We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Time of my life” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Lodge at Hippa Island (Westcoast Resorts)

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Haida Gwaii (Queen Charlotte Islands)
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Lodge at Hippa Island (Westcoast Resorts)
Save
You added The Lodge at Hippa Island (Westcoast Resorts) to your Saves list
Hippa Island, British Columbia V6X1X5, Canada   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Upgrade to a 24' Boat!
Bristol, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Time of my life”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2012

Most amazing trip i have ever taken. the fishing was unreal, the lodge was first class and the staff are what really make this a memorable experience. I would highly recommend Hippa to anyone. The food was way way better than I imagined it would be, and I already thought it would be pretty good. It truly is a trip of a lifetime.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

24 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    21
    3
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
4
4
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2012

WOW! One of my most memorable trips ever! First time fishing on open water and first class guide (thanks Brock!) All the guests caught tons of variety of fishes and we all had a blast! The whole entire staff made the trip 1st class! what a great fun, friendly, helpful bunch of group! Food was superb! And lots of wildlife to see everyday. Would go back again in a heartbeat! Thanks Hippa gang for a great time!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort McMurray, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2012

I can't say enough about hippa lodge. The chopper ride was awsome lots of scenery. The staff, service, and food is second to none and the guides and fishing are awesome. I have fished all over Canada and this is the best fishing I have ever seen.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey, BC
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2012

Facility is awesome; the fishing was superb; food was the highest caliber (the rack of lamb was better than anything I ever had in New Zealand) and the staff were truly special. Haida Gwaii (Queen Charlotte Islands) is like no other place on the planet. Nature and Home all rolled up into one.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Squamish, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2012

My highlights:
- Private charter plane to the Haida Gwaii
- 30 min helicopter ride to Hippa
- Daily sighings of humpbacks and orca's
- 5 star dining and hospitality
- unbelievable fishing!!
I maxed out on my Chinook, Halibut, Ling cod and rock fish.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mill Creek, Washington
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2012

Hippa Island Lodge was 1st class in all aspect. From accomodation and food to fishing, it was better than any other lodges I been to. During my stay, wind was constantly blowing 25-35 knots, but it was non stop salmon hookups. Being a hotel owner myself, the lodge was nothing short of spectacular.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Lodge at Hippa Island (Westcoast Resorts)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lodge at Hippa Island (Westcoast Resorts)

Address: Hippa Island, British Columbia V6X1X5, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Haida Gwaii (Queen Charlotte Islands)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 20 Specialty Lodging in Haida Gwaii (Queen Charlotte Islands)
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The flagship of Westcoast Resorts is the Lodge at Hippa Island. This stunning floating facility accommodates a very comfortable 36 guests. The lodge’s luxurious features, breath-taking surroundings and thrilling fishing make it a perfect choice for even the most discriminating angler looking for the adventure of a life-time! The exclusive area produces huge chinook ranging from 30 to 50+ lbs, as well as sizeable coho, halibut and bottomfish. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Lodge at Hippa Island (Westcoast Resorts), register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.