We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean, comfortable, quiet, but a tag bit expensive” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mercure Schiphol Terminal

Save Saved
You added Mercure Schiphol Terminal to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Mercure Schiphol Terminal
3.0 of 5 Specialty Hotel   |   Amsterdam Airport Schiphol Terminal Building | PO Box 75041, Schiphol 1117 ZN, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel amenities
Chicago, Illinois
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Clean, comfortable, quiet, but a tag bit expensive”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013

This is an excellent choice if you have a brief stay in Amsterdam or a long layover. The rooms are clean, comfortable, very quiet with all the modern amenities you'd like. It's a really easy commute to the city. There is a train station right at Schiphol if you want to venture out into the city. The only downfall is coming back too late. It's a task to get to the hotel as you have to go through a not so designated security entrance. I learnt the hard way. I reckon I was sent back and forth countless times.
Schipol has to be my favorite European airport. On a side note, if you just want to freshen up, Mercure has shower rooms that you can pay and use. They are very clean, very modern and well equipped if you do not have toiletries with you.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

234 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    70
    97
    50
    8
    9
See reviews for
25
66
55
60
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
The Hague, The Netherlands
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013

The Mercure Schipol is very handy for sleeping during a transfer, being inside the air-side of the terminal, but for the one person rooms at least would not be very comfortable for anything more (and is not even very comfortable for sleeping).
The room is small (floor area not more than three times that of the single bed), and for some reason the TV was mounted high on the wall in a position that could not be watched comfortably from anywhere in the room other than standing in front of it. The bed is small, and bed, duvet and pillow not very comfortable. There is a small desk with a chair and a small wardrobe. No window of course.
In the shower room, unlike what you would expect for a Mercure, no complimentary toiletries - just when it would be most useful, the hotel being for people on transfers. Mine had only shampoo, the rest you can buy at reception.

Room Tip: Book well ahead - seems often fully booked many weeks ahead.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
199 reviews 199 reviews
88 hotel reviews
Reviews in 87 cities Reviews in 87 cities
139 helpful votes 139 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2013

We stayed here for a 4 hour period during a long layover at the airport. we found it good value in a very comfortable, quiet room surrounded by good facilities. Also thought that the staff were very friendly. Would easily use the facilities here again.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North York Moors National Park, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

I do a considerable amount of travelling and although I try to avoid layover hotels I occasionally have to use them. Although I am a member of Accor I found this hotel to be not typically Mercure meaning that my experience was that the room I had although contemporary felt very tired and well used. More than adequate space is offered but as far as I am aware there were no breakfast facilities although of course the airport terminal can supply those. Thankfully although it is situated in the centre of a busy terminal it is quiet and allows a good rest.
A refresh of the decor would certainly help here but in summary it offers reasonable value.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

Stayed here when stranded as flight was cancelled
PROS
Fantastic location within the terminal
Very warm helpful lady at the desk
Clean large rooms
Huge shower! could fit 3-4 people in there
Flat screen TV and tea and coffee facilities
CONS
too expensive-not worth the £90 for 9 hours

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Top Contributor
158 reviews 158 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
80 helpful votes 80 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013

right next to gates. if you have an early flight this is your best option. Don't even think other airport hotels in Amsterdam. And you may get a fair price if you book early. we use it whenever we have 1 or 2 day business trips. Transfer to/from city is not an issue.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas, USA
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2013

we always use this hotel when we have to catch an early flight. rooms are small and simple but just perfect for this purpose. the rooms are clean and beds are good, but amenities are very minor. the big advantages of this hotel is the easy access to the klm lounge and the gates.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Mercure Schiphol Terminal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Schiphol Terminal

Address: Amsterdam Airport Schiphol Terminal Building | PO Box 75041, Schiphol 1117 ZN, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Haarlemmermeer > Schiphol
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Specialty lodging in Schiphol
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Mercure Schiphol Terminal 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with ACCOR, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Expedia, HotelsNL and Otel so you can book your Mercure Schiphol Terminal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure Schiphol Terminal Hotel Schiphol-Oost
Mercure Schiphol Terminal Haarlemmermeer

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mercure Schiphol Terminal, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.