We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average” 3 of 5 stars
Review of April Point Resort

April Point Resort
900 April Point Rd, Quathiaski Cove, British Columbia V0P 1N0, Canada
250-285-2222
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Price range: $17 - $25
Cuisines: Seafood, Sushi
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Scenic view
Dining options: Breakfast, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Vancouver, Canada
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
“Average”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2013

Liked the water taxi ride from Painters Lodge. Beautiful location. Expected a good lunch and service but it was less than average. Was friday at lunch on a long weekend. (june 28)
Only 2 tables in the whole place. We asked waiter what kind of fish in the fish and chips. He didn't know (huh???) 2 people in our party had fish chowder. Very ordinary. The waiter was hanging around at the other table. Seems they were friends or family. Overall disappointed.
Won't come back. Have had a similar experience at Painters. I think we are done with these 2.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christine F, General Manager at April Point Resort, responded to this review, July 24, 2013
I am disappointed to hear about your experience at April Point. I assure you we strive for more than just average service and I promise to fix the issues you brought up.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

65 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    15
    24
    10
    10
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Digby, Canada
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
“Great experience (mostly)”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2013

What a great location! The boat ride from Painter's Lodge was fun, and this is a lovely location set on the water with pretty grounds. Everyone working there was helpful and pleasant. Three of our four meals were terrific.... two seared tuna, fantastic; one spaghetti/meatballs, great; the pork loin tough,not good. All desserts good. Overall a great night.... saved by the dessert! We would go there again.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christine F, General Manager at April Point Resort, responded to this review, July 24, 2013
Thanks for your feedback. We’re so glad you enjoyed your meal. We hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Canada
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Very dissapointed in staff responsible for seating arrangements.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

We booked a time to eat and listen to jazz, and were unable to enjoy this because large tables were placed directly in front of the players - the late noisey arrivals did not have a reservation - so music was not in any way enjoyable.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christine F, General Manager at April Point Resort, responded to this review, July 24, 2013
I’m sorry your experience at April Point was not up to your standards, or ours. I have discussed your feedback with our dining room staff to ensure this doesn’t happen again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Great food, service and atmosphere”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

I'm plagued with food allergies and am always relieved with gluten free options on the menu. The dining room overlooks a kelp bed with seals, sea lions and eagles. Not to mention the fantastic food and the efficient service. All around excellent experience.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver Island, Canada
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“so much potential”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2013

The lodge looks wonderful and the free boat trip from Painter's Lodge is fun. It's such a pity that the restaurant lacks atmosphere and the food is at best mediocre.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed April Point Resort also viewed

 
Quathiaski Cove, Quadra Island
Quadra Island, British Columbia
 

Been to April Point Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage April Point Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.