We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sleeping at the pier” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Mercure Schiphol Terminal

Save Saved
You added Mercure Schiphol Terminal to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Mercure Schiphol Terminal
3.0 of 5 Specialty Hotel   |   Amsterdam Airport Schiphol Terminal Building | PO Box 75041, 1117 ZN Schiphol, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel amenities
Maastricht, the Netherlands
Top Contributor
134 reviews 134 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
“Sleeping at the pier”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2012

This place is a good choice for those who want to sleep at the pier. It is located inside the Schiphol terminal area, surrounded by food places and shops. One can book a room either during the day or the night, at a fair price. Note that check-in for the night starts at 8.00 p.m. shortly before restaurants and bars start closing. So, be prepared for a sandwich, hamburger or beer in one of the few 24h places. Perhaps not very cosy, but functional.
Note that bedroom has no windows and no individualized air conditioning. Otherwise, the room and the bed are fine. The towels were near the end of their life-iime, but we liked the shower.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

242 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    72
    101
    51
    9
    9
See reviews for
27
68
56
61
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2012

This is not the best place to stay if you plan on leaving the airport for any length of time. After retrieving our luggage we had to go back through passport control to leave use their luggage storage. When we left the secure area, we had to have our passports stamped again. When we returned from our day trip we had to have our passports stamped again, when we had to check our baggage the following morning we had to go back to passport control, just to re-enter passport control to catch our flight. Also, we arrived at the hotel 2 hours earlier than expected and they requested to more money which was unexpected.
Overall, the room was quiet and clean and the staff were very nice.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Twin Cities, Minnesota
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

We missed our connection to the U.S. due to a security problem that closed down passport control for four hours. Our rebooked flight didn't leave until 9:00 AM the next day. We didn't look forward to staying in whatever dive the airline chose for us and having to get up early to get ground transportation back to the airport and go through passport control again so we bargained with the reservation agent to get compensated at the rate they would pay to lodge us at their choice of hotel plus the cost of ground transportation and then checked into the Mercure. It cost us about 50 euros more for the room than the alternative, but we could get an extra two hours of sleep and have our baggage already checked in.

The room was very clean, comfortable, and functional. We arranged for an in-room breakfast which is reasonably priced and served exactly as scheduled. Internet connections are included with the room at no extra charge. The room was also very quiet. We did not hear any aircraft noise. It's convenient to all of the gates and facilities in the EFG concourses and the associated shopping areas and also immediately adjacent to a number of airline club rooms.

Room Tip: I can't give any advice here since we booked the last available room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2012

I've stayed here many times, and this is your best choice in the International Lounge. Its clean and quiet.

It's not cheap, but it's cheaper and MUCH better than the other choice at the airport, Yotel (which is cramped, smelly and stuffy. Don't stay there!)

If you have a layover at Schipol, this is your best and most convenient choice.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2012

I stayed here when I had a long layover between flights. Small but very clean and comfortable room. It was so nice to have a shower and sleep after a long flight. It was a bit expensive having to book a night and day room.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairport
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2012

Booked this hotel as we had an very early morning flight. The pros of staying here are that is in the airport. The room was very clean and utilitarian for that purpose. The staff there, from front desk to housekeeping were extremely friendly and helpful.
The downside is that is is on the other side of customs. If you have luggage that needs to be checked in at your airlines, you cannot do that until the day of your flight. So we had to take luggage through customs on luggage cart...only turnstyles to go through unless you went through handicapped or crew entrances. On you flight day, you need to go back through customs and check in baggage and then go through again for your flight. Thus it was not as hassle free as we would have liked. In the future I would stay at a airport hotel that is attached but does not involve customs and security pass throughs.
Other negative was shower door was missing a wide rubber seal at the bottom of the door and resulted in a significantly flooded the bathroom floor. Housekeeping did come immediately to help clean it up.
This is a great place to stay if you don't have a lot of luggage or if you have a long layover in Amsterdam and want a shower and a place to sleep between flights.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milano
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
179 helpful votes 179 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2012

For an airport hotel, Mercure Schiphol is a blessing. Located right opposite the KLM lounge, it is easy to find. It is ideally located within the transit area close to restaurants and electronics stores. For the exhausted traveller, this hotel is a haven for the level of comfort it offers. I have been staying at the Mercure every time I transit Amsterdam for a few years now and it has never let me down. The rooms completely cut off the noise from the outside & the quiet comfort away from the mad crowds is a huge relief. The double rooms are adequately spacious with multiple plug points to charge all the gadgets (there is one right beside the bed too) and bathrooms with hot water. The staff are friendly, responsive and professional. I found the rooms along the main corridor a bit more spacious than the ones further inside the hotel. I once chose the Yotel when the Mercure was undergoing maintenance & I found it difficult to relax inside the claustrophobic cave of a room. While traveling via Schiphol, it is relief to know I have a quiet room in the Mercure waiting for me.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Mercure Schiphol Terminal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Schiphol Terminal

Address: Amsterdam Airport Schiphol Terminal Building | PO Box 75041, 1117 ZN Schiphol, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Haarlemmermeer > Schiphol
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Specialty lodging in Schiphol
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Mercure Schiphol Terminal 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, ACCOR, BookingOdigeoWL, HotelsNL and Otel so you can book your Mercure Schiphol Terminal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure Schiphol Terminal Hotel Schiphol-Oost
Mercure Schiphol Terminal Haarlemmermeer

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mercure Schiphol Terminal, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.