We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't really know” 3 of 5 stars
Review of citizenM Schiphol Airport

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added citizenM Schiphol Airport to your Saves list
citizenM Schiphol Airport
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Jan Plezierweg 2, 1118 BB Schiphol, The Netherlands   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
always get our best rate
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Schiphol
Certificate of Excellence
Eindhoven, Noord-Brabant, Netherlands
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Don't really know”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2013

Yes, not too far from terminal building. Yes, very modern and new. But, very small romms with the shower and toilet in the middle of the room......and open. Everything functions ok, but no. I still prefer a more tradiotional hotel room. So, very diffiicult for me to write a positive recommendation.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,627 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,531
    829
    170
    64
    33
See reviews for
215
862
564
882
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (490)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bushey
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2013

This Hotel is almost attached to Schiphol Airport, you have to cross open space but not much, unlike the Sheraton which is a bit closer and fully covered.

The rooms are ergonomic to the extreme and as a result can fee a bit claustrophobic. The rooms are 'compact' , the width is the length of the bed (the head end and the foot end touch the walls, hence the title) , there is no bath and the shower and toilet are in separate perspex cylinders.

The common areas are very modern, with sort of a bar/food centre which is functional.

OK for one night but I found two to be one to much.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malaga, Spain
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2013

It was only 500m walk from Schipol Plaza, although we had to ask several staff in the Plaza for directions. Certainly beat waiting an unknown time for a hotel bus. There was help with booking in, which was quick and easy. Room was wonderfully clean and comfortable with superb bed, but compact: best described as a ship's cabin. Great for a quick business trip and/or necessary stopover between flights, early or late flight, etc. Leisure areas surprisingly good and comfortable, better than most 4* business hotels. The toilet and shower in 'cylinders' within the room lack privacy are not too everyone's taste, and embarrassing for pairs travelling, such as mother-son, father-daughter. Also, the hotel should advise guests that it's best to leave your luggage at the airport or to use the hotel luggage deposit, as there's no room for large suitcases.

Room Tip: Make sure you either leave your luggage at the airport baggage deposit (great lockers) or use the ho...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Den Bosch, The Netherlands
Top Contributor
322 reviews 322 reviews
116 hotel reviews
Reviews in 123 cities Reviews in 123 cities
153 helpful votes 153 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2013

Stayed here for one night for business. Hotel is quite a walk from Schiphol Plaza. When you come in, it looks like you have entered the airport again as you need to register yourself at some sort of ticket machine and prepare your own room key. Really feels welcoming after a tiring day and flight! The staff even though we're in The Netherlands doesn't speak Dutch and consists of trendy young people. At the bar there is the possibility to get some food albeit all very trendy again and you need to warm it yourself in a microwave. When I came in, the daily special - Indonesian - that was the only thing I actually liked, was not available anymore so I went to the Burger King at Schiphol Plaza. The room, again very trendy. Checking out, again the self service ticket machine. Clicked on get invoice by e-mail; never got it. Next time, I'll pay just a bit more and stay at one of the other leading brand hotels at or around the airport. Unless you are the trendy type of person, avoid.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Netherlands
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2013

If you have an early flight, for business or holiday, a stay at Citizen M before departure makes your flight very relaxed. An early check in the day before departure gives you the opportunity to visit Amsterdam for example, The rooms are fantastic. The bed is great, the food is good en the transfer from the hotel to departure takes only a few minutes. It was our third stay at Citizen M and we are sure it was not the last stay.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2013

I had an early flight out of Schipol and the rooms here were a bargain so I went ahead and booked. Check in was "self serve" which was nice as no lines and I don't really like dealing with people after a long day of travelling, and then upstairs to the rooms. I have to say from the outside the rooms look a bit like a prison cell, but when opened, although compact, they fit a lot in! Toilet and shower are in circular glass cases to minimise space use and a huge bed, nice tv and good internet. Had a great night sleep. Perfect for a single business traveller - would I stay there with my partner? Probably not.

Just a five minute walk from the terminal and the train station so easy to be out the door the following morning in time for your flight.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2013

Citizen M is unique and fun for one night. I am not sure how the concept would work for more than one night. The rooms are best described as high tech pods. The bed, shower and toilet are all in the same space. I felt like I had stepped into the future and was on an intragalactic transport. There is a minimal desk and uncomfortable chair but the living rooms on the ground level provide great work and social spaces. The location is convenient if you have an early morning flight or a long lay over. My only complaint was I woke at 4AM to the noise of the plumbing in my neighbors pod otherwise everything else was top notch.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to citizenM Schiphol Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about citizenM Schiphol Airport

Address: Jan Plezierweg 2, 1118 BB Schiphol, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Haarlemmermeer > Schiphol
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Schiphol
#1 Luxury Hotel in Schiphol
#1 Business Hotel in Schiphol
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — citizenM Schiphol Airport 4*
Number of rooms: 230
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Connected to Amsterdam Airport Schiphol, citizenM is a 230 room modern hotel that marries affordable lodging with luxurious hi-tech amenities. Just a two minute walk from airport terminals you will skip long queues with the 1-minute self check-in/out; enjoy free Wi-Fi and free iMac access in the lobby, high pressure rain showers to beat the worst jet-lag and fine Italian linens on an XL king-size bed to sink into, free movies, 24/7 dining and cocktailing at canteenM whether you crave breakfast or a cold beer, and contemporary Vitra living room spaces for work and play. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, EasyToBook, Odigeo and TripOnline SA so you can book your citizenM Schiphol Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Citizenm Hotel Amsterdam Airport Hotel Schiphol-Rijk
CitizenM Schiphol Airport Haarlemmermeer

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage citizenM Schiphol Airport, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.