We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Homey Paradise” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Firesign Art and Design

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Firesign Art and Design to your Saves list
Firesign Art and Design
730 Smith Road #265 | Quathiaski Cove, British Columbia V0P1N0, Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 11 Quadra Island B&B and Inns
San Francisco, California
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“A Homey Paradise”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2013

We only stayed one night at Firesign Art & Design on Quadra Island, but we had a wonderful time and can't wait to come back.
Quadra itself is a forested bit of paradise, so quiet and peaceful!

Firesign Art & Design is the home of the hosts, Tracy and Nancy. Guests stay downstairs in a suite of three bedrooms with a living room and small kitchen, but fortunately, you can rent as few beds as you like. I just loved the flexibility AND the privacy.

The rooms all have charming personal decorative touches. The room I slept in had a beautiful birdseye maple armoire that I admired. The room my children stayed in had adorable decorative pillows on the beds and much more. We were also provided with water pitchers and glasses and Lindor truffles in each room. As I often need water in the middle of the night, this was a surprisingly thoughtful touch I've seen nowhere else.

The house is built in a beautiful clearing in the woods with flower gardens and several outbuildings, including the one where the gallery was housed, which is the hosts' former home. Tracy took us on a tour of the gallery, which features Nancy's paintings and Tracy's handmade cigar-box guitars. He even played a blues riff on one of his guitars and told us the story of how he got into guitar-making.

Firesign is the home of two super-fluffy cats, Jasper and Scrappy (I think?). They're a little standoffish but very entertaining and adorable.

The food was marvelous. The coffee is roasted locally and comes in a bag with a design created by Nancy. Delicious, too! Nancy made us fruit plates, local smoked salmon, and spelt blueberry pancakes with real maple syrup. Oh...my...goodness. Everything was excellent.

Tracy and Nancy were both very kind and welcoming. We felt very much at home and relaxed in this beautiful island paradise.

You won't be sorry you went!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
firesignart, Owner at Firesign Art and Design, responded to this review, July 15, 2013
Thank you for the glowing review, Barbara. We enjoyed your visit-glad to know you appreciated our home and hospitality! Hope you see you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

15 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    10
    5
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
1
8
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Quebec, Quebec, Canada
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013

Quadra Island it's a beautiful place ! Nanci and Tracy are very friendly !! Great accommodation, healthful culinary expertise was displayed at every breakfast. Lots of attention to detail shown in the suite. Friendly hostess who was very informative regarding places to dine and what the area had to offer for things to do. Lots of hiking and art studios. thank you Nanci and Travis !

Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
firesignart, Owner at Firesign Art and Design, responded to this review, July 4, 2013
Thank you for your wonderful review--we enjoy introducing the island to our guests! So glad you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again sometime soon!
Nanci
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berkeley, CA
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2011

It was comfortable, homey, creative, yummy... And above all, Nanci and Tracy were such generous hosts. By the time I left I felt like family.
I took some painting lessons from Nanci and after about 40 years of trying out just about every art/craft *but* painting, was able to produce a painting - that I like!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Duncan, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2011

My first experience with staying at a B & B couldn't have been better. Great accommodation, healthful culinary expertise was displayed at every breakfast. Lots of attention to detail shown in the suite. Friendly hostess who was very informative regarding places to dine and what the area had to offer for things to do. Lots of hiking and art studios. There wasn't anything I didn't like about staying here. A "home away from home" in every sense.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
firesignart, Owner at Firesign Art and Design, responded to this review, August 8, 2011
Thanks for your great review. We enjoyed having you as our guests and hope you come back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington State
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2011

We enjoyed Firesign B&B's hospitality while taking a five day Acrylic painting workshop. Our accommodations were comfortable and homey. The common area shared by the 3 guest rooms met our needs w/ TV, fridge and Microwave and a place to relax. Nanci is a great cook, we enjoyed excellent healthy breakfasts and lunches (lunch was included in the workshop). The workshop was first class, I really enjoyed studying under Norma Jackson. If you are looking for an opportunity to focus on painting with close personal attention from your art teacher, I highly recommend one of her workshops. Quadra Island is a beautiful getaway in itself, abundant in outdoor activities. The Firesign B & B is just a few miles from the ferry dock which takes you to the city of Campbell River.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2010

Stayed there for a 5 day painting workshop, could even paint all night if I wanted to in the studio. The workshop was very well done, with outdoor painting as well as some in the studio, with great lunches included. A very quiet, beautiful location with deer visiting the front yard.
Nanci and Tracy were very helpful in making everyone feel at home. My spouse arrived on Friday night and we spent the weekend exploring Quadra Island and further enjoying the great hospitality and breakfasts at the B&B. A wonderful experience at a reasonable cost ! - we'll be back for sure!!

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ladysmith B.C.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2010

We stayed in "off season" so, we were spoiled, had the entire B & B all to ourselves.
Nanci was a great host, full of information. Good breakfasts. Great location, central to everything. Very nicely appointed, great place for a group to share the family room and kitchen etc.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
firesignart, Owner at Firesign Art and Design, responded to this review, June 12, 2010
Thanks for your wonderful comments! We really enjoyed getting to know you and love your organic, free range eggs!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Firesign Art and Design? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Firesign Art and Design

Address: 730 Smith Road #265 | Quathiaski Cove, British Columbia V0P1N0, Canada
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Quadra Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Quadra Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 1
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Firesign Art & Design B&B Guest Suite offers comfortable and quiet accommodations on forested acreage on beautiful Quadra Island, BC, off the east coast of Vancouver Island. Beautifully finished and furnished, Firesign has separate entrance, kitchenette and living room for guests. Meet the owners Nanci Cook and Tracy Tomlinson and learn about things to do and see. B&B Guest suite with 3 bedrooms-use one or all 3. Original Paintings by Nanci Cook, also offering classes, art retreats. Tourism BC approved. Check out Tracy's handcrafted cigar box guitars. Participants in the year-round Quadra Island Studio Tour. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Firesign Art and Design reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Firesign Art and Design, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.