We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent hotel right at airport” 5 of 5 stars
Review of citizenM Schiphol Airport

Save Saved
You added citizenM Schiphol Airport to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
citizenM Schiphol Airport
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Jan Plezierweg 2, Schiphol 1118 BB, The Netherlands   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Announcement
Become a citizen!
Ranked #1 of 6 hotels in Schiphol
Write a Review

2,210 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    1,301
    698
    138
    46
    27
See reviews for
180
742
488
732
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (397)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
The Netherlands
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

We stayed one night because the day after we were flying to Curacao. I wrote down that it was our honeymoon. I didn't expect anything because we only booked for one night but you can't blame a girl for trying. But we were suprised when we received a hand written card to congratulate us on our mariage. We received a little bowl with M&M's and 2 bags of chips with an invite to join us downstairs for 2 free cocktails to celebrate our mariage in style. I really was impressed for al the trouble for a one night stay.

This was not our first stay at citizenM we like the funky rooms with the gadgets. We will defenitly come back again!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Summit, New Jersey
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

The shower, toilet and sink is "in" the bedroom; done tastefully and, as the title says; 'perfectly'. For under 100 Euros, you simply can't beat it. In fact if you're visiting the Netherlands for the first, second or third time, and you've never stayed at the citizenM hotel at the Amsterdam Airport, you should go out of your way to do so.

A hotel that might have been designed to operate without a reception team (check-in/check-out on the lobby computers), surprise surprise the reception team are a dream come true..NOT KIDDING, everyone LOVES their job and it shows; EXTREMELY helpful in all respects. On my next visit I'm tempted to pretend that it's my first visit just to allow them to help me check in.

Everything about the citizenM hotel Amsterdam Airport, is sleek, hip, modern, now (and tomorrow), personal, inviting and inventive. Color pallet is rich and awakening. 24/7 bar and food service is amazing. Swipe your room car to pay and the bar staff responds "Thank you Steve". Just that easy.

The room (and they are all exactly the same) is such a wonderful surprise. You will not be surprised by it's size, rather, you will be truly amazed by it's design, lighting, clean lines and creative appeal. AND, that's before you pick up the remote which actually WORKS. I don't know how many hotels I've stayed at where the remote is the equivalent of a government espionage mystery, but the citizenM hotel's remote actually works; it's simple and wonderful. Controlling the TV, RADIO, LIGHTING, WINDOW SHADES, VIDEO ON DEMAND, WAKE-UP CALL; The pre-set mood lighting changes both the brightness AND the color of the lighting! ALL of the movies are free and it's very easy to navigate in 8 languages.

The citizenM hotel is a 3 minute walk from the Schiphol airport entrance and the free airport luggage carts can be used to transport all of your luggage to the hotel's lobby.

Each guest room has one large bed that's somewhere between an American Queen and King size. The bed can accommodate two adults plus a child or two.


Can't wait for citizenM hotel to open in Times Square in NYC, my friends will be staying there, even if I have to force them !!!

Room Tip: Hint: Be careful when booking on-line. There is a citizenM hotel in Amsterdam too so be careful to c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012 via mobile

If you need a trouble free overnight stay at Schipol, this is the place. Quiet, friendly and the rooms are clean and big enough. Breakfast simple continental but good enough. Very friendly and helpful staff. I'll be back!

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012

I have just stayed in this hotel for one night and was disappointed, probably down to the fact that I did not know about the concept of this hotel.
I did like that you check yourself in on a terminal in the entrance, you even load your own key. But the room is nothing more than a tiny pod, with a shower and toilet in the middle of the room and a bed at the end. The shower and toilet have a round glass which closes around them, but it takes getting used to.
If you don't mind this very simple layout and don't need any additional comforts, this might be for you. I myself missed a few things:
- room service is not available
- no minibar either, not even a bottle of water
- no space to put down my wash bag by the sink in the middle of the room
- very limited space to hang up coat, suit etc.

There is a 24 hour snack bar downstairs, but after a long journey I just wanted to get cosy in the room and have some food and drink delivered.
The other set-back was the remote control- it controls TV, window blinds, lights and temperature in the room. However, it seems to be too much electronic involved as the remote continues to freeze up when you try to change channels or volume on the TV. Might not sound like a big deal, but when you had a rough journey it's one more of those really annoying things.
In summary, I think I am not the hotel's targeted guest, and I probably like my “old-fashioned” hotels too much. The hotel was more design than substance for me, so I won't be coming back.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rotterdam, The Netherlands
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012

Very convenient hotel, beautiful and with a great staff. Rooms possible with runway-view. Handy mood pad to apply everything you need.
Every time we fly, we stay there the night before. A covered way to the airport, takes only 5 minutes walking.
A great place to stay !!!

Room Tip: Choose this hotel, you won't regret it. All the rooms are equal.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2012 via mobile

My friend and I stayed at the Citizen on the final night of our two week Europe tour. The hotel is very conveniently located next to the airport. There is a covered path which takes less than five minutes to walk.

On arrival, we were greeted by a staff person who assisted us in using the computer kiosk to check in and obtain our room key. Breakfast was offered at a "discount" rate with advance purchase and so we decided to add it to our reservation. As it turned out, the breakfast was very limited and not worth the money. It consisted of a small orange juice, muffin, and fruit. The lobby was modern and full of energy with plent of seating, workstations, and a nice TV monitor showing news and weather information. Staff were friendly enough but seemed overwhelmed at times.

We were surprised at the very small size of the room. It reminded me of being on a cruise ship and seems more appropriate for a solo traveler. By the time we put our luggage on the floor (there were no luggage racks or closets), there was barely any space to walk. The shower is enclosed by a circular glass door and there was an overhead "rain" device which was kind of neat. The sink is small and located just a couple feet from the bed. One must be careful or water will splash on the floor. There is no counter space at all which was frustrating. Internet is free but quite slow. We asked about this and were told that it must be a problem with our devices and not the connection itself... Really?!

This is probably more consistent with a 3-star property but I am giving it a higher overall rating given the convenience and low cost (approximately £100) for the stay. I would recommend it for solo travelers who plan on staying no more than one night, i.e. prior to a morning flight our of Schiphol.

Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to citizenM Schiphol Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about citizenM Schiphol Airport

Address: Jan Plezierweg 2, Schiphol 1118 BB, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Haarlemmermeer > Schiphol
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 hotels in Schiphol
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — citizenM Schiphol Airport 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Connected to Amsterdam Airport Schiphol, this modern budget hotel offers affordable lodging with hi-tech amenities for business and leisure travel including Wi-Fi, an LCD television, and more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Tingo, Sabre Hospitality Solutions , BookingOdigeoWL, EasyToBook and Venere so you can book your citizenM Schiphol Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Citizenm Hotel Amsterdam Airport Hotel Schiphol-Rijk
CitizenM Schiphol Airport Haarlemmermeer

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage citizenM Schiphol Airport, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.