We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really neat and modern hotel!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of citizenM Schiphol Airport

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added citizenM Schiphol Airport to your Saves list
citizenM Schiphol Airport
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Jan Plezierweg 2, 1118 BB Schiphol, The Netherlands   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
15% off room rate
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Schiphol
Certificate of Excellence
Knoxville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Really neat and modern hotel!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2013

I had an overnight layover at Schipol, and decided to stay at this hotel that is super close by. There is a covered walkway with signs that lead all the way to the hotel, so it was easy to find once leaving the airport. The hotel was super modern and had a lot of cool features unlike any I had ever seen. I would definitely recommend it to anyone with a layover. The only issue I could see with the room is that it is so open that only a sheer curtain separates the view of the toilet and shower - so do not stay here with someone you don't really know! The room was pretty small, but perfect for one person or a couple on a short stay.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,780 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,606
    890
    183
    68
    33
See reviews for
232
910
592
929
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (522)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Flower Mound, Texas
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013

Pros:
Excellent location as its close to Schipol. Therefore transport connectovity is good.
excellent staff. Young and energetic. Very welcoming.
Clean and safe neighborhood.
Good ambience.
Great service.
Excellent for a business trip but not for leisure or long stays with family, wife, girlfirend, boyfriend etc.

Cons:
Need additonal options for food and cuisine chocies especially for dinner
Rooms that are a bit larger so a sot accoomodate for longer stays with more baggae etc
Claim hi speed internet connectivity but its not great. Packet drop is high.
Since everything is controlled over WIFI there are tons fo connectovity issues. For e.g. the television will not work.
As a budget friendly hotel they can reduce their price a bit or include breakfast.
Extra 11 euros for breakfast is not worth it as the options are limted and its the same spread every day.

Overall its a nice hotel.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013

The CitizenM is very self-consciously different from other hotels, but they do succeed in what they're trying to do. Check-in takes place at computer kiosks; design is sleek and minimalist; menu options are good but limited; the bed is the highlight of the room. It can be a bit off-putting to walk into a room with the toilet and shower sitting in the middle, but if you're a solo traveler looking to crash between long flights, you head right to the comfortable bed anyway. A remote control manages everything in the room, but it was silly that everything but the television worked. The lobby was quite pleasant - like a quirky bookstore cafe - and a nice place to get work done and use wifi. You'll like it if you're up for something a bit different with personality.
My one complaint was that despite being a transit hotel located just outside the airport, they do not provide the option of daytime/early arrivals, even with payment. To book my room for my 5 AM arrival, I had to book the night before and leave a note in my reservation that I would arrive on an early morning flight. However, when I arrived, I was charged a "no show" fee along with 2 nights in the hotel. That felt bogus to me, but I was too wiped to fight it.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013

Arrived here at 5pm just looking for somewhere to rest till my meeting in the morning and then head straight back home. Wonderfully friendly staff. Self service check in with the assistance of a staff member was easy. Room is fantastic. Huge bed compact room with toilet and shower pods! Everything is controlled by remote, lights, blinds tv etc. lobby provides a great atmosphere with reasonably priced food and drink. I would recommend to anyone who is on a stop over or a short business trip.

Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eindhoven, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
63 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013

Whenever I fly from (and sometimes when I arrive in) Amsterdam, I prefer to stay in this hotel.
They have the most comfy bed ever, and by using glass and light in a clever way, the small room still feels very spacious. There is good working, free wifi in all rooms, free of charge.
Downstairs is a huge area with lounge, TV, Mac's and food/bar. All modern but comfortable, and with so many chairs to choose from, everybody can find a favourite. Staff is always friendly and helpful. Check in and check out are effortless, do-it-yourself or with staff assistance. There are nice quotes everywhere that make you smile. In every room is a Citizen doll to accompany the lonely traveller.
I prefer to watch the planes, if you like this too choose airport view at check in. City view means you see WTC that is next door.

Room Tip: if you like airport view, request so at check in, and try to get a room on the 4th level.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bern, Switzerland
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013

I would recommend to ANYONE that is in couple or alone as long as you know beforehand that toilets and showers are in transparent/translucide glass :D. If this is not a problem, than just go for it. The room might be a little small but you have a huge lounge downstairs, free internet, computers, television, drinks-food 24/24, a good breakfast, etc etc. GO FOR IT !

Room Tip: all rooms are the same :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saratoga, California
Level Contributor
51 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2013

This is the great place to stay if you travel alone and have an early morning flight from Schiphol. Pros: Excellent airport location -- just 2-minute walk to the terminals. Very friendly and helpful stuff. Inexpensive. Huge comfortable bed (though it occupies half of a room). Modern design.
Cons: Extremely small and very uncomfortable rooms (though with hi-tech everywhere). Never stay here if you on a honeymoon trip, as the shower and toilet doors made of transparent glass -- no privacy at all!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Schiphol
0.2 mi away
Sheraton Amsterdam Airport Hotel and Conference Center
2.3 mi away
Steigenberger Airport Hotel Amsterdam
1.9 mi away
Hotel Ibis Amsterdam Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Ibis Budget Amsterdam Airport
0.2 mi away
Hilton Amsterdam Airport Schiphol
2.1 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel Amsterdam Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to citizenM Schiphol Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about citizenM Schiphol Airport

Address: Jan Plezierweg 2, 1118 BB Schiphol, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Haarlemmermeer > Schiphol
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Schiphol
#1 Romantic Hotel in Schiphol
#1 Luxury Hotel in Schiphol
#1 Family Hotel in Schiphol
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — citizenM Schiphol Airport 4*
Number of rooms: 230
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Connected to Amsterdam Airport Schiphol, citizenM is a 230 room modern hotel that marries affordable lodging with luxurious hi-tech amenities. Just a two minute walk from airport terminals you will skip long queues with the 1-minute self check-in/out; enjoy free Wi-Fi and free iMac access in the lobby, high pressure rain showers to beat the worst jet-lag and fine Italian linens on an XL king-size bed to sink into, free movies, 24/7 dining and cocktailing at canteenM whether you crave breakfast or a cold beer, and contemporary Vitra living room spaces for work and play. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, HotelTravel.com, Venere, Odigeo and Jetsetter so you can book your citizenM Schiphol Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Citizenm Hotel Amsterdam Airport Hotel Schiphol-Rijk
CitizenM Schiphol Airport Haarlemmermeer

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage citizenM Schiphol Airport, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.