We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing time in the countryside!!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Duck Inn

Save Saved
You added The Duck Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Duck Inn
Pett Bottom Road, Pett Bottom, Canterbury CT4 5PB, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 2 Pett Bottom B&B and Inns
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Amazing time in the countryside!!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013 via mobile

We had a fantastic stay at the duck inn!! On arrival we were met by a very helpful Johnathan, showing us to our room and he made us feel very welcome and completely at home.
The room we had was the double king size room and was very spacious. It came with a lovely ensuite with a lovely jacuzzi bath jut to add to the relaxation of the weekend.
All in all the stay was fantastic the only issue being the temperature at times being a little cold but Johnathan provided us with an extra mini heater. Also a little issue with hot water as when trying to run a bath the hot water ran out quite quickly and if these two were not an issue it would have been the perfect stay, but the duck inn is a hidden gem and something I was lucky to stumble across. The food was fantastic on the first night and service fantastic. Thoroughly enjoyable and a lovely place to eat. Te second night we quite fancied something that wasn't on the menu and Johnathan was so happy to help, offering us the lunch time menu, as well as a couple of bits not on menu. The food again was exceptional and service fantastic and couldn't have asked for anymore.
Breakfast each morning was brilliant that we could hVe it when we wanted and really good. Only downside was that stock was low so couldn't have exactly what we wanted on the plate but what was there was amazing and a great start to the day. All in all the duck inn was a lovely place to spend a weekend and highly reccomendable. It's in a great location, just outside canterbury but in the beauty of the countryside and great for a lovely walk and a place to unwind. A brilliant and fantastic pub/hotel. Tom and Beth

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

27 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    14
    8
    0
    3
    2
See reviews for
4
15
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
UK
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2012

We stayed at the Duck Inn twice in January on Friday nights. Vicky and John who run the pub are brilliant hosts and looked after us like old friends. It was lovely to feel so welcome. The food is excellent whether bar meal or restaurant, they had a Burn's night theme and we were able to join in and enjoy the delicacies. The cooked breakfast is one of the best we have had with excellent bacon and sausages. We had an en-suite room which was warm and comfortable, nicely furnished and a very comfy bed. The view from the front of the pub across the fields on a crisp winter morning is hard to beat. We will definitely be going back as soon as possible.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beaconsfield
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2011

We spent a Sunday night with Jon and Vicky en route to Broome Park (and via Finchcock's Museum which is unmissable).
The accommodation is comfortable and basic - but very affordable - the owners were charming and the evening meal was excellent. The bacon at breakfast, from a local butcher was quite simply the best I've tasted in years!
They are building a new wing and knocking down the old bedrooms, so it should be even better next year.
Hogroasts are a regular feature, presumably from the same local supplier, so they should be really good.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antwerp, Belgium
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2011

not far from Canterbury (10 minutes by motorcycle) this inn has a brand new room, very kind hosts, a beautiful setting in the middle of rolling green hills, and a good restaurant. It all comes at a very reasonable price, and the 6 friends we invited for dinner were unanimously positive about the place. We plan to go back, next time the bike takes us to the UK

Room Tip: there's one room, but they plan to have other rooms available soon, we believe
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mullicub
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2010

Stayed here with 3 other couples for my Husbands 50th Birthday. The owners were so welcoming and worked really hard to make our stay special. The pub itself is in a lovely location surrounded by beautiful Kent countryside.
There are chickens in the garden which provide the eggs for the beautiful breakfast and the family dog welcomed us on arrival too.
Our meal on the Saturday night was faultless and really good value for money. The rooms were homely, clean and comfortable with nice little touches to make you feel at home.
All of our party were agreed - we would thoroughly recommend The Duck for a weekend away and we will definately revisit.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Duck Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Duck Inn

Address: Pett Bottom Road, Pett Bottom, Canterbury CT4 5PB, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Kent > Canterbury > Pett Bottom
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Pett Bottom
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The duck is a pub/restaurant with rooms in the heart of the kentish countryside. with all the mod cons you would expect and a beautiful 16 century building speeped in history including writing place of Ian Flemming. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Despegar.com and Travelocity so you can book your The Duck Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Duck Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.