We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Trip #11 2013” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Lodge at Hippa Island (Westcoast Resorts)

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Haida Gwaii (Queen Charlotte Islands)
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Lodge at Hippa Island (Westcoast Resorts)
Save
You added The Lodge at Hippa Island (Westcoast Resorts) to your Saves list
Hippa Island, British Columbia V6X1X5, Canada   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Exclusive for New Guests!
Tacoma, Washington
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Trip #11 2013”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2013

This was our first trip to Hippa Island and it exeeded anything we have experienced in our 20 years of fishing on the North Coast. Pierre and his crew were watchful to every need and interacted with everyone every evening. Accomodatiuons were excellent but the ear plugs came in handy at night. After all it is a remote location and power comes from a generator.
Fishing was absoulutely OFF THE HOOK. Again the best trip for fish in 20 years also! We have stayed at QCL, Oak Bay Marribel, Charolette Queen and King Salmon, Ole's Hakai Pass, Rivers Inlet Resort to mention a few and this was hands down the best overall! Our instructor C B (Jason) pointed us in the right direction. The weather was outstanding and sea conditions were great. The open ocean fishing may not be for all but for us it's where it's at. We limited on most evrything and had 3 tyees in our 8 Chinook. Can't re-book soon enough!! Thank you.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

24 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    21
    3
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
4
4
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2013

I just returned from Hippa Lodge June 23-26 booking. Wow, what an experience. The fishing, the guides, scenery, food and accommodations are first class all the way! Pierre and his staff run a tight ship. If you want an unbeatable fishing trip, you can't go wrong with West Coast Resorts Hippa Lodge.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Albert, Alberta, Canada
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

This was my fifth or sixth trip to Hippa Island Lodge (WCR). Tenth year in the Gwaii.

Travelled June 9-12.

Definitely a step up from last year. Pierre and his team have stepped it up and brought the lodge back to what it was the first time I went. Last years trip was a bit of a gongshow, but lets block that out.

Got nearly all my limits filled. Got my halis, last year got one small 8# cause guide didn't like fishing.

This year had Chico, excellent guide and true gent on the water (Harry).

Great meals, great staff, great fishing.

Still a few things to work on, like there always is no matter where you go. But no complaints, and if you like to fish, I highly recommend.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sherwood Park, Canada
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

This was my third trip to Hippa and I think this is one of the most incredible parts of the world.
We went on the last trip of the year and they ran out of a few things and our guide was not exactly motivated, we had better luck without him. Everything about West Coast has been first class in the past and it was a little dissapointing. The fishing is truly like nowhere else I have been in the world and the wildlife is incredible. We are willing to give them another try, we commented on the short commings in our comment cards and will see what happens.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shawna M, Public Relations Manager at The Lodge at Hippa Island (Westcoast Resorts), responded to this review, October 29, 2012
Sorry to hear that this season's experience was not up to our usual standards, but we really appreciate your feedback! We'd really like to make sure that your next WCR stay is the best one yet, so we'll be sure to have one of our reps follow up with you as soon as possible.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Firestone, Colorado, United States
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2012

This was my third trip to Hippa and it was wonderful. This is also the third West Coast Lodge that I have visitied and by far my favorite. Fishing is just a short ride out and the variety of fishing is what keeps brining me back. Fishing was excellent, food was awesome and the guide (Nubbs) was the best. My son and I can't wait until next year!

Wayne R.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2012

Most amazing trip i have ever taken. the fishing was unreal, the lodge was first class and the staff are what really make this a memorable experience. I would highly recommend Hippa to anyone. The food was way way better than I imagined it would be, and I already thought it would be pretty good. It truly is a trip of a lifetime.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2012

WOW! One of my most memorable trips ever! First time fishing on open water and first class guide (thanks Brock!) All the guests caught tons of variety of fishes and we all had a blast! The whole entire staff made the trip 1st class! what a great fun, friendly, helpful bunch of group! Food was superb! And lots of wildlife to see everyday. Would go back again in a heartbeat! Thanks Hippa gang for a great time!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Lodge at Hippa Island (Westcoast Resorts)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lodge at Hippa Island (Westcoast Resorts)

Address: Hippa Island, British Columbia V6X1X5, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Haida Gwaii (Queen Charlotte Islands)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 21 Specialty Lodging in Haida Gwaii (Queen Charlotte Islands)
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The flagship of Westcoast Resorts is the Lodge at Hippa Island. This stunning floating facility accommodates a very comfortable 36 guests. The lodge’s luxurious features, breath-taking surroundings and thrilling fishing make it a perfect choice for even the most discriminating angler looking for the adventure of a life-time! The exclusive area produces huge chinook ranging from 30 to 50+ lbs, as well as sizeable coho, halibut and bottomfish. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Lodge at Hippa Island (Westcoast Resorts), register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.