We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“a wonderful place” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Lodge at Hippa Island (Westcoast Resorts)

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Haida Gwaii (Queen Charlotte Islands)
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Lodge at Hippa Island (Westcoast Resorts)
Hippa Island, British Columbia V6X1X5, Canada   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Announcement
ALMOST SOLD OUT FOR 2014!
Victoria, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“a wonderful place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2014

What a place ! A magnificent site. The fishing was exceptional, the accommodation very nice, the food was very good, and the service absolutely perfect.
We were treated like kings. You can tell this place is run by a true professional
I am sure we will be back next year.
Merci Pierre pour un sejour memorable
Dominique Chapheau

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

22 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    20
    2
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
3
4
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
South Riding, Virginia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2014

My husband has been on several trips like this with another company. He finally convinced me to go. My idea of a couples trip usually includes a beach with drinks served in coconuts with little umbrellas. What had he gotten me into?

From the moment we arrived, the staff did everything they could to make us all comfortable. The helicopter flight was a 1st for me and very exciting! Our bags were delivered to our rooms quickly and we got dressed for fishing. Chuma was our guide and did a great job of showing us the ropes and making me feel like it was ok that I didn't have a clue about salmon fishing. The fact that our trip was 1/2 guided was great. The gear was a little different than my husband had use previously and Chuma knew right where to go to catch lots of fish, which afterall, was the point of the trip! Then when we were on our own it gave us an opportunity to prove to each other that we had learned how to drop the gear and catch the fish.

The ride out to the fishing area was about 30 minutes - not bad. The scenery was amazing - I have never seen so many Bald Eagles in one place in my life! We loved the lunch service. They actually delivered a hot lunch to us on the water each day. That was so cool. It was like a drive thru 5 star resturant - hot sandwich, hot soup, drinks, snacks - whatever you wanted. Yum!

The facilities at the Lodge were 1st class (and did I mention we had to helicopter to get there?). The meals were plentiful and so delicious! The service from everyone on board was over the top. The staff is truly there to serve. The hot tub felt great after being out on the water all day and helped loosen some of the sore muscles. And while the trip is expensive, when you factor in everything you get - charter flight, helicopter ride, 1st Class Lodge, AND ALL THAT FISH...it's definitely worth it!!

Definitely a trip worth taking!!

Room Tip: Given the option, I think I'd select a room upstairs on the back side of the lodge - away from t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Alberta, Canada
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2013

Hippa is the best!!!! I have been fishing the on the West side of Haida Gwaii for 11 years and the fishing continues to astound me. The Hippa Island lodge is located in the ideal location. No other location offers the quantity of Salmon and the consistency. West Coast Resorts has fine tuned the trip and continues to prove an exceptional experience. Our trip had 36 quests, we estimate that we caught and released over 50,000 lbs of Salmon in 2.5 days!!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Valencia, Spain
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013

After years of procrastination, I finally made my way up to the Queen Charlotte's to experience everything I've heard and was I happy I did. Relying on feedback of friends, I trolled multiple sites for last minute deals and ended up with Hippa Lodge because of the stunning visual their website provided. I was not disappointed.
From the booking experience with Lisa and co, to reception with Pierre and his team, to the final send off, everything was top shelf. We had a newbie guide (Doug) who did a great job in getting us around and we were lucky to have his local insight on the area. Plenty of belly laughs and never mind the fishing!! Pierre was also kind enough to take us out one morning and what an experience we enjoyed with his obvious passion for fishing.
Outstanding trip and I'm already checking the calendar for when we should be headed back next year.
Highly recommended for an overall experience. Looking forward to returning.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mill Creek, Washington
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2013

This is my 9th trip to Haida Gwaii, 2nd trip to WCR Hippa Island Lodge. It was one of best fishing trip ever for me. With the great weather, my party limited on every species of fish, King Salmon, Lingcod, Yelloweye, and Halibut and we also saw the beauty of the scenery which we did not see on previous trip. We brought home over 300 lbs of fish between my brother and I. Rooms, food, fishing equipment, and guide, everything is top notch at Hippa Island Lodge. It has been less than a week since I came back from the trip, but I am already looking forward to next year.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tacoma, Washington
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2013

This was our first trip to Hippa Island and it exeeded anything we have experienced in our 20 years of fishing on the North Coast. Pierre and his crew were watchful to every need and interacted with everyone every evening. Accomodatiuons were excellent but the ear plugs came in handy at night. After all it is a remote location and power comes from a generator.
Fishing was absoulutely OFF THE HOOK. Again the best trip for fish in 20 years also! We have stayed at QCL, Oak Bay Marribel, Charolette Queen and King Salmon, Ole's Hakai Pass, Rivers Inlet Resort to mention a few and this was hands down the best overall! Our instructor C B (Jason) pointed us in the right direction. The weather was outstanding and sea conditions were great. The open ocean fishing may not be for all but for us it's where it's at. We limited on most evrything and had 3 tyees in our 8 Chinook. Can't re-book soon enough!! Thank you.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2013

I just returned from Hippa Lodge June 23-26 booking. Wow, what an experience. The fishing, the guides, scenery, food and accommodations are first class all the way! Pierre and his staff run a tight ship. If you want an unbeatable fishing trip, you can't go wrong with West Coast Resorts Hippa Lodge.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Lodge at Hippa Island (Westcoast Resorts)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lodge at Hippa Island (Westcoast Resorts)

Address: Hippa Island, British Columbia V6X1X5, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Haida Gwaii (Queen Charlotte Islands)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 20 Specialty lodging in Haida Gwaii (Queen Charlotte Islands)
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The flagship of Westcoast Resorts is the Lodge at Hippa Island. This stunning floating facility accommodates a very comfortable 36 guests. The lodge’s luxurious features, breath-taking surroundings and thrilling fishing make it a perfect choice for even the most discriminating angler looking for the adventure of a life-time! The exclusive area produces huge chinook ranging from 30 to 50+ lbs, as well as sizeable coho, halibut and bottomfish. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Lodge at Hippa Island (Westcoast Resorts), register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added The Lodge at Hippa Island (Westcoast Resorts) to your Saves list