We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just keeps getting better” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Bennett Bay Bistro

Bennett Bay Bistro
494 Arbutus Drive | At Mayne Island Resort, British Columbia, Canada
+1 250-539-3122
Website
Improve this listing
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $5 - $24
Cuisines: Contemporary, Bistro
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Reservations
BC
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Just keeps getting better”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013

Things definitely got off to a rocky start, but the Bistro has really hit it's stride. Their new menu is great with a ton of really good options, the staff is super nice and the food tastes great. If you haven't been in recently, check it out, it's worth it!

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

70 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    29
    27
    8
    5
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Canada
Top Contributor
297 reviews 297 reviews
184 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 95 cities Reviews in 95 cities
313 helpful votes 313 helpful votes
“absolutely delicious food and beautiful views”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

The food is presented so well and is delicious.
the service is fantastic. the owner Colleen is fabulous and helped me host a great 80th bday party for my dad. She baked a delicious cake, provided amazing service and the food the chef cooked was fantastic! everyone loved their dishes. Even the salad bar was delicious! the dressings and accompaniments were fresh and so tasty!
The views here are stunning right over bennett bay. the ambience is warm and open and is definitely the nicest restaurant on Mayne Island I've been to. I'd like to come back and stay here longer and try the resort next time. I'll definitely come back with friends to this restaurant again.
It looks like it could be really great for romantic or special occasions too.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bennett_Bay_Bistro, Owner at Bennett Bay Bistro, responded to this review, February 28, 2013
Thank you so much for coming. We enjoyed being a part of your special birthday celebration and look forward to seeing you again.

Warm Regards,

Dave
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver Island, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great food and service!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2012

Loved the food especially the Salad Bar!!! Service was outstanding!! Highly recommend and will be back!!!

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Penticton, Canada
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Huge Patio over looking Bennett Bay ! :)”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2012

Food was good, so was the service ! View is to die for ! Took a walk on the huge private wharf, and the public beach just a short walk away. People were so nice and helpful, I will return. :)

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bennett_Bay_Bistro, Owner at Bennett Bay Bistro, responded to this review, February 28, 2013
Thank you so much for your kind words. We strive to provide the best service, atmosphere and food among the gulf islands and are happy you had a wonderful time! We look forward to seeing you again!

Best Wishes,

Dave & Colleen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
2 reviews
“Delicious crepes, amazing buffet dinner!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

Colleen was fabulous at hosting our wedding - not only the dinner (which was delicious, roast beef, mashed potatoes, beans, roasted root veggies and salad) but also a crepe breakfast for 80 of our closest friends and family. Though the Bistro doesn't usually cater to such large groups they were really flexible and so easy to work with. Delicious, reasonably priced, and nice, you couldn't ask for anything more!

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bennett_Bay_Bistro, Owner at Bennett Bay Bistro, responded to this review, February 28, 2013
Hi Jen,

I know it's a bit late but I just wanted to say thank you for the great review. You, your friends and family are what made this day so fantastic. We couldn't have pulled it off without all your help. I hope the New Year has continued to bring you wedded bliss.

All the best,

Colleen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bennett Bay Bistro also viewed

Mayne Island, British Columbia
Mayne Island, British Columbia
 
Mayne Island, British Columbia
Mayne Island, British Columbia
 

Been to Bennett Bay Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bennett Bay Bistro, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.