We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean, modern, near airport and reasonable price...” 5 of 5 stars
Review of citizenM Schiphol Airport

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save Saved
You added citizenM Schiphol Airport to your Saves list
citizenM Schiphol Airport
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Jan Plezierweg 2, 1118 BB Schiphol, The Netherlands   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Announcement
Become a citizen!
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Schiphol
Kota Kinabalu, Malaysia
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Clean, modern, near airport and reasonable price...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2014 via mobile

What the other reviews said about the hotel is correct. It is small, clean, modern, 300 m walk from airport, with room rate of under €100.

Some maybe put off by the usage of computer check in and check out, I had very friendly and helpful staff who assisted me, so no problem at all.

The only faults I can find is the battery in the centralised remote control ( that control TV, lights, curtain) is weak, it needed to be charged after usage of every 5 minutes.

There is a small cafe on ground floor serving limited choices of drink, snacks. I just walked over to the airport restaurants and fast food joints for my dinner and breakfast.

Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,338 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,376
    739
    146
    50
    27
See reviews for
196
785
519
763
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (433)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Holbaek, Denmark
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2014

I'm not normally inclined to write a hotel so eagerly as I am on this occassion.

When I walked into the hotel I was concerned it was yet another wannabe trendy hotel which turned out to be style over sustance, but I couldn't have been more wrong.

In fact I can't say a bad word about this place. My first encounter was the touch screen check in/out which was extremely easy to use and worked very well and there was a friendly member of staff to help out anyway.

The room was packed with features all which were highly functional and aimed at the guest having a comfortable stay, along with the modern styling to go with it. The shower was great, the bed was extremely big and comfortable, the pillows, duvet and towels were all lovely and fluffy and comfortable, there was a UK plug socket as well as a european one, the mood lighting was not tacky but rather subtle and in keeping with the style, and there was a control from which the blinds, room temperature, tv, lighting etc could all be controlled.

I also had a hot meal downstairs and again this was faultless....it was delicious and was served to me by extremely friendly helpful staff.

The only thing I would like to see is tea/coffee in the room, but this is a minor point especially when most people are stopping over between flights.

Location also good only a few minutes walk from the airport.

I think a lot of 'modern' hotels could take some tips from this place and I would highly recommend it. Wish I could have stayed longer!!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2014 via mobile

My husband and I spent one night at the CitizenM Hotel while in transit back home to Sydney, Australia. Our only disappointment......why didn't we stay longer.....! Staff so helpful and friendly, accommodation very comfortable, public areas in the hotel were so comfy and felt like we were at home, excellent selection of snacks, food and beverages.....will definitely be back next time we pass through Amsterdam.....thank you for any amazing short stay.

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2014

I was intrigued by the nice website and by the stylish interiors. In addiction to that it is in the airport meaning walking distance from the terminals. I had an early flight so why not?
This hotel is as confortable as a car prototype could be. Very nice from outside but, looking at the details, not at the level that its price would need.
Bathroom not existing (almost) and small rooms. Maybe I am oldstlye, or simply OLD, but that's not my style.

Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
74 helpful votes 74 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2014

The hotel is about 300m away from the exit of schiphol airport and this is a great advantage. Very modern decorated with very polite stuff. You make self check-in and check-out , no cash money. There is 24h a day a kind employee to help you with check in if you needed. The hotel is a non smoking hotel and if you light cigarette you will charged 150€! The room is strange and unusual if you have other kind of room in your mind. There is not a bathroom but only a cylinder with a shower (you must close well the cylinder for shower or water to flow). A second cylinder in the room is the toilet. Glass of cylinder is not eye-through. There is also a curtain if you feel shy. A washbasin is in room too ( and maybe makes the floor wet if open jet widely ). There is a telecontrol which controls the colors of the room (amazing) with many menus ( red , yellow ,pink etc) , the tv ,the heating or the alarm and the curtains of window. If you book a room with a view to airport you see the airplanes. Room are very good isolated and no noise in the room. The price of hotel is best value for money. See attached pictures I uploaded. I recommend it.

Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2014

I stayed in Citizen M in Schipol for one night as I had a meeting at the airport the following day. It was my first time in the hotel-what a great concept! Very funky. The rooms are small but very well thought out. Ideal for a solo business traveller, I'll definitely stay again

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wageningen, The Netherlands
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2014

The CitizenM hotel is a well thought concept. Rooms are not big but the essentials like an excellent bed and a great shower are there. The hotel is modern, clean and has some nice extra's like a nice lounge, a personal lighting system and great smelling soaps. The Schiphol CitizenM hotel is a few hundred meter from the arrival and departure terminals. So a great choice if you arrive late or fly early. Breakfast is not included, but we preferred to check in first and have breakfast after passing customs on the airport. I personally would not choose this hotel for a longer stay unless you really enjoy airports.

Room Tip: I have stayed there a few times and all rooms seem exactly the same.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to citizenM Schiphol Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about citizenM Schiphol Airport

Address: Jan Plezierweg 2, 1118 BB Schiphol, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Haarlemmermeer > Schiphol
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Schiphol
#1 Business Hotel in Schiphol
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — citizenM Schiphol Airport 4*
Number of rooms: 230
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Connected to Amsterdam Airport Schiphol, this modern budget hotel offers affordable lodging with hi-tech amenities for business and leisure travel including Wi-Fi, an LCD television, and more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Sabre Hospitality Solutions , Odigeo, Hotel.de, EasyToBook and Tingo so you can book your citizenM Schiphol Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Citizenm Hotel Amsterdam Airport Hotel Schiphol-Rijk
CitizenM Schiphol Airport Haarlemmermeer

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage citizenM Schiphol Airport, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.