We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“World Class hotel for the business traveler” 5 of 5 stars
Review of citizenM Schiphol Airport

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added citizenM Schiphol Airport to your Saves list
citizenM Schiphol Airport
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Jan Plezierweg 2, 1118 BB Schiphol, The Netherlands   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
15% off room rate
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Schiphol
Certificate of Excellence
Indianapolis IN
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“World Class hotel for the business traveler”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2009

The CitizenM is one of my favorite hotels in the world. I am a frequent traveler who has stayed in everything from one star to five star hotels in Europe and the USA, and this hotel is the ultimate in simple comfort.
The quality and cleanliness of this hotel is top notch and beats many four and five star hotels that are several times more expensive. Don’t expect to be pampered with service here, but instead enjoy the feeling of personalization that this hotel offers. Once you explore the layout and approach of the hotel, you will have the feeling of “owning” a small flat in an upscale condo building as opposed to just staying in a hotel.
If you are adverse to technology, please be aware that this hotel is totally immersed in it. You will interact with computers at check-in, in the room, at dinner in the hotel, and naturally check-out as well. The entire process is very straight forward, but could be upsetting to those who value the “human touch”. As for the staff that you do interact with, I have never seen such a consistently friendly, energetic, and outgoing group of employees. Given that you will find a wide variety of nationalities in the guests each night, I was very impressed at the ability of the staff to seemingly make everyone feel at home.
I give this hotel my highest recommendation, as it is close to the airport and offers a trouble-free and relaxing stay at a fantastically reasonable price.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,721 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,573
    870
    178
    67
    33
See reviews for
226
894
581
911
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (510)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
78 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2009

I was pleasantly surprised at Citizen M Schiphol. The design was cutting edge, the concept was fresh, the rooms (although a little small) were well made, and really "cool" in a space-ship kind of way.

I Liked
1) 3 minute walk from the terminal building (sign boards make it easy too)
2) The design & Concept of the hotel and room
3) The room price
4) Very comfy bed
5) Free Wifi and Free Unlimited Movies on Demand
(incl kids movies and adult entertainment)

I Didn't Care Much For
1) The openness of the shower, incase you are travelling with kids perhaps
2) Price of the food / drinks (Euro 9 for a Vodka, Euro 8 for 5pc of cold tuna sushi) - given that it is self service.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2009

This hotel and the staff was absolutely one of the highlights of our stay in Amsterdam. Rooms are about as big as a standard state room on a cruise ship and uses the space very efficiently. The bed was wonderful, English movie options on the TV were great and shampoos and soaps smelled delicious and worked better than any other hotel product I have used.

I did go out and purchase a voltage adapter after reading that the universal plug system wasn't there. In front of the mirror there is an American plug, however if you are looking to plug your lap top in while in bed you will need an american adapter. Or, just use the laptops and workspaces down in the lobby!

Hotel service staff and bartenders were extremely friendly and helpful with everything from chosing drinks on the menu, directing you to the city hot spots, and making reservations at a secret bar.

Only thing we kind of missed was interacting with other travelers. This is definitely more of a business hotel, and from Friday to Sunday it was dead. We are 26 and beyond the hostel scene, but still wanted something convenient with a good atmosphere. This was a great experience and can't wait until they expand further! We will follow them wherever they go next.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
83 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2009

This new boutique hotel is right outside of Schipol airport, within walking distance from the arrivals hall and airport terminal-shopping plaza. The walk to the hotel is covered, but if the wind is blowing and it is raining, you can get rained on from the side. The lobby is laid out in a manner unlike any hotel; the check in is done via a bank of computer screens. There is a hotel employee standing by to assist as needed. The room key is in the form of a card that does not need to be inserted, but merely held in close proximity to the lock to open the door. Inside the room, the first thing you see are the shower and the toilet, and then the bed occupies the space at the other side of the room. My room faced the ‘World Trade Center’. All functions in the room are controlled by a remote control device called the moonpad. While futuristic and novel, I prefer doing most of these functions, like raising and lowering the blinds by myself. It also served as the TV remote control and light switches for the room. The hotel offers free wireless internet access to guests, although early in the afternoon, the signal on my floor was very weak and often lost connectivity. This was annoying, and a hardline Ethernet cable access would have been welcomed. In the lobby there is a bar and small shop selling food items, as well as plenty of workspace to meet others if you desire. There are computers in the lobby for those who don’t have their own, but they are all Macintosh models which I find maddening due to the awful movement peculiarities of the mouse Macs seem to have. I did not buy food or drink there at the hotel; it is a short walk to cheaper and better food in the airport shopping area. Note: There is no minibar, refrigerator or coffee maker in the room. You can either buy it in the hotel lobby or walk over to Schipol, where there is are several Starbucks and grocery stores. The bed was comfortable enough for me, although not as comfortable as I would have hoped for. The shower does not start until the door is completely closed, which means that you must be inside it to catch the initial blast of cold water before the hot water gets to your pipes. I thought by starting with the shower wand and later moving to the overhead rainfall shower would defeat this, but alas, no such luck. I still got a blast of cold water when I switched from wand to showerhead. Oh well, I guess it helps with waking up.

This hotel caters to a young ‘hip’ crowd, and it is safe to say that you don’t come here expecting to be pampered or served hand in foot. However, it also lacks the pompous airs that are noticeable at some places, and most welcome is the lack of overbearing help personnel trying to fall over themselves to assist you in pulling your rolling suitcase. I would stay here again if I had a layover in Schipol. You are about 20 minutes from downtown Amsterdam by train. This is not where you want to be if you want to soak in the culture of Amsterdam, which has cleaned itself up somewhat in recent years.

  • Stayed January 2009, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
114 reviews
109 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 196 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2009

This is a unique hotel. Probably wouldn't want to stay in this pod-type room for more than a couple of nights, although once you are ensconced in the bed you sort of don't want to leave. The beds are HUGE and VERY comfy with great linens and pillows!

The room is very modern with a big flat screen TV, choice of movies, and everything is controlled by a central "Mood Pad" (i.e. electronic remote). The hotel has great wi-fi coverage and if you don't have your computer you can use one of the MACs in the lobby. The public spaces are attractive and comfortable. I spent two nights at the hotel and did a lot of work during the day just sitting in the common areas -- very comfortable and good service.

This is sort of a self-serve approach including check in, the snack bar/dining, etc., but at a price of Euro 80 this is a good deal and you won't be disappointed. It is a five minutes walk to the airport terminal building and the train station, which can get you everywhere you want to go. Since you are at the airport, the environs are lacking but you have the convenience of the airport (with a large shopping center) and train station just 5 minutes away.

Two comments -- I wouldn't eat more than coffee and a croissant at the hotel since the prices are relatively expensive for high-quality cafeteria-style food. I also feel it is better to stay as a single because there is not much privacy for bathing and going to the bathroom, but it depends on your desire of privacy.

This is a great business-type hotel, but if I really wanted a taste of Amsterdam and the canals I'd spend a little more an stay in canal rings.

Otherwise it is GREAT!

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bulgaria
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2009

My first stay at citizenM hotel. I enjoyed it every bit. Its 3 minutes walk from the Arrivals terminals and stylish modern, trendy, cozy and comfortable rooms at that price is just perfect.
The bed, the shower and the media entertaintment are great.
And the stuff is so warm and charming.
Next time I come to Amsterdam, I'll definitely stay there again!
I already recomended it to my friends.
I am charmed :)

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, CA
Level Contributor
23 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2009

Loved the big comfy bed--bigger than my king size back home. Showers and toilet tubes were fun and efficient. Downstairs and public areas are beautifully designed--for those who like the modern.

However, as much as I liked it, which was quite a lot, I'm no so sure someone who is not agile would like it so much. The rooms are tight--not much space to sit--no chair really large enough to sit comfortably, and if one were a person of size--sitting on a high bed to get dressed, tie your shoes, write, etc might not be so comfortable.

The eating and drinking selections were good and fairly priced. The location-- an easy walk from the airport and it's train stop were perfect, and the price was definitely right. The people who worked there were friendly and professional. On my next Amsterdam trip, or stopover, citizenM will be my choice.

  • Stayed January 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to citizenM Schiphol Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about citizenM Schiphol Airport

Address: Jan Plezierweg 2, 1118 BB Schiphol, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Haarlemmermeer > Schiphol
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Schiphol
#1 Family Hotel in Schiphol
#1 Luxury Hotel in Schiphol
#1 Romantic Hotel in Schiphol
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — citizenM Schiphol Airport 4*
Number of rooms: 230
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Connected to Amsterdam Airport Schiphol, citizenM is a 230 room modern hotel that marries affordable lodging with luxurious hi-tech amenities. Just a two minute walk from airport terminals you will skip long queues with the 1-minute self check-in/out; enjoy free Wi-Fi and free iMac access in the lobby, high pressure rain showers to beat the worst jet-lag and fine Italian linens on an XL king-size bed to sink into, free movies, 24/7 dining and cocktailing at canteenM whether you crave breakfast or a cold beer, and contemporary Vitra living room spaces for work and play. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, citizenM, Hotels.com, Travelocity, EasyToBook, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, HotelTravel.com and Jetsetter so you can book your citizenM Schiphol Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Citizenm Hotel Amsterdam Airport Hotel Schiphol-Rijk
CitizenM Schiphol Airport Haarlemmermeer

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage citizenM Schiphol Airport, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.