We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Funny, modern, comfortable” 4 of 5 stars
Review of citizenM Schiphol Airport

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added citizenM Schiphol Airport to your Saves list
citizenM Schiphol Airport
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Jan Plezierweg 2, 1118 BB Schiphol, The Netherlands   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
15% off room rate
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Schiphol
Certificate of Excellence
St. Petersburg, Russia
Level Contributor
47 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Funny, modern, comfortable”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2014

If you're conservative - don't choose this hotel. If you're up to some original design solutions - that's a good choice :) Like many other reviewers noted, one of the key room features is the shower and WC being located right in the room, just behind a glass curtain, as I'd describe it. For me, the inconvenience about it that I didn't know where to put the towel.
Other than that, it's a comfortable spot to spend a couple of nights close to the airport. The connection to the city center is fast and convenient, too.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,709 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,566
    866
    178
    66
    33
See reviews for
226
892
580
904
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (507)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sliema, Malta
Level Contributor
21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2014

I arrived early and stayed overnight waiting for a flight the next day. The hotel is very close to the airport and easy to walk to. Although it is self check in the staff are really friendly and helpful if you need anything. The bar area, food and the lounges were great. The room is compact with an amazingly large comfortable bed but I wouldn't want to spend too much time in the room as not much space. The shower, sink and toilet are right in the middle of the room so you would need to feel comfortable if sharing with someone. large shopping mall at the airport and easy access into Amsterdam on the train. I would definitely recommend it for a short stay.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rome, Italy
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2014

I spent a night in the CitizenM hotel in Shiphol airport of Amsterdam: it was a surprise hotel at the top of technology and archimodernity, with some problems as far as feeling to be at ease in such a modernly and rather cold furnished environment, everyting anyway working at best. A special mention sould be made for the rooms. You can sleep well and soundly on the large mattress, but the presence of visible waterclose and shower and lavabo are not so easily acceptable by a traditional userand stress you during the night. The total area of the room is probably below 12 sqm. Perhaps this hotel represents the future in western world.

Room Tip: this is not an hotel for elderly people
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colwyn Bay, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2014

I stay in this hotel 15- 20 nights a year ,But after it being one of my favorite and looked forward to stays , sadly its no longer in my top 5 , the communal reception and bistro style areas are fantastic and the food is great BUT on the last 3 stays the WIFI SUCKS , i can download anything , one document said 3 days left to open LOL !!
skype/ facetime is impossible , i have talked to the reception staff but nothing was solved , they really need to fix this of the sheraton will have my custom for future visits ! , ive even tried my phone and ipad no difference , might seen like a small thing but im here for business !

Room Tip: i preferr the airport side , its generally better
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Canada
Level Contributor
138 reviews
85 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2014

I love this place. Second time here. Nice to get out of the airport (5-minute walk at most) and not stay inside at Yotel. Easy check-in at a kiosk, with assistance from staff standing by. You create your own key-card. Free drink included this time. Social atmosphere in the “living room.” Helpful, pleasant and friendly staff serving drinks and food. Paul arranged a vegan bowl for me.
Nice shower with a.m. and p.m. body wash options.
Easy checkout.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
57 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2014

This place is just SO convenient from the Arrivals area in the hotel. I wish many other airports had such a funky, good value place so close to the airport (with an excellent into town rail link too!)

The bed was super comfortable, the breakfast good value too.

Apart from me being dumb and not being able to figure out how to use the shower, I have nothing but high praise for this place. This is a brand I would happily use again and again.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roermond, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2014 via mobile

I have been traveling for business extensively all around the world and never stayed in a citizenM and I'm wondering why not. It is a really innovative concept. Self service based at a very high quality level. But there is staff around that are there to help you out if needed. Staff is ver pro-active and service minded. This time I was traveling with the family and we booked two rooms. During self check in, one of the staff members proa actively reserved two adjacent rooms (the self check in doesn't allow this). The rooms are small but sufficient for two persons for a short stay. Everything very clean, modern and highly automated. The hotel is less than 2 min walk from terminal 3 (approx 150 meters).

Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to citizenM Schiphol Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about citizenM Schiphol Airport

Address: Jan Plezierweg 2, 1118 BB Schiphol, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Haarlemmermeer > Schiphol
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Schiphol
#1 Business Hotel in Schiphol
#1 Luxury Hotel in Schiphol
#1 Romantic Hotel in Schiphol
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — citizenM Schiphol Airport 4*
Number of rooms: 230
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Connected to Amsterdam Airport Schiphol, citizenM is a 230 room modern hotel that marries affordable lodging with luxurious hi-tech amenities. Just a two minute walk from airport terminals you will skip long queues with the 1-minute self check-in/out; enjoy free Wi-Fi and free iMac access in the lobby, high pressure rain showers to beat the worst jet-lag and fine Italian linens on an XL king-size bed to sink into, free movies, 24/7 dining and cocktailing at canteenM whether you crave breakfast or a cold beer, and contemporary Vitra living room spaces for work and play. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, citizenM, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, EasyToBook, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, HotelTravel.com and Jetsetter so you can book your citizenM Schiphol Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Citizenm Hotel Amsterdam Airport Hotel Schiphol-Rijk
CitizenM Schiphol Airport Haarlemmermeer

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage citizenM Schiphol Airport, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.