We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Couldn't be better for a layover” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mercure Schiphol Terminal

Save Saved
You added Mercure Schiphol Terminal to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Mercure Schiphol Terminal
3.0 of 5 Specialty Hotel   |   Amsterdam Airport Schiphol Terminal Building | PO Box 75041, 1117 ZN Schiphol, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel amenities
Spokane, Washington
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Couldn't be better for a layover”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2013

I was in the hotel from 10 PM to 8 AM and came away rested and impressed. I had flown in from Zurich and checked my bag all the way through, so all I needed to do was depart the plane, go to the hotel, and settle in for the night. The room was small, but not tiny, and had a nice bathroom, shower, desk and bed. I had read reviews that mentioned no shampoo, but my room had soap, shampoo, and lotion. When I awoke, I simply bought breakfast downstairs at Bread and went straight to my gate.
The room was silent, even with construction not far away, and the staff was polite and friendly. As long as one plans ahead to carry on whatever is needed for the night, I can't imagine going to the trouble to leave the airport when this easy, pleasant hotel is available.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

240 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    72
    100
    51
    8
    9
See reviews for
27
67
56
61
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
OTBD
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2013 via mobile

I had a 9 hour stop at Amsterdam. I booked the room in advance at the hotel. I was greeted warmly at the reception. Check in was done in a flash by the staff,although there was a problem with my reservation but Mz Nikki and her colleague ( available reception employees at the time) handeled the situation perfectly. Their professional attitude is the main motive behind me writing this review. Checked in my room and had an amazing 4 hour sleep; I surely feel refreshed now. Hotel is calm,clean and tidy. I HIGHLY recommend this hotel and hereby thank the freindly and helpfull staff.I am actually posting this review from the hotel room.
Tip: hotel location is tricky and not well advertised. Hotel is located at first floor, lounge 3 and geates F intersection.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Egypt
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

If you have more than 10 hours transit in the airport , so you can spend a night in this hotel located in the heart of schiphol airport.
The room is in a modern style , very comfortable , but small for a family .
The front desk are very friendly , I had a problem in the air condition so they changed my room immediately to not waste my valuable and limited time.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munich, Germany
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2013

Ideal hotel if you have only a few hours between two flights and you want to take a break or if you have an early flight in the morning and want to be there the night before.
What I didn't realize before doing the booking was that the hotel is actually inside the Terminal 3 and you have to go through the passport control to get in the hotel. To go out you have again to go through the passport control and the lugage area...

Be aware that there are no windows in the room...

Apart from that the staff was very nice and the room confortable,

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2013

We had a stay over at Schiphol airport and since we could check our luggage through, we decided to stay in the Mercure hotel, inside the airport.
The room was small but comfortable, but we had only carry-on luggage.
One has to realize, it is just to sleep, for other things, the airport is there with restaurants, bars, shops.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kadoma, Zimbabwe
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013

Small and comfortable but crammed and don't believe it should cost as much as they charge for a night in their hotel. The hotel offers basic commodities but has a lovely but tiny shower. No windows to see what was outside or for fresh air from my room (fair enough as its located in the airport) but still felt the room was overpriced. They did not have international sockets to charge my phone or laptop and insisted an adaptor would cost me 10 euro. Customer service was lovely and friendly.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

Well, on this trip, I stayed in back to back Mercures. I must admit, was not remotely impressed. I'd love to call them European but that doesn't mean without amenities. I mean the soap was a sliver, there was only one. There was no lotion. The bed was very much two twins put together - but without the bracing that helps make that actually work. The hallways smell of smoke. I did not find the friendly people other reviewers did. Overall, it was very meh.

Room Tip: if you have a lot of luggage, the hallways are long and thin - be sure to ask for something nearer t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Mercure Schiphol Terminal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Schiphol Terminal

Address: Amsterdam Airport Schiphol Terminal Building | PO Box 75041, 1117 ZN Schiphol, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Haarlemmermeer > Schiphol
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Specialty lodging in Schiphol
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Mercure Schiphol Terminal 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, ACCOR, BookingOdigeoWL, HotelsNL and Otel so you can book your Mercure Schiphol Terminal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure Schiphol Terminal Hotel Schiphol-Oost
Mercure Schiphol Terminal Haarlemmermeer

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mercure Schiphol Terminal, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.