We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Getaway” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Taku Resort and Marina

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Quadra Island
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Taku Resort and Marina
Save
You added Taku Resort and Marina to your Saves list
616 Taku Rd., British Columbia V0P 1H0, Canada   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Quadra Island
Vancouver Island, Canada
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
79 helpful votes 79 helpful votes
“Fantastic Getaway”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2012

My wife and I just returned from a 3 night get away to Quadra Island. We took our boat & stayed at one of the A Frame cabins on the waterfront. I/We've been to many places on both coasts of Vancouver Island, but the combination of a good location, comfortable accommodation and spectacular scenery made this the best yet. Even though it is early season, everything around the lodge was in shape and ready to go. The cabin was well equipped and extremely comfortable and the view from the deck out to Desolation Sound / Bute Inlet was amazing.

We launched our 20' fishing boat at the Lodge ramp (mid and higher tide a requirement) and moored it on the Lodge float a couple of minutes walk from our cabin. We were lucky to have fantastic weather and used the boat to travel throughout Desolation Sound, Toba and Bute Inlets putting on some 500 km of running while there. The scenery was beyond description. I only fished one night, but still managed a v good Chinook less than 10 minutes from the Lodge dock that tasted wonderful off the BBQ on the cottage deck. I should have put the kayak (even the canoe would have been fine) on the truck as well as the waters around the lodge are perfect for paddling with Rebecca Spit Marine park in front of the lodge providing both protection and great paddling water.

The location is only a 10 minute walk to a grocery store (with Liquor outlet for those inclined) so stocking up is easy. There is no restaurant at the lodge, but the Heriot Bay Inn is also only a 10 minute walk away and the dinner we had on our arrival day was very good. They have a nice deck that is a great spot to sit and enjoy a drink or meal.

If you have no boat, there is no lack of things to do. Great hiking & cycling is to be had on Quadra and the ferry to Cortes Island leaves from Heriot Bay, right next to the restaurant so it would bean easy day trip to hike or cycle there as well. The lodge has Lasers and canoes to rent and there is a kayak outfit that operates from the adjacent beach as well.

All in all, highly recommended as a place to go and unwind.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
takuresort, Owner at Taku Resort and Marina, responded to this review, January 21, 2013
Hello,

You sound like you're a well traveled Vancouver Islander, which makes your review all the more rewarding! It's always great to pull in a fish. This summer 3 halibut were brought into our marina and unofficially we had the biggest salmon brought in at 33lbs.

Thank you for taking the time to write this review as it helped us be awarded a Travelers' Choice 2013 award as Top 25 Bargain Hotels in Canada.

Sincerely,
Elizabeth Wong
www.takuresort.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

54 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    37
    12
    4
    1
    0
See reviews for
17
21
Solo
0
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Palo Alto, CA
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2012

It was a our first visit to Quadra Island and selected Taku Resort after reviewing various online reviews, and we were delighted with our selection. We stayed in the Beach House, which has 2 bedrooms with a fully equipped kitchen. We prepared most of our meals at the cabin. We lingered over our morning coffee looking at the magnificent view of the marina, Rebecca Spit, and the mountains in the distance. From the table we spied eagles soaring in the sky, Great Blue Herons haunched on the logs of the dock searching for their next meal, and minks scurrying along the rocky shore and swimming in the lagoon. If you are interested in kayaking, it worth driving north to Coast Mountain Expeditions (CME), where there is much more scenic variety and choices of day trips than if one rented kayaks locally at Quadra Kayaks. CME is close to Surge Narrows and the B.C. Marine Park, where you can view a large variety of marine life from your kayak if you go out during the ebb or low tide. The near by Heriot Bay Inn restaurant had the best food we found on the island.

Room Tip: Two couples rented the Beach House, which sits just above the Marina with a magnificent view of Rebe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
takuresort, Owner at Taku Resort and Marina, responded to this review, January 21, 2013
Hi Mike,

I wanted to thank you for taking the time to write a review about our resort. Especially leaving the Room Tip describing the view and the great value we offer. It helped us win a Tripadvisor Travelers' Choice Award 2013 Top 25 Bargain Hotels of Canada. It is amazing how much time can pass as you stare out into the views, especially the sunrises. We're so pleased that you enjoyed yourselves.

Hopefully your group will come back north to Quadra again. Thank you for the great review.

Cheers,
Elizabeth Wong
www.takuresort.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nanaimo, Canada
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2012

I just spent two days at the Taku Lodge as the April Point lodge was fully booked for the weekend workshop my friend and I were attending. What a pleasant surprise this place was. We stayed in the one bedroom Terrace suite, a wonderful little vacation apartment with a full kitchen, large bedroom with two wonderfully comfortable queen beds, and two balconies facing the water with a great view of Rebecca Spit and the BC coastal mountains. The suite was large, light, and very clean and the surroundings spectacular. You are within walking distance to the little village of Heriott Bay and a quaint old hotel with a pub and restaurant with great atmosphere and god food. Taku lodge is a great place to stay while exploring beautiful Quadra Island.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
takuresort, Owner at Taku Resort and Marina, responded to this review, January 21, 2013
Dear Inge

We're glad that you discovered us and appreciate this nice review. If you are taking the workshop again, we hope that you come stay with us for a second time.

Your review helped us win the Tripadvisor Travelers' Choice Award for Top 25 Bargain Hotels in Canada. As a local Vancouver Islander, you'll be able to take advantage of our Spring and Fall specials so perhaps we will see you again soon.

Thank you,
Elizabeth Wong
www.takuresort.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, British Columbia, Canada
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2011

The Taku Resort brings fine French cooking to Quadra Island. We were lucky enough to get a couple of spots for the three-day cookery course this summer – I have ten years kitchen experience, so I have been doing most of the cooking at home, but my wife was looking to gain some skills to participate in the home kitchen. The Walnut Grove Chefs did an excellent job at building both of our skill sets, giving us the confidence to try some things in the kitchen that we probably never would have.

The Gourmet Kitchen at Taku Resort is reserved for the guests of the cookery course and equipped with all the amenities you would expect to find in a commercial kitchen – plenty of space for all 8 participants to chop, filet, bake, and most importantly eat some of the best food you can find anywhere – truly a gourmet experience. To top it all off we were all taken on a tour of the Taku organic farm, as well as the oyster and mussel farm just 30 minutes away by boat from the Taku dock. This really made the course an amazing once in a lifetime experience, as we were able to see our food from the ocean and farm, prepare it ourselves with the Wanut Grove touch in a professional kitchen, before bringing it to the table to enjoy together.

I highly recommend the Taku Resort’s Gourmet Cookery Course – it exceeded my expectations in terms of learning new skills, experiencing new things, and enjoying the cooking and consuming of fine food. Taku just had the second instalment of the Walnut Grove Cookery Weekend Course, and I can say first hand that I learned even more the second time around while enjoying my time at the Resort with some “foodie” friends who attended the course with me. We all agree that it was one of our best weekends of the year and a fantastic value. Thank you Taku, for providing such an incredible opportunity!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2011

This family friendly resort and marina is peaceful and relaxing. We rented one of the A-frame cabins and it had the most complete kitchen we have ever seen. Right down to a pie plate and cheese grater, microwave, stove and fridge. We sat the deck and watched two seals frolic on the dock. The next day we were treated to a flock of cormorants. The hot tub was a nice addition, just a short walk up from the cabins. Groceries are somewhat limited in the two markets on the island. Unbelievably, the markets only had imitation crab! No local seafood or local produce.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2011

This is a great get-away spot for a weekend or a week. Biking, kayaking, hiking and whale watching. Lots of great dining on Quadra Island. Friendly people and wonderful scenery.

If you want comfort and not have to "break the bank" doing, stay here.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Simi Valley, California
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2011

You want a trip back in time visit Taku Resort, the cabins & rooms are straight out of the sixty"s & haven't been updated in a long time. The view out the window was beautiful, the lily"s in the room smelled wonderful & were a very personal touch. This is a very tranquial place as the cell service sucks , there is no television ( or at least at the beach cottage we were in ) and the only time our lap top would work was in their office! The kitchen was adaquet but the fridge needed deforsting & at highest setting still left ice cream soft. The staff was very friendly & willing to try & help in any way they could.

Room Tip: Go for the view as you are close in distance to many lights of nearby cottages.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Taku Resort and Marina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Taku Resort and Marina

Address: 616 Taku Rd., British Columbia V0P 1H0, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Quadra Island
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Quadra Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A magnificent seaside resort with a perfect blend of laidback ambience and luxurious comfort. Enjoy views from all suites and cabins. Our accommodations will meet your needs and budget and all have a full kitchen and balcony. Alternately, there are forested campsites or the excellent marina for you to stay. On-site, you can enjoy cookery courses, the hot tub, tennis, kayaking, basketball and bocce and more. Quadra Island also offers activities such as golf, hiking, art studios and much more. Our professional and attentive staff look forward to hosting you. The complete Discovery Island vacation experience awaits you at Taku Resort. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Taku Resort and Marina, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.