We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best at Schiphol” 5 of 5 stars
Review of citizenM Schiphol Airport

Save Saved
You added citizenM Schiphol Airport to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
citizenM Schiphol Airport
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Jan Plezierweg 2, Schiphol 1118 BB, The Netherlands   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Announcement
Become a citizen!
Ranked #1 of 6 hotels in Schiphol
Oulton Broad, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
102 reviews 102 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
87 helpful votes 87 helpful votes
“The best at Schiphol”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2014 via mobile

If you need to stay overnight either before or after your flight, this is the place.
Massive bed, very comfy, friendly staff, free WiFi, very quiet even if on the airport side.
I wouldn't stay anywhere else

Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,210 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    1,301
    698
    138
    46
    27
See reviews for
180
742
488
732
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (397)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2014

loved it...!!! Great stay short distance to city by train....trains run every half hour...would stay again...great staff, the one who stood out to me cant even remember her name she was from spain so helpful on check in and check out.

Room Tip: loved it..!!!!! any room was good for us
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
France
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2014

I stayed many times in This Hotel, this a Perfect Airport Hotel, Walking Distance to the Hotel, very reasonable prices comparing Other Hotel in the same distance ( Sheraton) Very comfortable Rooms, Modern Concept, some people may do not like it. But I love it

Room Tip: There are Streeto Side and Airport side try to chose Higher floors and Street side
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2014

I stayed in this hotel for one night in January of 2014.
The short version: Only good for one night stay, and only if you don't plan on doing office work in the room. Don't bother with their breakfast. It's not worth it.
The full version: What makes this hotel unique - is it's design. It starts with check-in (and check-out), continues through the public spaces and becomes extravagant in the room! (Extravagant means the unique design. It does not make the room comfortable. however, the bed is comfortable, and the room is completely sealed from outside noise). In the end, the 160 Euros room is very small, and only sufficient for a quick night sleep. If you wanted to stay here for more than one night, or do some office work in your room - forget about it. Breakfast, which is additional 12 Euros, is made of selection of cold boxed salads and some pastries. Well, and nice attendant will get you coffee or tea... Go have real breakfast in the airport which is 5 minutes walk from the hotel.
Summary: It was good to experience this unique design once. I will try another place next time in the Amsterdam airport.
Rants:
1. The attendants in check-in which is fully computerized are very patronizing. They ask you if you stayed in this hotel before in a dramatic tone - as if next step is flying to the moon. And when you say that you did not, they announce even more dramatically that WiFi in the room is free, as if they are the only hotel in the world to be so generous!
2. As part of check-in, you are required to enter you email. When you say you don't want to, you are told that AFTER you have entered it, you can decline to get any mailings from the chain... But you cannot complete check-in without entering your email into their system.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kota Kinabalu, Malaysia
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2014 via mobile

What the other reviews said about the hotel is correct. It is small, clean, modern, 300 m walk from airport, with room rate of under €100.

Some maybe put off by the usage of computer check in and check out, I had very friendly and helpful staff who assisted me, so no problem at all.

The only faults I can find is the battery in the centralised remote control ( that control TV, lights, curtain) is weak, it needed to be charged after usage of every 5 minutes.

There is a small cafe on ground floor serving limited choices of drink, snacks. I just walked over to the airport restaurants and fast food joints for my dinner and breakfast.

Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holbaek, Denmark
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2014

I'm not normally inclined to write a hotel so eagerly as I am on this occassion.

When I walked into the hotel I was concerned it was yet another wannabe trendy hotel which turned out to be style over sustance, but I couldn't have been more wrong.

In fact I can't say a bad word about this place. My first encounter was the touch screen check in/out which was extremely easy to use and worked very well and there was a friendly member of staff to help out anyway.

The room was packed with features all which were highly functional and aimed at the guest having a comfortable stay, along with the modern styling to go with it. The shower was great, the bed was extremely big and comfortable, the pillows, duvet and towels were all lovely and fluffy and comfortable, there was a UK plug socket as well as a european one, the mood lighting was not tacky but rather subtle and in keeping with the style, and there was a control from which the blinds, room temperature, tv, lighting etc could all be controlled.

I also had a hot meal downstairs and again this was faultless....it was delicious and was served to me by extremely friendly helpful staff.

The only thing I would like to see is tea/coffee in the room, but this is a minor point especially when most people are stopping over between flights.

Location also good only a few minutes walk from the airport.

I think a lot of 'modern' hotels could take some tips from this place and I would highly recommend it. Wish I could have stayed longer!!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2014 via mobile

My husband and I spent one night at the CitizenM Hotel while in transit back home to Sydney, Australia. Our only disappointment......why didn't we stay longer.....! Staff so helpful and friendly, accommodation very comfortable, public areas in the hotel were so comfy and felt like we were at home, excellent selection of snacks, food and beverages.....will definitely be back next time we pass through Amsterdam.....thank you for any amazing short stay.

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to citizenM Schiphol Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about citizenM Schiphol Airport

Address: Jan Plezierweg 2, Schiphol 1118 BB, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Haarlemmermeer > Schiphol
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 hotels in Schiphol
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — citizenM Schiphol Airport 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Connected to Amsterdam Airport Schiphol, this modern budget hotel offers affordable lodging with hi-tech amenities for business and leisure travel including Wi-Fi, an LCD television, and more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Tingo, Sabre Hospitality Solutions , BookingOdigeoWL, EasyToBook and Venere so you can book your citizenM Schiphol Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Citizenm Hotel Amsterdam Airport Hotel Schiphol-Rijk
CitizenM Schiphol Airport Haarlemmermeer

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage citizenM Schiphol Airport, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.