We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Green House Bar and Grill

The Green House Bar and Grill
454 Village Bay Road, British Columbia, Canada
250-539-3056
Website
Improve this listing
Cuisines: Contemporary
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations
Vancouver, Canada
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Good food!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2012

This appears to be a favourite of the locals! We had the penne with salmon and the local mussels. They were delicous. The creme brulee and the apple crumble also rounded off the meals well.

Visited March 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

20 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    9
    8
    0
    1
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Great fresh food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2012

I've been here a couple of times and it definitely has the tastiest, freshest, simplest dinner on the island over the last two years. I have had 3 really tasty meals over the last year and a half. The last two times we had the roast beef dinner and very happily ate every bite.

If you are to come here I would try any seafood/clam chowder that they have on the menu. It was extraordinary.

The beer, wine and food are all very reasonably priced. The owners are funny, happy and provide just the right amount of service. I would recommend this place every time.

  • Visited March 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Super cozy place with great food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2012

A very nice spot for lunch, located in Miner's Bay on Mayne Island. One of the few restaurants open for lunch and dinner during the off season. We were hosted by one of the owners, and got friendly quality service. We went for lunch, and were not disappointed. Food quality was very good, chicken burger excellent, but try the "fish & chips", better described as salmon & chips....outstanding! Beer on tap, with local B.C. brews by the pint available, and a nice choice of wines by the glass too. Homemade desserts (apple pie) was available for dinner, so we missed it this time.

  • Visited February 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spokane, WA, USA
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“What a great experience!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2011

Our group of ten decided to have dinner at The Green House Bar and Grill following a disastrous meal at The Springwater Lodge two evenings earlier. Although it does not have the same spectacular view, the service, atmosphere and food definitely made up for it. In fact, it left us feeling as though we had hit the jackpot. Our server was efficient, attentive without being obtrusive, and professionally friendly. The menu was varied enough to appeal to all of our differing food interests. The meals, made from mostly fresh ingredients, looked appealing and tasted delicious. The owners (Gerry and Doug?) checked in on us and made sure that everyone was well taken care of. We all agreed that we would highly recommend The Green House to anyone visiting Mayne Island.

  • Visited September 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Green House Bar and Grill also viewed

Mayne Island, British Columbia
Mayne Island, British Columbia
 
Mayne Island, British Columbia
Mayne Island, British Columbia
 

Been to The Green House Bar and Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Green House Bar and Grill, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.