We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“second time stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of citizenM Schiphol Airport

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save Saved
You added citizenM Schiphol Airport to your Saves list
citizenM Schiphol Airport
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Jan Plezierweg 2, 1118 BB Schiphol, The Netherlands   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Announcement
Become a citizen!
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Schiphol
New York City, New York, USA
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“second time stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2013

this was the second time we stayed here. its a short walk to the terminal. perfect hotel for an early flight!! its very clean and the staff is very friendly and helpful.
next time we fly early from Schiphol, we will stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,362 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,390
    746
    147
    52
    27
See reviews for
197
791
525
772
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (438)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2013 via mobile

The real test of satisfaction is not "would you return?" but "did you return?" We think this place is great but it is certainly not for those who want a normal hotel room. The room is one open space with a toilet only separated by a glass door and the same for the shower. Fine with us. The room is only the width of the king size bed yet we could both put our suitcases on the floor and open them. The bed is very comfortable too. They run a little restaurant with a limited menu but what the have is good and being able to sit around casually feels great when travelling. The breakfast buffet is good too. Why not give it a five? Nothing is perfect, the room is certainly a compromise it is quiet but you can still hear road noise, showers, doors etc and their electronic pad room controller can be frustrating even when you know how to use it. Our system had to be rebooted by the staff just to get the blind to stay down.

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lexington, Kentucky
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
47 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2013 via mobile

This place is right by the airport and caters to the too-cool-for-school hipster types. But don't those people use the internet? I have stayed here at least a dozen times and quite literally the wifi in the rooms has never worked for more than 5-10 minutes at a time. If you want to work in your rooms, or talk to people on Skype, do not stay here. Or at least don't plan on doing any of it in your room.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maynooth, Ireland
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
58 hotel reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
207 helpful votes 207 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2013

Stayed here for a night during a stopover at Schiphol.

What an interesting and quirky hotel this is. The room was something to behold if a little small. It was like being is a mini spaceship with a groovy shower and toilet right in the middle of the room (see for yourself how they do this..!).

The bed was very comfy also.

The hotel is situated only a short walk from the terminal building so no need for taxi, bus, etc.

Only drawback was the breakfast which I felt was disappointing. I would choose one of the places in the airport terminal to eat in instead.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chapel Hill, North Carolina
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2013

This hotel is located at the edge of the airport. Take a right out the airport exit and follow the covered walkway to citizenM. You can take one of the airport luggage carts all the way to the hotel. As you can see from the photos, the rooms are tiny. I would not recommend this hotel if you have more than one person sharing the room. I thought it would be a fun place to try, but would not stay there again. Staff was friendly.

Room Tip: If you don't like the floor choice at the self-serve checkin, look for a staff person to help ma...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, OR
Top Contributor
178 reviews 178 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
144 helpful votes 144 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2013

The Citizen M is a very mod take, beautifully executed by some first-rate designers, on what a hotel can be in the new era. The assumption is that the travelers want quiet, high-tech rooms, with a comfortable bed, good bath facilities, excellent television in a variety of languages, and free, no-hassle wifi. Citizen M delivers. Rooms are small with free-standing glass-enclosed shower and similar toilet. A Philips control panel controls all lighting, shades, temperature, TV, etc., and it's easy to use. The bed alcove with comforter provided my best night's sleep in a month of travel. Sound isolation from other rooms is superior. Imagine a dead-quiet hotel room at an airport! Also, imagine a hotel that not only doesn't charge for wifi connections, but connects you instantly with no intervening screens of boilerplate legalese!

Everything about the place is high tech: check-in and check-out is done via computer screen, and there are terminals available in classy lounge areas if you did not bring your own. For a small additional charge--and the hotel itself is a bargain--you can add a buffet breakfast that included excellent pastries, fresh fruit and yogurt, cheeses, granola, fruit juices, and coffee (made to order). The same area provides light fare at cocktail and dinnertime. Excellent.

Maybe the best compliment I can pay is to say that I spoke with a fellow hotel guest, who was in his 60s, as am I, and we both thought it was one of the nicest and freshest experiences we'd had in traveling. He had just finished sending photos of his room to his wife.

I give this a BIG THUMBS UP!

Room Tip: Some have airport views; others look in the opposite direction. I didn't detect a particular be...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2013

Wanted a hotel walkable to the airport so booked this. There weren't any surprises except at reception. We had booked for 2 nights but only arrived in early morning so our reservation had been automatically deleted by the check-in computers. After an overnight flight, we were obliged to wait probably close to an hour for our room while they re-entered our reservation manually. I have no idea why it took so long except that there seemed to be only one computer on which they could do this. To add insult to injury, I also discovered that for 20 euros I believe, I could have got the early morning check-in without booking the night.

On to the positives: very early check-in or late check-out for only 20 euros additional? incredibly good deal but a word of caution, it's if a room is available. The room was exactly as I expected: compact with round toilet and hand sink enclosure (frosted I believe)whereby you open and close the doors. A hefty person might find the enclosure a little tight and would have to leave the doors open. The shower also has a round enclosure with an added little trick—the water does not function unless the doors are fully closed. It did happen once that the water didn't function so I simply opened the doors fully and closed them again tight. It worked. In the showere are two large pump bottles of shampoo, one or both made from tea I believe. Shampoo was great. Soap also came in a pump bottle I believe. A small soap was available for hand washing.
The bed is at one end of the small room and we had to climb into the bed from the front as there is no space on either side. One thing we found odd is that a duvet and 2 pillows were piled on the bed so we had to arrange the bed. (Perhaps this is because of the bed's configuration so that guests can arrange their own sleeping orientation.) The headboard was beneath the window which had blackout blinds but the small TV was on a side wall. (There were 2 tv channels in English: CNN & BBC- both news). A reading light was attached to a desk situated beside the bed (there was one comfortable chair for the desk). Extra pillows were in a drawer below the bed.
The bed was a little too firm for my taste but it was nice and roomy. We had two large suitcases plus small ones and we did manage to find room for them- closed and standing up. There is a small place near the entrance to hang coats. Everything: lighting, tv, room temperature, blinds is all on a remote control which is very easy to operate.
Downstairs was a 24 hour cantine with a serving counter and two long tables with stools. Each night, there are two meal options available. I had pasta and it was very good. Breakfast has hard boiled eggs available. There is also a refrigerated case with prepared meals that I guess you can heat up in the microwave right next to it. They also had sushi here.
Check-out went much more quickly for our morning flight. Another thing I really liked is they have a covered walkway to the airport so even though you're outside, you're somewhat protected from the elements. There are also luggage trolleys available right outside the hotel entrance.
In conclusion, I thought the hotel design was brilliant and aesthetically pleasing for an overnight stay. I don't think I would want to stay any longer than that though due to the rooms being so compact and basic.(I also would have appreciated signs for the hotel in the airport.) The staff were extremely welcoming and the manager, Dominic, I believe his name was, was there to help in any way he could-very hands on. The hotel was a unique experience and definitely worth trying for an overnight stay.

Room Tip: We had Room 153 with a large bed at the end of the hall near the stairwell. It was fine and quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to citizenM Schiphol Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about citizenM Schiphol Airport

Address: Jan Plezierweg 2, 1118 BB Schiphol, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Haarlemmermeer > Schiphol
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Schiphol
#1 Luxury Hotel in Schiphol
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — citizenM Schiphol Airport 4*
Number of rooms: 230
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Connected to Amsterdam Airport Schiphol, this modern budget hotel offers affordable lodging with hi-tech amenities for business and leisure travel including Wi-Fi, an LCD television, and more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotel.de, Odigeo, EasyToBook, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your citizenM Schiphol Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Citizenm Hotel Amsterdam Airport Hotel Schiphol-Rijk
CitizenM Schiphol Airport Haarlemmermeer

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage citizenM Schiphol Airport, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.