We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fixed or how I stayed?” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Poets Cove Resort & Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Poets Cove Resort & Spa to your Saves list
Poets Cove Resort & Spa
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   9801 Spalding Road, British Columbia V0N 2M3, Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Pender Island
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Burnaby
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Fixed or how I stayed?”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2014

A May long weekend boating trip over to Bedwell I was very sceptical after my experience several years ago. However the new owners have made some improvments the staff first and formost! So much better I don't know if it's the training or what but great came down to the boat took our belongings up to the amazing room and it was fantastic. Food still not amazing but I can be picky Breakfast was great though! All in all I wont need a free offer from friends, 4 year wait and change in ownership to bring me back the next time! KUDOS!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

308 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    154
    62
    33
    35
    24
See reviews for
57
126
9
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2014

We just spent our first weekend on Pender Island, and were blown away by Poets Cove and the island itself. The two are synonymous with tranquillity, good taste and charm. At Poets Cove we rented a cottage on the hillside behind the inn (#9) and were graciously housed in a charming 2 bedroom home with full kitchen, outstanding bed and a sun drenched deck to languish on while watching the comings and goings of the marina and Island life beyond. The two pools are first rate, the dock was a perfect jumping off point for our kayak adventures and the meals at the main lodge were outstanding. Really outstanding. Normally one has to choose between location/view and quality of your meal, but not at Poet's Cove. The three course set menu ($55) was outstanding for every course (which is rare enough) but on top of that the view from our table was beyond anything we've experienced this close to home. A stunning sunset unfolding before our table overlooking the Pacific and the bluffs of Pender Island, coupled with great service and local wines. The Island itself offers great hiking, a funky Saturday farmer's market, kayaking in sheltered waters and some breathtaking seaside walks (especially at Brooks Point just down the road from Poet's Cove). We will definitely return soon and make Poet's Cove our HQ for the next exploration of this enchanting island. Thank you to all the wonderful staff for making our anniversary stay so memorable.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mission, Canada
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2014

This is my first time writing a review but I felt I needed to commend Poets Cove on a job well done saving our wedding and making it a spectacular event that our guests can't stop talking about.

Firstly, for the past year in the lead up to our wedding we had been having nothing but trouble trying to contact the wedding coordinator and get answers from her. We nearly chose a different location in several occasions but since Pender Island is so close to our hearts with stuck with it, and aren't we glad we did.

We arrived at poets cove 2 days before the wedding to meet with the wedding coordinator only to find upon arrival that she was no longer with them. As a bride I panicked because everything else had been arranged with the previous lady (through much struggle!). As soon as we arrived everyone was so eager to please and ensure we were taken care of. We quickly met Pam who is taking care if operations during the transition and what an amazing woman. Very calm and reassuring she went through the wedding details with us and made sure everything was as we expected. Having not been able to get names for a babysitter through the other coordinator when we told Pam of this problem she said it will be taken care of - and it was.

The staff were so accommodating and really tried to make sure everything was in or for us. Kavitha (I hope that's how you spell it) setting up the rooms was phenomenal. So polite so organized and with-it.

The day of our wedding was just so fantastic. I really want to send a shout out to the chef. The food at our wedding, we had the pender buffet (I think that was one) was beyond any other wedding food we've ever had and let me tell you my guests are still talking about it. It received rave reviews from all our guests! We switched out the salmon for the ling cod and marrying a fisherman I know what good cod taste like, this fish was through the roof! The guests couldn't stop talking about the fish, the orzo salad
and the veggies oh my! The desserts were equally tasty and the chef came out himself to give us some extra desserts and to ask how everything was.

A stellar performance by all. You saved our wedding and I would recommend poets cove to any bride without hesitation.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, BC
Top Contributor
134 reviews 134 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
95 helpful votes 95 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2014

Poets Cove was a wonderful surprise - their website doesn't give you enough info about what you'll encounter. There are three types of accommodations: lodge, villas, and (detached) cottages. We stayed in the lodge, a gently curving building which matches the curve of the cove. The lodge accommodates the sloping hillside, so Reception and the main lobby are actually on the third floor - which is 'ground level' as you drive up. Landscaping - both hardscaping and plants - is beautiful. The lobby is gorgeous - hardwood floors, big fireplace, and fabulous views from the eyebrow dormer and patio. Staff were friendly and helpful.

Our room was very attractive, with bright West coast type decor. Bathroom with granite counter and wood vanity, deep soaker tub, enclosed shower with glass door and frosted window to the room; Deserving Thyme toiletries, hair dryer. Fireplace with two comfy chairs and an ottoman, writing desk, TV & DVD player (borrow DVDs via the front desk), bar fridge, coffee maker with coffee & tea selection. Door to the generously sized patio with two comfy chairs and table - we spent hours out there in the afternoon sun, then watching the sun set. Despite this level being pretty much occupied, it was very quiet throughout our stay, and we'd recommend a third level room for that reason, as well as the sunny decks. (If you're here during the rainy season, you might be better off on the second level, where the decks are half covered/half uncovered. )

There are two pools on the grounds: an upper adults-only pool surrounded by the glass-walled fitness room, and a lower pool near the marina. Walk around the docks and dream of boats. There is a spa onsite but we didn't try it; eucalyptus steam cave is free with treatment or you can go for $25 without a treatment.

There are three places to eat onsite. This was where the new owners/gearing up for the season was most noticeable. Moorings is the most casual, and really only had coffee. Aurora was the most formal and wasn't open, except for special events. Syrens, on the lowest level, was kind of pubbish, with a nice outdoor patio. However, service was iffy, food was super-slow despite only a handful of tables, and the salmon burger was just okay. Since it's on South Pender away from most of the island's restaurants, plan your food accordingly.

Would love for them to get more on board with their greening. If you leave a sign about limited water resources and I hang up my towel, then changing it for a clean towel is ridiculous and excessive. Having a blue box in the room was a nice touch though.

Overall, wonderful stay. Now they need to improve their website so people will see what they have on offer!

Room Tip: Rooms on the 3rd floor of the lodge are quieter and have decks fully exposed to the sun. Rooms on th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2014

We took our boat here recently for our 7th wedding anniversary, staying two nights and were very disappointed to learn that the place is under new management and experiencing lots of issues during this transition period. The setting itself is lovely and the rooms are large and well appointed but the food is not very good at all. Both of our dinners on the first night were overcooked and we sent them back. It seems the chef was too busy to care for paying customers since he was waiting on the new General Manager who was dining with a female employee and having special food sent to his table. The chef even came out to visit the GM so that when our waiter gave him the high sign to come back to the kitchen to fix our desserts, the chef ignored him -- twice. The poor waiter had to do the desserts himself. There was a repeat of this performance the next day as well with the chef visiting the GM who was again holding court in the resturant. Another unpleasant incident was when we got into the elevator and there was a lot of bright red blood all over. Apparently someone had been cut and there was a trail of blood off the elevator and into the men's bathroom. We alerted two staff members that evening yet the blood was just being cleaned up the next morning, 12 hours later. Not very desirable from a health safety point of view. We also attempted to call the front desk to ask when the music would go off outside at night since we could hear it in our room but there was no answer at the front desk nor was there a call back for our message. Again, a symptom of the place being short staffed. Breakfast is a buffet and it is $15, no other choice and get ready for more overcooked food (eggs). The best part of the visit was a message from Beth in the spa. She was fabulous. However, she had to do everything in the spa. No one is manning the front desk. Seems the new management is cutting corners without consideration of their staff or customers.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2014

We travelled here last year for our anniversary so I am not sure if that was old owners or new owners but I had a fantastic time. They gave us a corner suite right in front of the little waterfalls they have. Our suite was clean and comfortable. We dined at the restaurant upstairs and we were the only ones there which was cool but I felt bad they were only cooking for us. The service was absolutely spectacular and the food was the same. We also dined at the pub downstairs and again the service was so accommodating and friendly and I could have eaten the fish and chips again and again for the rest of the night. So good! We went kayaking and our guide was awesome. He was very knowledgeable and nice. The only downside to that was the appointment was improperly booked but they made up for it by cutting our price in half. My only complaint about this place was the spa. Our masseuses weren't skilled and we felt like it was a waste of money. Although they are very very nice we just feel like we didn't get anything out of it. If you are going to visit the spa, only go to buy the locally made oils they have on the shelf. They have very unique hand made oils you can purchase.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2014

Spent 2 nights and 2 days at this resort and would highly recommend it. The staff was fabulous, very friendly and available. My room was comfortable and nicely done with a beautiful view of the Marina and sourrounding trees. This is a place you would go for relaxation and compared to some places I have stayed the food (Breakfast,Lunch and Dinner) was great. Great place to have your wedding or celebrate a special occasion. I want to thank the Management which I learnt is fairly new for a Wonderful job they are doing, Keep up the good work.

Room Tip: Rooms directly facing the Marina are greate for relaxing and meditating The Couples Dinner is a Bea...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Poets Cove Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Poets Cove Resort & Spa

Address: 9801 Spalding Road, British Columbia V0N 2M3, Canada
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Pender Island
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Pender Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Poets Cove Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 46
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Poets Cove Resort & Spa is the Gulf Islands' premier luxury resort. Tucked away in Bedwell Harbour on Pender Island, there is a luxurious combination of 22 Lodge Rooms, 9 Villas and 15 Cottages. We offer a full-service 110-slip deep-moorage marina and a Canadian point of entry customs office for CanPass users. Our stunning Aurora Restaurant and casual Syrens Lounge serves the best local fresh ingredients and our activities range from exciting kayaking adventures to rejuvenating spa treatments in our award winning 'Susurrus' Spa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz and Odigeo so you can book your Poets Cove Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Poets Cove Resort And Spa
Poets Cove Hotel Pender Island
Poets Cove Pender Island

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Poets Cove Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.