We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Affordable modern hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of citizenM Schiphol Airport

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added citizenM Schiphol Airport to your Saves list
citizenM Schiphol Airport
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Jan Plezierweg 2, 1118 BB Schiphol, The Netherlands   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Schiphol
Maastricht, The Netherlands
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Affordable modern hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2011

Citizen M at Schiphol is an affordable alternative to expensive hotels in Amsterdam. We have stayed here two different times while visiting Amsterdam. It was a less expensive choice for a busy holiday Easter weekend. It's actually one of my favorite hotels that we have ever stayed in. The rooms are super clean, modern, and fun. The bed is huge and super comfy. I highly recommend it.

Some things to be aware of--

*Not in city center. 15 minute train ride to Amsterdam Central station, but trains leave airport/hotel every 20 minutes.

*Lack of privacy with toilet and shower. Toilet and shower are situated in a large glass tube. Very fun, but be comfortable with your travel partner. :)

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,439 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,426
    770
    157
    57
    29
See reviews for
202
803
541
806
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (455)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London
Top Contributor
278 reviews 278 reviews
134 hotel reviews
Reviews in 135 cities Reviews in 135 cities
198 helpful votes 198 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2011

What a cheap and cheerful business hotel should be. Rooms are small but perfectly designed and the price is often great, although this depends on supply-demand as reflected in constantly changing pricing on their website. The enormous bed is fabulous. Very quick automated check in, although friendly staff on site if assistance is needed. Three minute walk from Schiphol Airport and thus quick connections into accomodation-expensive Amsterdam. I actually stayed three nights and did some travel around the country with this as the convenient base. A warning -- the shower-toilet layout is appropriate only for singles or close couples. If you're travelling with grandma, best to chose somewhere else.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burbank, CA
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2011

This is the place to stay if you need to overnight near the Schiphol airport in Amsterdam. I stress overnight because it is not designed to be a vacation destination. It is located a very short walk outside the airport and we had no problems finding it late at night. There is a host to help you check in via computer. We had an incredible rate of 79 dollars because I booked through the internet well in advance.

The first floor is dotted with a number of open lounging areas that include high-speed Apple computers. The bar area is lively with a helpful staff. Food is available from refrigerated areas in the bar and microwaves are available. It's standard fare, but if you want more variety, it is just a short walk to the airport terminal. Breakfast is a better option at the airport.

The room is definately out of the ordinary. The shower and toilet area are in separate round tubes. Fun, but plan ahead if you are shy in front of your partner!

The bed is so comfortable....very nest-like. You control everything in the room through a portable electronic pad. We are not youngsters, so we were worried we would not figure it out. No problem, though, as it is very user friendly.

We really appreciated the convenience and value of Citizen M--after a good night's sleep, we were able to walk to our airport gate without hailing a taxi or waiting for a shuttle. Highly recommended for singles or couples that are looking for a comfortable, clean overnight near the airport--with a little fun thrown in!

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2011

Brilliant and surprising. Utterly delightful staff, inspiring design, clever concept - I will stay again

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2011

loved it for my one night stay. not like any other hotel you will find in the world

Room Tip: same cube for everyone
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, OR
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2011

I was apprehensive at first, about staying in a small room - but they have done such an amazing job with ergonomic design, that I instantly felt comfortable.

The whole experience seems to reflect the collective wisdom about hotel stays, particularly for business or transit travellers. From check-in (2 or 3 minutes, including choosing what room location I prefer) to thoughtfully designed room (great bed and shower), public spaces downstairs, etc. - it really was an amazing experience that I keeping talking about.

I want to know when they're expanding to other markets!

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rijssen, Overijssel, Netherlands
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2011

some people bring small kids and let them play in the hall way, very loud noise, I couldn't sleep. The staff solved it good, anyway

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to citizenM Schiphol Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about citizenM Schiphol Airport

Address: Jan Plezierweg 2, 1118 BB Schiphol, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Haarlemmermeer > Schiphol
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Schiphol
#1 Business Hotel in Schiphol
#1 Luxury Hotel in Schiphol
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — citizenM Schiphol Airport 4*
Number of rooms: 230
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Connected to Amsterdam Airport Schiphol, this modern budget hotel offers affordable lodging with hi-tech amenities for business and leisure travel including Wi-Fi, an LCD television, and more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Despegar.com, EasyToBook, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your citizenM Schiphol Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Citizenm Hotel Amsterdam Airport Hotel Schiphol-Rijk
CitizenM Schiphol Airport Haarlemmermeer

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage citizenM Schiphol Airport, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.