We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Heavenly place at the heart of Quadra Island” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Taku Resort and Marina

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Quadra Island
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Taku Resort and Marina
616 Taku Rd., British Columbia V0P 1H0, Canada   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 4 hotels in Quadra Island
Comox, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Heavenly place at the heart of Quadra Island”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2011

Highly recommended, the place was comfortable, quiet and staff are friendly. Every other day, we got beautiful flowers. We had wonderful time walking at the beach, playing tennis or volleyball and always end our night at the hot tub, ....In short, it was a lovely place to stay at very reasonable price......

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

44 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    30
    11
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
14
18
Solo
0
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2011

For over two decades, Taku Resort has been our special go-to place for relaxation. It's suitable for anyone who wants a quiet spot next to the ocean that's full of options. The accomodation is comfortable and offers fabulous views of nature. We have everything that we need; if something's not availabe in the suite, the staff are always helpful in finding what we need.

The rocky beach is a wonderful place to explore with our kids; there's always something different to experience. This year, our kids enjoyed the newly renovated bocce court and got hooked on tennis. This location is close to a wonderful grocery store and a cute craft store that we look forward to visiting on our annual trip to Taku.

We love the place and always feel recharged when we leave.

Room Tip: Book early!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2011

We stayed at Tako resort in Dec 2009.

We went there with family, 4 adults and one small child (1yr 3 months). We took a winter break and were visiting Quadra island for the first time. We stayed in one of the A-frame cottages. The resort was beautiful, and an amazing location. The weather was cold, but it made for beautiful walks along the water, and watching the family of otters frolic around the docks.

The Cabin was the perfect size for our group. The kitchen was well equiped, although not state of the art, or in perfect condition, but it was perfectly suited for this location.

We had an absolutely wonderful time and can't wait to return.

I believe there was only a single other occupant at the time we were staying there, so it added to the quiet beauty.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2010

We visited the Taku resort in July 2010, and stayed for seven nights. The location was lovely - we had a cabin that overlooked the bay and towards Rebecca Spit. It was nice to have access to a computer and free internet, particularly as mobile phone (cell phone) coverage was very patchy (but ok out on the docks!). It made keeping in contact with family back in Oz a bit easier.

The cabin was spacious, and had a very well equipped and clean kitchen. We had dinner at a nearby restaurant on one evening, but cooked our own meals the other nights. We had stocked up with supplies at Campbell River prior to catching the ferry over to Quadra Island, but we needn't have bothered because there is a well stocked (and very reasonably priced) supermarket just up the hill.

We also had a great sea kayaking trip with Quadra Island Kayaks, who have their office just up the road but set out from the dock at Taku.

The Taku resort was a great location for exploring Quadra Island, and was good for relaxation. Our week there was very peaceful (a little noisy one night, but not a big issue). The staff were helpful and friendly.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quebec City, Canada
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2010

Stayed at Taku Resort for 6 nights, in a cabin. It was perfect for 2 adults and 3 children; could have fit a couple more without a problem. It was a great place for everyone: activities for the kids, quiet for the adults - we had no qualms about letting our 8 to 13 year-olds run off and play. Close (within walking distance) to a grocery store to stock up on food for the week; there was a restaurant also nearby for evenings we didn't feel like cooking. Loved the experience and hope to make it back there!

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Taku Resort and Marina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Taku Resort and Marina

Address: 616 Taku Rd., British Columbia V0P 1H0, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Quadra Island
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 hotels in Quadra Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A magnificent seaside resort with a perfect blend of laidback ambience and luxurious comfort. Enjoy views from all suites and cabins. Our accommodations will meet your needs and budget and all have a full kitchen and balcony. Alternately, there are forested campsites or the excellent marina for you to stay. On-site, you can enjoy cookery courses, the hot tub, tennis, kayaking, basketball and bocce and more. Quadra Island also offers activities such as golf, hiking, art studios and much more. Our professional and attentive staff look forward to hosting you. The complete Discovery Island vacation experience awaits you at Taku Resort. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Taku Resort and Marina, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Taku Resort and Marina to your Saves list