We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Friendly and Helpful” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Nassauer Hof

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Nassauer Hof to your Saves list
Nassauer Hof
Bahnhofstrasse 22, 56346 Sankt Goarshausen, Rhineland-Palatinate, Germany   |  
Hotel amenities
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Very Friendly and Helpful”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2011

We arranged to stay at the hotel as we were attending the night of the prog festival in nearby Loreley. Although when my wife and I arrived there was no one in attendance when we called the owners very quickly allowed us entry. We found Ruth to be very helpful and she immediately gave us a local map. There is also a large number of leaflets just inside the entrance. We had a room on the top floor with a shared shower room and kitchenette. We were able to come and go as we pleased as we had keys both to our room and the front door. It is true the railway line is adjacent to the hotel but you do get used to it very quickly and neither of us were unduly disturbed. There is a local supermaket very close by and St Goar is literally a short ferry ride across the Rhine. Breakfast as stated is Continental but hey we were in Germany and I would much rather that than find "fine English cuisine!!!" The only area of disappointment was the fact the restaurant within the hotel was closed throughout our 3 day stay owing to the lack of people wishing to eat. However it is a hotel we would not hesitate to use again when seeing bands at the ampitheater

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

14 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2
    8
    4
    0
    0
See reviews for
5
5
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
England
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2010

Was here to see the music festival with my 12 year old daughter but intended to do some sightseeing as well, We arrived at 14:00 and were taken to a clean spacious room with a small ensuite shower. The welcome was very warm and friendly.
As has been pointed out in other reviews - the railway line does run next to the hotel and will provide an alarm call at about 07:00 but to be honest we didn't really notice it after a while and it in no way affected our sleep.
Our host recommended a fantastic trip by boat up to Assenheim and then cross country for 30 minutes via 2 cable cars before returning on the cruise from Rudesheim - it was the highlight of our break with breathtaking views, St Goarhausen is all but shut by early Sept so be prepared to cross on the ferry ( 90 seconds or so ) to St Goar for souvenir shopping and possibly an evening meal as well as taking the tourist train to the castle and seeing the worlds larget free hanging cuckoo clock.
We had a great time using the German train system coming from Frankfurt and all could not have run smoother and the tourist boats were good value as well.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Dallas, Texas
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2010

I spent a couple of days at the Rhine river to attend the Xavier Naidoo concert and to go on extensive hiking trips.
The hotel is conveniently located in the heart of St. Goarshausen with easy access to trains, busses, ferries, restaurants, etc.
The hotel offers everything you want out of a hiker's place: great hospitality, spacious rooms, hot showers, great breakfast and a little kitchenette.
I agree with the other comments in that the trains are definitely there, and if you are not prepared, you WILL hear them. I used ear plugs at night, and had not problem sleeping - even with a massive jetlag (flew in directly from Dallas, Texas). I was very grateful for being able to use the owner's computer and telephone to send messages back home since my iPhone was not the most economic way to communicate.
All in all, I recommend this hotel if you are looking for a friendly roof over your head with basic ammenities.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
edinburgh
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2010

Stayed in this hotel in July 2010. It is centrally located however the town of Sankt Goarshausen is very small. A car/foot ferry takes you across the Rhine to the busier town of St Goar. The hotel itself appears to be used mainly by hikers/walkers who will use it as a 1 or 2 night stayover. We stayed in the hotel for 4 nights on a bed and breakfast basis. We eventually received a very warm welcome from the owner although we arrived about 2pm but did not get access until 4pm. A key is provided that gives access to your room and also the front door of the hotel so there is no problem with coming and going at any time. Our room was a fairly large twin with a shower room. Again we found both very clean and tidy with towels provided and changed when required. The breakfast was the usual continental with cereals, bread, bread rolls, meats, c heeses and jams. It was plentiful. The hotel itself isquite small but pleasant. The only downside to the rooms is that the hotel sits adjacent to a busy train line and the noise is very loud and will awaken you early mornings although we did get used to it.
The owner was extremely helpful and gave us plenty information regarding the surrounding area, which is beautiful.
We did use the hotel for an eveing meal on two occasions and found the food to be excellent value and tasty. It appeared that locals also used it so that must say something. It was also very reasonably priced.
All in all a pleasant stay apart from the noise of the railway.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Nassauer Hof? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nassauer Hof

Address: Bahnhofstrasse 22, 56346 Sankt Goarshausen, Rhineland-Palatinate, Germany
Location: Germany > Rhineland-Palatinate > Sankt Goarshausen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Sankt Goarshausen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Nassauer Hof reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Nassauer Hof, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.