We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A quirky and modern hotel!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of citizenM Schiphol Airport

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added citizenM Schiphol Airport to your Saves list
citizenM Schiphol Airport
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Jan Plezierweg 2, 1118 BB Schiphol, The Netherlands   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Schiphol
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“A quirky and modern hotel!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2013

I picked this hotel based on the reviews here, and because it is so close to Schiphol, and I was not disappointed! I walked here from the airport and it is easy to find and only takes minutes to get to.

When I saw my room I was really amazed. It is a really modern, clean and compact little pod but it still feels spacious. The whole hotel looks great. If I or my husband have an early flight again, then I will definitely book this hotel!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,442 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,428
    771
    157
    57
    29
See reviews for
202
804
541
807
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (455)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ottakring, Wien, Austria
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2013

I had a five days business stay in the CitizenM and it was the best stay I had in several years in Amsterdam and surrounding.
The motel is very near by the Schiphol airport, so you have lots of busses and trains to got to the business parks around or to Amsterdam city.
The motel is very modern, it has a support self check-in with very friendly young personal to help whenever needed. The interiour is stylish, yet clean and fresh, everywhere are funny or philosophic sentences :-) The bar is crowdy, but if you want to have a little rest, you can sit down in living room like quiet ereas with giant glass walls to look out.

The rooms are small and very futuristic and clean. The rain shower is luxury, the shower gels are very good, the glass tubes for the toilet and the shower are like in a spaceship :-)

One thing - the beverages are way to expensive and the waiters at the bar are way too keen to ask if you want to have another drink.
The handling anyway is very correct and transparent.

During the check-in you can choose if you want to have your room to the city side or to the airport side. If you are interested in planes and airport actions, take the airport side :-) The city side shows only a highway ramp and the far off front of another hotel - not that much to see.

I can higly recommend that motel!

Room Tip: 5th floor, airport side
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2013

We stayed one night and had a great experience. Loved the high tech features of our room, enjoyed great, reasonably-priced food in the hotel restaurant, and were very impressed with the excellent staff. Best of all, we got a great night's sleep on a very comfy bed - never heard a peep from neighboring guests or the airport! Highly recommended!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2013

For a convenient, comfortable and restful, stay yet different experience Citizen M is a good choice. Staff are very helpful and friendly and the location next to the airport and and train station worked for us during our two day stop over in Amsterdam.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nieuwegein, The Netherlands
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2013

If I were to describe the bed with only one word, it would be: cloud. Because that's what it felt like. Heavenly mattress, sheets and pillows. I've never ever enjoyed a night's sleep so much and even though it was a really short sleep because we flew so early in the morning, I woke up well rested.

Beside a great bed the views are really nice too. When you have a room at one of the higher levels and at the backside of the hotel, you can see the newly build low cost carrier gates, as well as all the planes taxiing from or to the polderbaan.

Oh and the staff's great too! Really kind bunch of people and helpful. Had a wonderful stay and wil definitely go again.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on a high floor at the backside of the building if you want to see airplanes.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Monica, California
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2013

Husband and I got stuck in Amsterdam for three nights but we felt grateful to Tripadvisor reviewers for finding this terrific hotel. Slick in the nicest possible way. The rooms (we stayed in two) are not just very well designed but are built for sleeping: huge, comfy bed, good a/c, blackout shades, great sound insulation. We had lots of baggage so being able to pile it onto a free cart at the airport and roll it along the covered walkway to the hotel was a plus. The public spaces are cool, airy and welcoming. The front-of-the-house staff, who seem to rotate among all the positions, are enjoying being hospitable. Dinner two nights was fine and the barman put together a Martini exactly to order. A stressful situation for us turned into a lot of fun.

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Wales, UK
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2013

I needed to stay at Amsterdam Airport to join an early connecting flight. This hotel was ideal it is just alongside the main terminal building, was a lot less expensive than the other options. The room was funky with the toilet and shower and bed all in one room, very functional for an overnight stay but a bit small and challenging for longer. I wouldn't recommend this hotel if you are staying with someone you do not know VERY well due to the room layout.

Nice trendy bar and a nice quiet nights sleep.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to citizenM Schiphol Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about citizenM Schiphol Airport

Address: Jan Plezierweg 2, 1118 BB Schiphol, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Haarlemmermeer > Schiphol
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Schiphol
#1 Luxury Hotel in Schiphol
#1 Romantic Hotel in Schiphol
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — citizenM Schiphol Airport 4*
Number of rooms: 230
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Connected to Amsterdam Airport Schiphol, this modern budget hotel offers affordable lodging with hi-tech amenities for business and leisure travel including Wi-Fi, an LCD television, and more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Despegar.com, Odigeo, EasyToBook, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your citizenM Schiphol Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Citizenm Hotel Amsterdam Airport Hotel Schiphol-Rijk
CitizenM Schiphol Airport Haarlemmermeer

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage citizenM Schiphol Airport, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.