaust gases, so I felt kind of intoxicated there. The thermostat doesn't working, whatever way you turned the dial the temp remaining the same.

The TV set is attached to side wall, so it was very inconveniently see the TV from any position, except of siting on the floor at the bathroom entrance, furthermore the TV has very limited choice of international channels.

Would NOT recommend this hotel for my fellow travelers at all.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SvanBerkel, General Manager at Mercure Schiphol Terminal, responded to this review, December 5, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience at the Mercure Amsterdam Schiphol Terminal. I am sorry that your experience did not meet your expectations; please allow me to express my sincerest apologies.

At Mercure, we strive to provide a superior service experience for every customer; therefore your feedback is very important to us. Please rest assured that we are taking the appropriate measures to address the problem and prevent future occurrence.

In the future please inform us directly about the problems in your room so we can find a solution for you immediately. The hotel has free WIFI during your whole stay, sometimes unfortunately there is a bug in the system. The receptionist and the hotel directory in your room can give you the information what to do in this situation to use the internet your entire stay.

We appreciate your sharing your concerns, and it is our hope that you will give us the opportunity to better serve you in the near future.

Sincerely,

Sandra van Berkel
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

233 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    70
    96
    50
    8
    9
See reviews for
24
66
55
60
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New England
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2013

I highly recommend the Mercure shower rental units at Amsterdam's Schipol (AMS) airport terminal. The showers are clean, quick, and cheap. The service is wonderful. The shower units are immaculately clean. Each rental includes a shower unit with a shower, towels (one for the floor, one for after your shower), shampoo, bar soap, disposable drinking cup, toilet, sink, power outlet (or two), mirror, trash can, bench, hair drier, coat hangers, coat hooks, and a locking door (so that your whole space is private). Also, you can ask to use a free iron and ironing board. The front desk also sells additional small convenience items, such as moisturizer, razors, combs, slippers, and so on. Please see my photo, titled "AMS Mercure shower rental unit." I will use anytime I have a layover at AMS.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SvanBerkel, General Manager at Mercure Schiphol Terminal, responded to this review, December 5, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your nice comments about our shower service.
I hope to welcome you in our hotel again for a nice refreshing shower!

Best regards,

Sandra van Berkel
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2013

I have stayed at Mercure hotel a number of times. It is a place to stay when you have long hours to kill and are very tired. The rooms are just adequate and clean though if you are not a smoker, all rooms may smell of cigarett. The place is not really a hotel but a collection of rooms. Don't expect much in the way of service. Since rooms are limited it is based on first come first served basis so often there may be no room available. Best is to take a shower at Mercure. It is not cheap but is worth every penny after a long flight. It truely works, giving you back lost energy and a feeling of cleanliness you need. Showers are small but adequate and are sold separately from the rooms.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Budapest, Hungary
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2013

Had a long flight the next morning and spent the night at this hotel. I've stayed here before and a few times in the Yotel and Citizen M just outside the terminal.

FIrst time I was here, stayed in a single room. Room and bed felt a little small. This time, went for a larger room. Big difference and much more pleasant. Felt less crowded than a Yotel room and the controls on the bed are standard, an issue with the Yotel. It's on the international side of the terminal, meaning you have to clear immigration. If you plan to visit Amsterdam, I think the Citizen M or the Ibis at the Centraal Station is better. If your goal if you arrive the night before a long flight and be rested and in a location to quickly get to your flight, this is very good.

Again, I was in a double room. It was spacious and comfortable. Decoration was good, shower good, etc. Really, no problems in the room. Room was clean. I didn't hear any noise and didn't feel the heating/cooling was loud. I am staying again in December.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SvanBerkel, General Manager at Mercure Schiphol Terminal, responded to this review, November 17, 2013
Good afternoon,

Thank you very much for you compliments.
We are pleased to welcome you again in December.

Best regards,

Sandra van Berkel
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
paris
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2013

Don't go there if you want a holiday hotel. The purpose of he hotel is to give you a bubble of rest inside the airport terminal. And it does it perfectly.
I arrived at 11pm from London and had a long flight in the morning at 9am.
Easy to find in the terminal (in front of klm lounge) the staff is the nicest ever.
Rooms are like small cabins with all you need for a night sleep or a few hours in the day to rest. They offer showers as well.
So convenient and not pricey for the service and location.
I think the yotel is nice as well but was closed when I was there.

Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SvanBerkel, General Manager at Mercure Schiphol Terminal, responded to this review, November 9, 2013
I'm very glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay in Hotel Mercure Schiphol Terminal.
Hope to welcome you in the hotel another time.

Best regards,

Sandra van Berkel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2013

This hotel is located inside of the airport (after you pass security). It was clean, modern, very quiet. After traveling for two months in Europe, I wish that I'd had a hotel like this on the road. You have to have a boarding pass showing that you are flying out the next day in order to stay here...it is not meant to be a hotel that you stay in for several days. If you have luggage to be checked, you will have to go back out through customs in order to check your bags because once through customs there is no other way to check your bags. If you have only carry-ons then you will go straight to your gate and at Schiphol security checks are carried out at each individual gate.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Mercure Schiphol Terminal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Schiphol Terminal

Address: Amsterdam Airport Schiphol Terminal Building | PO Box 75041, Schiphol 1117 ZN, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Haarlemmermeer > Schiphol
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Specialty lodging in Schiphol
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Mercure Schiphol Terminal 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with ACCOR, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Expedia, BookingOdigeoWL, HotelsNL and Otel so you can book your Mercure Schiphol Terminal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure Schiphol Terminal Hotel Schiphol-Oost
Mercure Schiphol Terminal Haarlemmermeer

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mercure Schiphol Terminal, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.