We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pub is excellent” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Waring House Restaurant & Inn

Waring House Restaurant & Inn
RR 1, Picton, Ontario K0K 2T0, Canada
613.476.7492
Improve this listing
Ranked #17 of 65 Restaurants in Picton
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Special occasions, Romantic, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Lunch, Late Night, Reservations
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Pub is excellent”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2013

I prefer the pub, it's more casual than the dining room. Food in both places is excellent. Portion sizes in dining room are a little light. I guess so you can go all courses! Coconut cream pie is the best I've had

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

180 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    61
    51
    26
    27
    15
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Stirling, Ontario, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Excellent...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2013

We had a work function here on Sat night. This place is awesome, the rooms are excellent we had a suite and it was just beautiful.... The meal was one of the best buffets I have had in a while and the entertainment at the pub set the evening off. Went for breakfast in the AM and it was also really good a great end to an awesome weekend.. Thanks to the staff at the Waring House!!

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Can't Even Get Take-Out Right”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013

We were huge fans of the Barley Room and have spent several great evenings there. We also referred family and friends, but this relationship is over. Our last couple of meals eaten at the restaurant were mediocre at best, and the new menu is boring and lackluster, so we've not returned. Being in the mood for ribs, we started looking around for take-out, and lo and behold Wednesday is rib and wing night! How bad could it be if it's the specialty of the evening? Let me tell you. That bad! For $45 for 2 Rib and Wing Combos we got a handful of cold fries, TWO ribs each, and 4 wings. No word of a lie. I was appalled. We are done supporting this business as quite frankly, they are riding on the reputation of days gone by that they no longer deserve. A new chef and new menu have done nothing to salvage this long-standing cornerstone, and we'll not recommend it again.

    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burlington, Canada
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“AMAZING”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

The food and the atmosphere is simply incredible. This is my third time at Waring House and it wont be my last. I have always attended on business and I can't wait to come back with my husband.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingston, Canada
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“not what it used to be”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2012

ummmm wow went there recenlty and it was a shocker the food was not very good and the prices are through the roof decor is still ok wait staff terrible a few years ago this was the go to spot but not so much now

  • Visited June 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Waring House Restaurant & Inn also viewed

Picton, Prince Edward County
Picton, Prince Edward County
 
Picton, Prince Edward County
Picton, Prince Edward County
 

Been to Waring House Restaurant & Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Waring House Restaurant & Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.