We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nicest staff ever” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Poets Cove Resort & Spa

Save Saved
You added Poets Cove Resort & Spa to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Poets Cove Resort & Spa
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   9801 Spalding Road, British Columbia V0N 2M3, Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Pender Island
Vancouver
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Nicest staff ever”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2014

We stayed at Poets Cove for three nights for a conference recently - first time on Pender Island!

The property was beautiful, well-maintained and with amazing views. And the staff were really fantastic. From the ladies at the cafe where I got my delicious latte every morning to the servers who let me get take out from the pub the first night to the groundskeeping staff who visited at length with my curious dog, every staff member we dealt with was friendly and professional. They really made our visit.

Any complaints I have are pretty specific to our situation - we had our very elderly dog with us and my wife has some mobility issues. As others have mentioned, the property is on a pretty steep hill and the villa where we were staying was uphill from the main buildings, making the walk home a challenge. Also, when we first arrived, the folks at the front desk told us that we could "park right in front" of our villa. Actually, to get to the three front villas, you have to park behind the villas, then haul your luggage down the road 'til you get to the path for your villa. It took a lot of driving around and walking over other guests' patios before I figured this out - and our neighbours who checked in the next day experienced the same confusion. A map of the property would have been helpful!

The room was far nicer than I expected for a "dog friendly" room - really high end finishes and very comfortable furniture. We stayed in dog-friendly villa 601, which has a lovely little lawn out front and some hedges for privacy - unfortunately, the privacy hedges pretty much obscured the view, so that was a bummer. Honestly, the only drawbacks for us, aside from the steep hill, was the orientation of the room. The interior was quite dark - even with all of the blinds open on a sunny day. There were two patios off the villa but the one with the partial view and the good furniture was only accessible through the bedroom with twin beds. Because our dog is very elderly and has to go out during the night, and the master bedroom did not have patio access, we ended up sleeping on the twin beds like Ward and June Cleaver - again, not the hotel's problem, but it would have made more sense to have the patio off the master, rather than the twin bed room.

We were there for business and I have to say the wifi was EXCELLENT. Thanks to the conference, we also had a very reasonable room rate!

We didn't see much of Pender while we were there, as we had to work; if you're into hiking or water sports, then there were plenty of things to do on or near the property but without a car, getting to a grocery store or book shop from the Cove would have been a challenge.

My super-fit, kayak-loving parents would probably really dig this place and I'd definitely recommend it to them or anyone looking for a nice, quiet getaway!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

290 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    150
    59
    27
    32
    22
See reviews for
54
115
9
15
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Victoria
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2014

This is a visual Paradise with the main hotel accommodation on a very steep hill. This could cause some consternation for those with mobility issues since the car park is up a very steep incline. and about 100 metres away. Although Hotel staff were pleasant, I felt that the receptionists were poorly trained, spending 20 minutes at check-out due to charging my credit card twice. The appointments in the Hotel are lovely, and the natural environment stunning. There were some minor repairs needed in our room. I wondered, again, about how well trained the Housekeeping staff was. The decks are huge, and overlook a yacht basin, bay and towering cliffs of arbutus. I enjoyed the comfortable deck furniture, and the sunsets are unforgettable; however, noise from adjoining decks could be a problem.
A three storey waterfall is truly a work of art. The food was good, and brings locals to this lovely setting. Driving on Pender will make you tree-weary, but there are some of the most beautiful trails that move through dense forest and out onto astounding seascapes and rock formations. Many of these paths are well maintained and fine for the casual walker. This is a sailor/boater/kayaker's wonderland. Ferry fares and schedules are 'beastly', but these Gulf Islands are treasures.

Room Tip: If you are looking for a quiet evening, you might want to avoid rooms 201 to 205 in the main buildin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burnaby
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2014

A May long weekend boating trip over to Bedwell I was very sceptical after my experience several years ago. However the new owners have made some improvments the staff first and formost! So much better I don't know if it's the training or what but great came down to the boat took our belongings up to the amazing room and it was fantastic. Food still not amazing but I can be picky Breakfast was great though! All in all I wont need a free offer from friends, 4 year wait and change in ownership to bring me back the next time! KUDOS!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2014

We just spent our first weekend on Pender Island, and were blown away by Poets Cove and the island itself. The two are synonymous with tranquillity, good taste and charm. At Poets Cove we rented a cottage on the hillside behind the inn (#9) and were graciously housed in a charming 2 bedroom home with full kitchen, outstanding bed and a sun drenched deck to languish on while watching the comings and goings of the marina and Island life beyond. The two pools are first rate, the dock was a perfect jumping off point for our kayak adventures and the meals at the main lodge were outstanding. Really outstanding. Normally one has to choose between location/view and quality of your meal, but not at Poet's Cove. The three course set menu ($55) was outstanding for every course (which is rare enough) but on top of that the view from our table was beyond anything we've experienced this close to home. A stunning sunset unfolding before our table overlooking the Pacific and the bluffs of Pender Island, coupled with great service and local wines. The Island itself offers great hiking, a funky Saturday farmer's market, kayaking in sheltered waters and some breathtaking seaside walks (especially at Brooks Point just down the road from Poet's Cove). We will definitely return soon and make Poet's Cove our HQ for the next exploration of this enchanting island. Thank you to all the wonderful staff for making our anniversary stay so memorable.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mission, Canada
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2014 via mobile

This is my first time writing a review but I felt I needed to commend Poets Cove on a job well done saving our wedding and making it a spectacular event that our guests can't stop talking about.

Firstly, for the past year in the lead up to our wedding we had been having nothing but trouble trying to contact the wedding coordinator and get answers from her. We nearly chose a different location in several occasions but since Pender Island is so close to our hearts with stuck with it, and aren't we glad we did.

We arrived at poets cove 2 days before the wedding to meet with the wedding coordinator only to find upon arrival that she was no longer with them. As a bride I panicked because everything else had been arranged with the previous lady (through much struggle!). As soon as we arrived everyone was so eager to please and ensure we were taken care of. We quickly met Pam who is taking care if operations during the transition and what an amazing woman. Very calm and reassuring she went through the wedding details with us and made sure everything was as we expected. Having not been able to get names for a babysitter through the other coordinator when we told Pam of this problem she said it will be taken care of - and it was.

The staff were so accommodating and really tried to make sure everything was in or for us. Kavitha (I hope that's how you spell it) setting up the rooms was phenomenal. So polite so organized and with-it.

The day of our wedding was just so fantastic. I really want to send a shout out to the chef. The food at our wedding, we had the pender buffet (I think that was one) was beyond any other wedding food we've ever had and let me tell you my guests are still talking about it. It received rave reviews from all our guests! We switched out the salmon for the ling cod and marrying a fisherman I know what good cod taste like, this fish was through the roof! The guests couldn't stop talking about the fish, the orzo salad
and the veggies oh my! The desserts were equally tasty and the chef came out himself to give us some extra desserts and to ask how everything was.

A stellar performance by all. You saved our wedding and I would recommend poets cove to any bride without hesitation.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, BC
Top Contributor
108 reviews 108 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
77 helpful votes 77 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2014

Poets Cove was a wonderful surprise - their website doesn't give you enough info about what you'll encounter. There are three types of accommodations: lodge, villas, and (detached) cottages. We stayed in the lodge, a gently curving building which matches the curve of the cove. The lodge accommodates the sloping hillside, so Reception and the main lobby are actually on the third floor - which is 'ground level' as you drive up. Landscaping - both hardscaping and plants - is beautiful. The lobby is gorgeous - hardwood floors, big fireplace, and fabulous views from the eyebrow dormer and patio. Staff were friendly and helpful.

Our room was very attractive, with bright West coast type decor. Bathroom with granite counter and wood vanity, deep soaker tub, enclosed shower with glass door and frosted window to the room; Deserving Thyme toiletries, hair dryer. Fireplace with two comfy chairs and an ottoman, writing desk, TV & DVD player (borrow DVDs via the front desk), bar fridge, coffee maker with coffee & tea selection. Door to the generously sized patio with two comfy chairs and table - we spent hours out there in the afternoon sun, then watching the sun set. Despite this level being pretty much occupied, it was very quiet throughout our stay, and we'd recommend a third level room for that reason, as well as the sunny decks. (If you're here during the rainy season, you might be better off on the second level, where the decks are half covered/half uncovered. )

There are two pools on the grounds: an upper adults-only pool surrounded by the glass-walled fitness room, and a lower pool near the marina. Walk around the docks and dream of boats. There is a spa onsite but we didn't try it; eucalyptus steam cave is free with treatment or you can go for $25 without a treatment.

There are three places to eat onsite. This was where the new owners/gearing up for the season was most noticeable. Moorings is the most casual, and really only had coffee. Aurora was the most formal and wasn't open, except for special events. Syrens, on the lowest level, was kind of pubbish, with a nice outdoor patio. However, service was iffy, food was super-slow despite only a handful of tables, and the salmon burger was just okay. Since it's on South Pender away from most of the island's restaurants, plan your food accordingly.

Would love for them to get more on board with their greening. If you leave a sign about limited water resources and I hang up my towel, then changing it for a clean towel is ridiculous and excessive. Having a blue box in the room was a nice touch though.

Overall, wonderful stay. Now they need to improve their website so people will see what they have on offer!

Room Tip: Rooms on the 3rd floor of the lodge are quieter and have decks fully exposed to the sun. Rooms on th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2014

We took our boat here recently for our 7th wedding anniversary, staying two nights and were very disappointed to learn that the place is under new management and experiencing lots of issues during this transition period. The setting itself is lovely and the rooms are large and well appointed but the food is not very good at all. Both of our dinners on the first night were overcooked and we sent them back. It seems the chef was too busy to care for paying customers since he was waiting on the new General Manager who was dining with a female employee and having special food sent to his table. The chef even came out to visit the GM so that when our waiter gave him the high sign to come back to the kitchen to fix our desserts, the chef ignored him -- twice. The poor waiter had to do the desserts himself. There was a repeat of this performance the next day as well with the chef visiting the GM who was again holding court in the resturant. Another unpleasant incident was when we got into the elevator and there was a lot of bright red blood all over. Apparently someone had been cut and there was a trail of blood off the elevator and into the men's bathroom. We alerted two staff members that evening yet the blood was just being cleaned up the next morning, 12 hours later. Not very desirable from a health safety point of view. We also attempted to call the front desk to ask when the music would go off outside at night since we could hear it in our room but there was no answer at the front desk nor was there a call back for our message. Again, a symptom of the place being short staffed. Breakfast is a buffet and it is $15, no other choice and get ready for more overcooked food (eggs). The best part of the visit was a message from Beth in the spa. She was fabulous. However, she had to do everything in the spa. No one is manning the front desk. Seems the new management is cutting corners without consideration of their staff or customers.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Poets Cove Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Poets Cove Resort & Spa

Address: 9801 Spalding Road, British Columbia V0N 2M3, Canada
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Pender Island
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Pender Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Poets Cove Resort & Spa 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Poets Cove Resort & Spa is the Gulf Islands' premier luxury resort. Tucked away in Bedwell Harbour on Pender Island, there is a luxurious combination of 22 Lodge Rooms, 9 Villas and 15 Cottages. We offer a full-service 110-slip deep-moorage marina and a Canadian point of entry customs office for CanPass users. Our stunning Aurora Restaurant and casual Syrens Lounge serves the best local fresh ingredients and our activities range from exciting kayaking adventures to rejuvenating spa treatments in our award winning 'Susurrus' Spa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Tingo and Booking.com so you can book your Poets Cove Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Poets Cove Resort And Spa
Poets Cove Hotel Pender Island
Poets Cove Pender Island

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Poets Cove Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.