We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Everything was first rate!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Queen Charlotte Safaris

Queen Charlotte Safaris
Queen Charlotte Safaris
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Haida Gwaii (Queen Charlotte Islands)
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Queen Charlotte Safaris
Box 160 535 Beach Rd | Sandspit, British Columbia BC V0T 1T0, Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
Kamloops, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Everything was first rate!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2012

I feel I must write a review after my second trip to QCL, just in case last year's experience was an anomoly. However, after visiting again this year I am pleased to report another great experience. These folks have invested in a very thoughtfull process to enhance your experience in every way. This includes great fishing tackle, great boats and premium service on and off the water. We went unguided but still received amazing on the water support for bait restocking, equipment malfunctions etc. The only complaint - is some of the rooms are separated by log walls that have zero sound insulation. On my first trip my buddies were next door so it did not matter. On the last trip were some younger party types who annoyed us. If the partition walls were sound proofed to any degree, it would not have been an issue.

Room Tip: Don't choose of the rooms with a log wall partition. You will hear every word spoken in the next...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    2
    2
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
1
1
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
GA
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2012

This is a great adventure for a group of guys (a few gals were there). The fishing is great, the guides are great, food was great and the hospitality was fantastic. This is a dream trip for a dad and their boys. Rooms are basic, with a queen and a full or three full beds. You'll only be there to sleep, so no biggie. This is a first class operation. I cannot say enough about this place!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spokane
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2009

Valerie is a great hostess and Joe is a fantastic cook. Our meals there were absolutely wonderful. the staff and skippers are true wizards when it comes to knowing where to fish for the big ones and what lures to use.
My brother and I went there to celebrate our birthdays ( his 70th my 60th). We came home with about 80 pounds of salmon each plus many many pounds of bottom fish (halibut, cod).
My brother and I are planning a return trip as soon as we can.

  • Stayed July 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Niagara
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2006

Queen Charlotte Safaris is one of the few charter boat fishing lodges that caters to the wife that wants to travel with her husband but doesn't want to spend the whole day in a boat reeling in huge salmon.
Valerie, the owner , got me a low rate for a rental car and gave me 2 ferry passes so that I could tour the Queen Charlotte Islands and look at Haida totem poles and beautiful rain forrest scenery with ocean views.
We took home 80 lbs. of salmon etc.
This is a brand new lodge, located across the road from the marina in the town of Sandspit.
Food was excellent.
Most of the guests were repeat visitors.
We hope to return.
Donna

  • Liked — friendly, excellent fishing, good food
  • Disliked — very new,extras will be added next year
  • Tips/Secrets — book early
  • Stayed August 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Queen Charlotte Safaris? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Queen Charlotte Safaris

Address: Box 160 535 Beach Rd | Sandspit, British Columbia BC V0T 1T0, Canada
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Haida Gwaii (Queen Charlotte Islands)
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 20 Specialty lodging in Haida Gwaii (Queen Charlotte Islands)

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Queen Charlotte Safaris, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Queen Charlotte Safaris to your Saves list