We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Frequent travelers will feel like at home (experienced cruisers too)!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of citizenM Schiphol Airport

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added citizenM Schiphol Airport to your Saves list
citizenM Schiphol Airport
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Jan Plezierweg 2, 1118 BB Schiphol, The Netherlands   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Schiphol
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Dubrovnik, Croatia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Frequent travelers will feel like at home (experienced cruisers too)!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2014

PROS:
3 min walk from arrivals plaza
Excellent staff - attention to detail
Easy to check in/check out
Very comfy bed
24/7 food/beverage

CONS:
Could be too challenging for some - check in/out is done via touch screen, remote is used to control number of functions in the room

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,531 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,483
    799
    159
    60
    30
See reviews for
207
831
553
845
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (472)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Durham
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
77 hotel reviews
Reviews in 62 cities Reviews in 62 cities
85 helpful votes 85 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2014

Stayed here for one night on a business trip close to the airport. Location is fantastic for airport and the conference centres nearby - it's just a few minutes' walk from the airport's main pedestrian entrance and can be reached on foot. The rooms are very chic, classy, spotless and have huge and comfortable beds - the chicness was a surprise for a business/airport layover hotel. The food is really good - there's a breakfast buffet with homemade granola in the morning included in the room rate, and a buffet and self-serve cold selection in the evening which is extra, but which was very good also. A great place to bunk down on a business trip and definitely a big step up from the usual dull corporate chains - this place has real personality.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
208 reviews 208 reviews
130 hotel reviews
Reviews in 114 cities Reviews in 114 cities
121 helpful votes 121 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2014

In all my trips to Amsterdam, this is the first time I have stayed "on" the airport. CitizenM is a few minutes walk from the far end of the Plaza, the pathway is almost entirely covered. I loved the self-service check-in as it was already getting late it was very nice to not have to muster a smile for a receptionist! NIfty room key doubles as a luggage tag so be sure to keep it! I skipped their breakfast as I knew I could get a croissant, juice and coffee in the Airport Plaza for a better price and not as a pre-packed meal. Wi-fi was fast and free, fluffy bath towels, and decent work surface. My room (432) overlooked the airport and, surprisingly, it was the sound of diesel lorry engines that I could hear in the room, not air planes.

The bed was quite large, but situated strangely, so that you either had to crawl over your partner, or sleep with heads under the window. As I was on my own I could sleep normally but it is worth mentioning the bed is only accessible on one side. The WC and shower pods were well funky, I can see where these could be unnerving if sharing the room, although I did notice a sheer curtain was in place which could be pulled across to help shield view. (Shower was a clear glass pod which was very large and had a rain forest head, as well as a shower wand; the WC had a frosted glass pod enclosure.)

The lack of a place to put my case to get unpacked was a bit annoying, I ended up putting it in front of the room door but, again, had I not been staying on my own this might have been an even bigger issue. The mood pad remote control was easy to figure out, except when it came to switching off the morning alarm... not sure what button I had pressed to select the night before, but I woke up to a fully lit room and the sound of dogs barking and a lady screaming, coming from the TV. Awake, indeed, and fumbling to switch it off! So, not for everyone, that is for sure, but I would stay here again if I needed a quick overnight again and the price was right, but only if I was travelling alone.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Torun, Poland
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2014

Stayed together with my girl for one night because we had an early flight. It is like 5 minutes way to the airport. Room was very small but equiped with modern stuff like pods for toilet and shower. Colour changing was a lot of fun for me. We had a view to the airport surface but it was really quiet. Very comfortable beds with extra pillows if you need them. We didin't have breakfast so I can't give you any opinion about it. We will be coming back there in future.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2014

The hallways were like a cruise ship and I guess the room was about the same size as a smaller cabin. Great for overnighting before your flight. Toilet and shower pods don't allow for much privacy, so best if you already know your roommate. Staff were very friendly and helpful, food was delicious and enough variety. Quite the experience.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
australia
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2014

Stayed one night. Literally steps from the terminal. Small, funky room with colour changing shower pod. Cool reception bar and cafe area with delicious self serve snacks if you are in a hurry. Staff genuinely friendly. Wouldn't hesitate to stay again if I am transiting through schiphol.

Room Tip: A room facing the runway if possible for interesting view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, WA
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2014

It was like stepping into the future entering CitizenM in Amsterdam, a 5-minute walk from Schiphol. My friend and I just stayed one night as we had an early flight the next day. Everything is clean and orderly, the staff is super friendly and speak very good English, the room a total trip with the pod shower and water closet. Great use of space. Comfy bed, quiet, really cool vibe. A little tight for two people who are not a couple. The food options are really quite good - nice breakfast and dinner options - not fancy but good - decent wine, too! I would stay here again on my own for sure.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to citizenM Schiphol Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about citizenM Schiphol Airport

Address: Jan Plezierweg 2, 1118 BB Schiphol, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Haarlemmermeer > Schiphol
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Schiphol
#1 Business Hotel in Schiphol
#1 Luxury Hotel in Schiphol
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — citizenM Schiphol Airport 4*
Number of rooms: 230
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Connected to Amsterdam Airport Schiphol, this modern budget hotel offers affordable lodging with hi-tech amenities for business and leisure travel including Wi-Fi, an LCD television, and more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your citizenM Schiphol Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Citizenm Hotel Amsterdam Airport Hotel Schiphol-Rijk
CitizenM Schiphol Airport Haarlemmermeer

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage citizenM Schiphol Airport, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.