We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“So simple, just great” 5 of 5 stars
Review of citizenM Schiphol Airport

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added citizenM Schiphol Airport to your Saves list
citizenM Schiphol Airport
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Jan Plezierweg 2, 1118 BB Schiphol, The Netherlands   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Schiphol
English in Oz
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“So simple, just great”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2008

I stayed here on an overnight stop on the way to South America. It was easy to find (a short 5 minute walk from the terminal). Check-in was on a computer (with a member of staff to help if there were problems).

The room was simple and comfortable. The bed was great with a very good mattress and there was no obvious noise from the planes.

All in all the perfect stopover hotel and much cheaper than the other nearby hotels!

  • Liked — Location and simplicity
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,445 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,430
    772
    157
    57
    29
See reviews for
202
805
541
809
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (456)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Venezuela
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2008

The Best Airport Hotel experience, stayed at every airport hotel in the western hemisphere and this is simply the best. Great value for your buck, impeccably clean, futuristic shower, incredible bed, you can control the TV, lights, temperature and shades with the touch of a button, the price is great when compared to the other hotels offered. Hope other chains understand and copy the concept.

  • Liked — The Bed and Shower
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2008

I think I have stayed at most of the Airport hotels in AMS, but this one was by far the best. It is very modern and has a communal area downstairs which is great if you are feeling lonely. The rooms are very small, but well designed and I loved the little gadget that you control everything in the room with - press a button and the lights change colour - fun! Most of all I loved the bed, it was huge and so comfortable! Had a great nights sleep here and will certainly use it again.

  • Liked — the comfortable bed
  • Disliked — was a bit confused with self-check in
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2008

I recently had the pleasure of staying at the Citizen M at Amsterdam Schiphol Airport the night before an early flight back to the US. I had been traveling for two weeks on Business and it was my last night on the road. This hotel offered a very uniqe experience. From the time I checked in I felt very welcome. Susan is a wonderful asset to the Citizen M - I thought she was the hotel manager due to her professional attitude and the special care she took with every guest she attended to. Ray was also great and made a mean Green Tea Cosmo! Thanks to Ray and Susan for making my stay so wonderful, and thanks to the management team at Citizen M for a great alternative to the standard business hotel. I have also stayed at the Hilton Amsterdam and the Sheraton at the airport and while these are nice hotels their rates are much higher and the overall experience compared to Citizen is, well, boring at best. Citizen M is hip, modern, friendly and uber efficient! I have been using Trip Advisor for a number of years to read other's reviews of hotels, and have used these reviews to make hotel stay decisions. This is the first time I have felt motivated to write a review myself. Congrats to the management and staff at the Citizen M for a job well done - from design concept to customer service = A+++.

  • Liked — efficient room design
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2008

With it's modern styling and quirky techno features this hotel really stood out amongst the others we stayed at during a recent European trip. It had a HUGE and wonderfully comfortable bed, that must have been 8ft each way. but there was very little storage space except in the draw under the bed and no sitting/ desk area. except in the public lounges, We felt the rooms could have been a bit bigger, - but that bed made up for it. Excellent sound insulation meant we didn't hear any aircraft /traffic noise at all. Technophobes might dislike the remote control that controls the lights, blinds, TV etc, but I enjoyed having a play!
Unusual glass cylindrical shower and toilet did cause some debate but work well as long as you are with a close friend!
Parking for car drivers is at standard airport carparks close by, but as bikers we were given permission to park around the back of the hotel.- thanks! This is a bright and shiny new hotel with modern minamalist techo styling, lack of wardrobes meant it's not recommended for a long stays, but for a overnight or weekend it's a good base for seeing Amsterdam, or if you'd like to spend a lot of time in bed with someone special!

  • Liked — The Bed
  • Disliked — Not enough storage and space
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2008

Definitly worth a visit. It's very slick and modern, yet relaxing and the staff are super friendly and helpful.

While it is aimed more for business people, any young person will be entertained with the FREE movies, internet and 'adult movies.'

The actual room may be considered a little small, but the design and layout more than makes up for that. The gagets would keep anyone busy for hours. It's got 'mood' lights in the toilet and shower. There's a great selection of music and TV channels on the flat screen.

We got a room with a Runway View, which is definitly worth requesting.

If you stay in Citizen M you probably won't want to leave the hotel during your stay!!!

Only negatives are the lack of a proper smoking area, no tea/coffee facilities in the room and you must pay by credit card.

  • Liked — The quality and design of the room and the lobby/lounge area
  • Disliked — Lack of proper smoking area
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tyne and Wear
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2008

Me and my Husband stayed here for the weekend and really loved it. It was right next to the airport and also the train station so ideal for traveling into the city centre. The price compared to other hotels was brilliant and we would really recommend this hotel. The room was ultra modern and spotless.

  • Liked — Huge bed, Sky Movies and unusual shower and toilet cubicles.
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to citizenM Schiphol Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about citizenM Schiphol Airport

Address: Jan Plezierweg 2, 1118 BB Schiphol, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Haarlemmermeer > Schiphol
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Schiphol
#1 Romantic Hotel in Schiphol
#1 Business Hotel in Schiphol
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — citizenM Schiphol Airport 4*
Number of rooms: 230
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Connected to Amsterdam Airport Schiphol, this modern budget hotel offers affordable lodging with hi-tech amenities for business and leisure travel including Wi-Fi, an LCD television, and more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Despegar.com, EasyToBook, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your citizenM Schiphol Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Citizenm Hotel Amsterdam Airport Hotel Schiphol-Rijk
CitizenM Schiphol Airport Haarlemmermeer

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage citizenM Schiphol Airport, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.