We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointing” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Merrill Inn

Merrill Inn
343 Main St., Picton, Ontario K0K2T0, Canada
+1 613-476-7451
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 65 Restaurants in Picton
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $25 - $49
Cuisines: Canadian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Doing business, Special occasions, Romantic, Entertaining clients, Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Reservations
Description: Experience inspired County Bistro cuisine in an inviting and intimate setting. Chef Michael Sullivan combines his vast Toronto experience with his passion to feature the best of Prince Edward County The wine list comprises a representation of both fine wines of The County, international vintages, local beer, cider and spirits Seasonal outdoor dining is also available
Belleville, Canada
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
101 helpful votes 101 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2014

We have participated in Countylicious events for a number of years and this is the first time we decided to go to the Merrill Inn. The menu looked really good and the facility was very appealing from the exterior. When we got there, it was a challenge to find the dining room as no one was there to greet us. The dining room is tiny, with too many tables squeezed in. My husband could not count the number of times that he was bumped by our waitress. Our waitress was impatient, trying to get our full order as soon as we sat down. The shrimp and grits appetizer was excellent and our wine was excellent. Our main courses were OK but not great. Not only did we feel rushed to order but we felt like we were being kicked out before we had finished our coffee. We will not return.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
merrillinn, Owner at Merrill Inn, responded to this review, April 11, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to comment on your dining experience during our very popular Countylicious dining promotion. We are both disappointed and surprised by your review and would like to apologize for not meeting your expectations. I did attempt to contact you directly to speak with you.

Indeed the Restaurant is an intimate small room, however it is not a crowded space as you point out.

As guests on occasion arrive late for their reservations as was the case that evening, it does create challenges for a busy restaurant like ours. Non the less we do take the entire order including dessert when we do Countylicious which does not seem to be an issue for our guests. Our seasoned staff in the Restaurant do not intentionally rush service as we allow over 2 hours for dinner when having two seating's throughout the evening.

Once again please accept our apology

Regards,
Edward Shubert
Innkeeper/Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

85 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    62
    12
    8
    1
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Lovely Romantic Accommodating Restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2014

We went here in July 2013 as part of a getaway and special occasion. I planned ahead by contacting the restaurant to see if they could accommodate a special request for my boyfriend. They were terrific and made arrangements for Coquille Ste Jacques and Profiteroles. Quite an unusual request and they were accommodating without hesitation. When we got there, they exceeded our expectations with royal treatment. My boyfriend felt very special and really appreciated the efforts. The manager also came by and made recommendations for wine that was so successful that my boyfriend now has a new favourite wine.. What a lovely place with lovely people!!! Worth visiting!!!!!!!!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cherry Valley, Canada
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Best Meal EVER!!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2013

Since moving to the Picton area recently my wife and I have heard many good things about 'The Merrill Inn', so many in fact that we decided to see what all the fuss was about. To say that we were pleasantly surprised would be an enormous understatement because what we encountered was perhaps the finest meal we have ever had in a restaurant. Each course was as pleasing to the eye as it was to my palate and the staff was most attentive to all of our needs. I am sure this was the first of many visits to come...WELL DONE!!!!! CHEERS!!!!

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cherry Valley, Canada
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Best Meal We Have Ever Had!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2013

We went to try The Countylicious Menu and it was amazing! Had the Waldorf salad that came to the table like a tiny art piece and was fabulous! The lamb shanks were beyond heaven! The desert I had was a pumpkin bread pudding with ginger cream anglais ! So Delicious!!!!! Each course has a wine suggestion and that was perfect. I cannot imagine a better meal and we will be back!!!!!

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“excellent dining experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2013

We completely enjoyed our dining experience at the Merrill Inn. The room is very intimate with about 10-12 tables. There was a cozy atmosphere and the staff made us feel very welcome.
They were very attentive at the tables offering suggestions and insight. The menu was well rounded with delicious offerings for all palates. Local vegetables and wine parings were offered with both steak and fish. Prices were slightly high but well worth it for a special occasion. We will return to the Merrill !

  • Visited November 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Merrill Inn also viewed

Picton, Prince Edward County
Picton, Prince Edward County
 
Wellington, Prince Edward County
 

Been to Merrill Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Merrill Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.