We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“think of it like a cruise ship room” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Mercure Schiphol Terminal

Save Saved
You added Mercure Schiphol Terminal to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Mercure Schiphol Terminal
3.0 of 5 Specialty Hotel   |   Amsterdam Airport Schiphol Terminal Building | PO Box 75041, 1117 ZN Schiphol, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel amenities
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“think of it like a cruise ship room”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

Rooms (especially singles) are tiny, but efficient. And of course, no windows. Great convenience before my early morning flight; I checked in, had a nice dinner, did some duty free shopping, and got a good night's sleep before an 8 am flight to the US. Excellent advice from the desk clerk about procedures for getting a boarding pass in advance of my next-day flight (necessary in order to purchase duty free goods), checking to see if my carry-on was acceptable, etc.

If you have luggage to check you will have to go back out through passport control and then back in again before your flight. The desk can advise you about expected wait times for this double control procedure at different times of day.

Be sure to print out your reservation if you are using the hotel BEFORE an outgoing flight as you will need to show it to go through passport control into the secure portion of the terminal where the hotel is located.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

238 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    71
    99
    51
    8
    9
See reviews for
26
67
56
61
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013 via mobile

Like most, I stayed here for one night only due to the ease of access to the airport and was not willing to travel to town for a brief stay. The room was very clean and used the wi-fi with no problems. The bed was comfortable and I was offered a wake-up call upon arrival. Very handy for a weary traveller.

The staff were very helpful and allowed me to check-in a little earlier than usual, which was greatly appreciated. Travellers will need to be aware that this accommodation is past the customs point so once in, you'll need to go through customs to leave the airport and through again to return. (also a great way to get additional stamps on your passport :p)

Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Faridabad, India
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013

I chose to stay here while returning back to India from Mexico, as I had a 20 hrs long hault. This hotel proves to be a blessing in disguise for similar travellers. The rooms are spacious, decorated and with all modern facilities. The bathrooms are nice & clean too.
Though in the middle of the hustle & bustle of airport terminal, the rooms are surprisingly noise proof. This provides a great oppurtunity to catch some sleep before cathing the connecting flight.

The only issue I faced in the room was with the inappropriate lighting of the rooms. Even with all the electric lamps turned-on, there was still darkness in the room. Moreover, switching all the electric lamps was also a puzzle as the lamp got on by pressing one switch, and the same lamp went off by pressing another switch.

Priced at around 100 Euro, the hotel offers a good value for money, given the facilities it offers, and utility it provides to travellers.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taipei, Taiwan
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013

I had to stay 12hrs during daytime between 2 flight in AMS and was scared I won't be able to take any rest.
I found that hotel by chance in the heart of the transit zone.
Staff is nice, rooms are super clean, with modern equipment, very nice bathroom and very comfortable beds.
I was especially impressed by how quiet the rooms are.
I was finally able to sleep 8hours, and arrived fresh and ready for business in Asia, coming from the US.
I will consider such a connection again.

Room Tip: make sure to book ahead, I was able to get a room but it might not always be the case
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork, Ireland
Top Contributor
133 reviews 133 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 68 cities Reviews in 68 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2013

Yes, I do mean anywhere in the world, even though it is right in the heart of wonderful Schiphol Airport. Pleasant and efficient staff will check you in at any time for as many hours as you need. The rooms are attractively decorated so you are hardly aware that you have no windows. Comfortable beds, great amenities. If you need basics like toothbrush, fresh fruit, hair products, tea or coffee or even a breakfast hamper you can buy them all at reception at reasonable prices. If in transit there is no need to go through immigration you check in before you get to the Arrivals Hall.
Sent by the gods for weary travellers!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2013

This is located inside the Terminal, if you just stay inside no need to go through immigration. If you have no checked bags no need to go through customs either. Good service, nice compact room, TV, single bed. Ten minutes to my Gate in the morning, very convenient. About EUR90 per night, compared with about EUR70 for Ibis AIrport hotel. Only 33 rooms so gets busy, book ahead. I will stay there again for sure. Only comment - would have liked an additional pillow.

Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Mercure Schiphol Terminal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Schiphol Terminal

Address: Amsterdam Airport Schiphol Terminal Building | PO Box 75041, 1117 ZN Schiphol, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Haarlemmermeer > Schiphol
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Specialty lodging in Schiphol
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Mercure Schiphol Terminal 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, ACCOR, BookingOdigeoWL, HotelsNL and Otel so you can book your Mercure Schiphol Terminal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure Schiphol Terminal Hotel Schiphol-Oost
Mercure Schiphol Terminal Haarlemmermeer

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mercure Schiphol Terminal, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.