We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Romantic, great view, dinner experience disappointing” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Poets Cove Resort & Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Poets Cove Resort & Spa to your Saves list
Poets Cove Resort & Spa
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   9801 Spalding Road, British Columbia V0N 2M3, Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Pender Island
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Romantic, great view, dinner experience disappointing”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013 via mobile

Overall it was great. Lack of experience in the dining room was unfortunate. It took us 3 hours and 20 minutes to eat dinner and it was not even busy.

The cooking was great with once exception
The topping if the creme brule should have been heated up so the caramel was melted

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PoetsCove, Manager at Poets Cove Resort & Spa, responded to this review, March 25, 2013
I am so glad that you enjoyed your overall experience at Poets Cove. I do apologize for the long wait time during the dinner service. We are in the changeover from winter to summer staffing levels and will soon be fully staffed so that your next stay will be a more efficient and enjoyable dining experience. We here at Poets Cove appreciate all feedback from our guests so that we can strive to make your stay as enjoyable as possible. Thank you . Chef Steve
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

307 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    153
    62
    33
    35
    24
See reviews for
57
125
9
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2013

Poet's Cove is perfect for a romantic get-away. We caught the ferry from Vancouver and thankfully arrived during the day. The road to Poets cove is narrow and windy. Its very dark at night and may be difficult to find. We stayed in the lodge which was perfect for the two of us. We plan to return in the summer with our children and will stay in a cottage. I highly recommend it for couples and families.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sidney, Canada
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013

Poet's Cove on Pender Island is a great get-away whether you are coming from Vancouver, Seattle, Victoria or further afield. This quiet, comfortable resort and spa offers everything you need to enjoy a weekend. We traveled there in December, although not prime weather time, a cozy place to go for quiet retreat. The Lodge rooms all face onto Bedwell Harbour for tranquille ocean views and the island in the background.

The rooms are comfortable and well appointed. A delicious truffle and dried fruit platter welcomed us to the room. The room felt spacious with a small outside deck. We did feel the hotel needs to update the TVs to flat screens both to open up the room and be current with most other hotels.

Also part of the resort is a small fitness centre, outdoor heated pool and steam cave ... all great features for a winter visit. The staff were always available and took great care of us.

Definitely worth visiting again ... anytime of the year!

Room Tip: All Lodge rooms face the water so you can't go wrong! There are also villas for larger groups o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2013 via mobile

This resort is perfect for couples looking for a quiet getaway. We chose not to upgrade to the villas or cottages, and so just stayed in the main building, "lodge rooms" and the room was perfect for us. A nice soaker tub, fireplace and beautiful view. There is a coffee maker and small fridge, so we took the advice of other reviews and brought a few snacks which was helpful. The deck is large and made a perfect place to start our mornings with coffee and mimosas! (We brought the ok and bubbles). There is a extra blanket and nicer ones, so even though it is A bit chilly in February, we were fine to be on the deck. (Actually, I am writing this now from there- enjoying this sunny morning! ). The cottages do all have their own large hot tubs, and ten villas look great, but the lodge room is not disappointing at all.

We arrived in the dark and the drive is just under half an hour and as there are very few lights, and the road is narrow and windy, we were glad to have our gps, saw some deer along the way as well... The arrival was easy as the hotel staff are really lovely and helpful.

Aurora is a nice restaurant and we thought the food was great....the hot wings were great and hot! The burger was awesome as well. Our server had a great sense of humour as well and offered excellent advice for hikes and sightseeing closely. it is off season, so the pub menu is the same as the restaurant but still the food and service were great. - and the views are amazing from both - great patio for summer!

We also had couples massages and yes, the spa isn't large, but it is really very nice. The room, music, scent and service were all excellent and also included the steam cave and hot tub use which were both awesome as well.

There are 2 pools, and another hot tub as well. One of the pools is closed for the season, but the open one well maintained and is more than enough.

As it is still offseason, it feels as though we have the place to ourselves...there are other guests, but it is not crowded or "touristy". I would recommend this property for couples, and also for groups, corporate or social. Perfect for a retreat or wedding group.

We are leaving today relaxed and with the intent to return.

Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2013

We came to Pender for some rest and relaxation and we found it! We arrived around 1 pm and as our room wouldn't be ready till three decided to have a light lunch at the Aurora restaurant. I ordered the yam fries and my husband got the seafood chowder. The fries were crispy and nicely seasoned. The chowder, on the other hand was very bland and uninspired. It wasn't horrible but when you're sitting water front in the West Coast you expect more than "ok" when it comes to seafood - especially clams.
Our room was small but fantastic, I cannot complain and I loved the soaker tub with room for two. It was so relaxing and tranquil. There is a man-made waterfall just outside which is a nice touch. (We were in room 310, top floor furthest down the hall so only one neighbour)
Dinner was good, the British server named Sam was very attentive and pleasant. I ordered the lamb terrine which was nicely presented with good flavour. My husband ordered the scallops which were a bit under seared and overlooked but good nonetheless. As I mentioned we were just grateful to sit down and share a real mean together, having an eighteen month old toddler ensures that rarely happens! For the main I got the duck breast.... What did that poor piece of meat ever do to the cook?? I asked if it would be cooked medium rare and was told it was more of a “medium” and was “cooked through” which I should have taken as a red flag.... It was horrendously overcooked and I was sad to see it, as a nicely seared duck breast is one of the better things in life. Ah well, the potatoes were great. Hubby got the lamb shank and it was fantastic, tender and flavourful accompanied with surprisingly well executed gnocchi. For desert we opted for some alcoholic coffees and took an order of carrot cake and flour-less chocolate cake back to our room. Tiny portions for the dessert, carrot cake was very yummy… but the “chocolate cake” was excellent! Wish I had some right now. The service here is great, strangely they do not offer room service but we were able to call our breakfast order down for pickup and had a quiet morning eating it in our room. They even put our coffees in paper cups for us to take back.
I was sad to see that the Café by the marina was closed for the season, but the discounted off season price was worth it. We got the “Romance Package” which included: Sparkling wine (Prosecco) and (delicious) truffles in room upon arrival, a voucher for two, three-course dinners at Aurora, two nights accommodation, and a $100.00 gift card that could be spent anywhere in the resort. A GREAT deal.
We went for a morning walk around the shore of the resort and appreciated the unique landscape and beauty of the Island. We found many Sea slugs and crabs and interesting rock formations. We were lucky to have a sunny day and a slack tide for our excursion.
We are not “spa” people. Neither of us really get the whole “couples massage” thing - but I knew I wanted to try the “eucalyptus steam cave” on offer at Sussarus Spa at the resort.
The “cave” is located beneath the man made water fall I mentioned earlier. It was $15.00 each to use the steam cave, relaxation room, and the outdoor hot tub for as long as we wanted. I really enjoyed it, the steam cave was done very well; for being made out of concrete it really gave the impression of a natural location. We switched from the cave, to the hot tub, and back again a few times- it was chilly this time of year but it was still enjoyable. There was also complimentary tea and water on offer to keep you hydrated after the steam cave.
After the Spa visit we opted for a light dinner at Syren’s, the Marina “Pub”. It was interesting the menu was the same as at Aurora, not sure if this is the case during high season or not. We ordered hot wings to start (they were amazing, the sauce tasted fresh and was incredibly spicy, I think they just popped some Habaneros into a blender and pureed them!!) My husband ordered the Syren’s burger and I got the Salt Spring Mussels. Every thing was great and more than made up for the tragic duck incident the night prior. We visited the “Upper Pool” which was heated to the perfect temperature for comfortable swimming in February and we had a great time making idiots of ourselves with no one around. A friendly cat named “Blackberry” frequently greeted us when we were outside.
We brought two bottles of wine and a litre of orange juice (I love Mimosas in the morning) which made our trip extra romantic. I would probably bring more “snacks” next time. But other than that it was a terrific stay and we will definitely be going back again.

Things that would have sent this trip over the top for me:
-Room Service!
-Stronger drinks
-Softer bathrobes
-Larger desert portions (Come on, we all love chocolate!)
-Real cream for the in-room coffee maker (I hate whitener with a passion.)
-Kayak rental available off season too.

Room Tip: Room 310 is on the top floor and furthest away from the door. It was very quiet and had a man-made w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Canada
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

We've never been to Pender Island before, so never to Poet's Cove either, but had heard really good things about it. We spent New Years Eve and New Years Day in one of the cottages...beautiful and clean! We're two friends and we each had our own room and a king size bed! I thought the design and decor of the cottage was excellent, and one of us had a sore leg, so quite accessible and one floor design.

We thought the design of the whole resort was spectacular and elegant, and since it was still off season, it was relatively quiet and peaceful. We didn't use the spa or pools, though the pool looked inviting.

The staff were excellent, though the front desk person wasn't very good at giving me driving instructions over the phone when we arrived by ferry after dark, and since the drive is longish and VERY dark (!!), AND direction signage is fairly non-existent, it was quite an adventure finding the resort in the dark. In the daylight, of course it's a snap.

My big complaint issue was with the food. We arrived late just before the New Years Eve party, went to the downstairs pub and chose a wrap and soup...both were kinda gross. But we decided, especially since nothing else seemed open for eats on New Years Day, to give the restaurant another go. So the next night we ordered duck confit cassoulet at $28 a plate...really really bad...nothing, absolutely nothing like duck confit. It should've been crispy on the outside and melting off the bone on the inside. It was tough and looked almost raw...again gross, and sent back. Very very disappointed, and not up to the caliber of this beautiful resort.

Room Tip: We chose to stay in a cottage because I brought my little dachshund, and it's the only place I u...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Canada
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2012

Had opportunity to visit Pender Island and Poets Cove Resort as a possible destination for our business clients. My wife and I were not dissappointed. Great secluded location offering both exceptional rooms in the main part of the Resort all overlooking the cove plus cabana units that are more like a cozy condo with all the amenities. Swimming pools, tennis courts, activities centre and great food services Plus the Grotto Spa. Just fantastic. Walter, the GM was very helpfull and we found all the staff very friendly. You can arrive by car by taking a ferry from Victoria or Vancouver, by float plane from both locations plus Seattle and the opportunioty for whale watching is also available from Victoria with a stop over at Poets Cove. This is a couples paradise, great for a honeymoore or an anniversary or even as an incentive destiantion for companies. If you plan to visit Vancouver Island, a couple of days at Poets Cove will make your vacation.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Poets Cove Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Poets Cove Resort & Spa

Address: 9801 Spalding Road, British Columbia V0N 2M3, Canada
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Pender Island
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Pender Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Poets Cove Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 46
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Poets Cove Resort & Spa is the Gulf Islands' premier luxury resort. Tucked away in Bedwell Harbour on Pender Island, there is a luxurious combination of 22 Lodge Rooms, 9 Villas and 15 Cottages. We offer a full-service 110-slip deep-moorage marina and a Canadian point of entry customs office for CanPass users. Our stunning Aurora Restaurant and casual Syrens Lounge serves the best local fresh ingredients and our activities range from exciting kayaking adventures to rejuvenating spa treatments in our award winning 'Susurrus' Spa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz and Odigeo so you can book your Poets Cove Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Poets Cove Resort And Spa
Poets Cove Hotel Pender Island
Poets Cove Pender Island

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Poets Cove Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.