We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wine pairing meal lived up to expectations!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Waring House Restaurant & Inn

Waring House Restaurant & Inn
RR 1, Picton, Ontario K0K 2T0, Canada
613.476.7492
Improve this listing
Ranked #18 of 65 Restaurants in Picton
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Bar scene, Local cuisine, Special occasions
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Tilley, ONT
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Wine pairing meal lived up to expectations!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2012

A very good introduction to Prince Edward County wines. Beautiful plated meals, and fab service. Thank you Peggy! Oh yes, the breakfast....possibly the best ever. The muffins were so good.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

169 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    57
    48
    24
    27
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Brighton, Canada
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
“Yummmmm”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2012 via mobile

Went here a few weeks ago with my wife and parent's , been to the Waring House a few times , food is always good , hot and fresh. Service is good , can be slow at times but the place is always busy so that is the main reason.
Like the title says , Yummmmm , food is good , fish and chips are good the fish is Perch and it is a massive piece of fish , they also have a Plowmans Lunch , which is nice seeing as my family is Scottish and this is a staple on the pub menu's in Scotland.
1 thing I will add is the Barley Room is not very wheel chair Freindly , there is NO ramp , just a few stairs , but it is very hard to get someone in that is in a wheel chair , it actually discouraged us from going when we saw there was no wheel chair access , but we thought we would try anyhow , like I said , it was hard to get my father in to the place , but we did manage.

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Many better restaurants in the County”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2012 via mobile

This used to be our favorite spot to dine. No longer! Food sent back because it was not cooked. Without a doubt the attention to detail has collapsed, the quality control absent and they are riding on their past reputation. Ordered 2 identical glasses of wine, when the bill came one glass was $8 and $9. Reason? Computer glitch? Really?

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Picton, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Go for the music & ambiance”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

The Barley Room Pub is part of the Waring House which includes accommodations and a more formal dining room. The pub has great ambiance (if you can ignore the insistent flat screen advertising that clutters a lovely stone wall) They bring in some excellent local and regional musicians, have a selection of local beers, wines as well as the beloved old standbys. So there is no reason not to have a good time as long as you are not counting on the food.

We love the County and enjoy supporingt local businesses and artists and know after many visits that we are not at the Waring House for the food. Offerings from the kitchen have always been hit and miss. From beautifully prepared local chicken with tender crisp veggies to a $13 spinach/strawberry/artichoke salad that you could fit in a tea cup with one miserable strawberry cut into four and M.I.A. artichokes. We could not bring ourselves to try the pasta / pork dish.

With negative rumours about the future of the Barley Room flying around the County the evidence is that things are getting worse, not better. Locals are frequently telling stories about poor food and service.
We went with a group of (unfortunately) hungry friends to hear some music a while ago and were shown a "revised" menu that was "brief" to say the least. Most people ordered the burgers from a server who seemed to be responsible for far too many customers. When the food finally did come, the burgers were dry as dust and some gourmet toppings had been completely left off. Ages later the server came back to check on things but it was far too late to correct the mistakes. He alluded to "problems" in the kitchen. Certainly all was not well throughout the place as later we noticed what appeared to be an agitated conversation between the server and the bartender.

Despite the food and service issues that night we had a great time, the band and the patrons were all in fine form and the surroundings and beers are great. Maybe it is like the Maple Leafs, even if the product is not that great people will come anyway and may even have a good time. We just wish those in charge would realize that running a great pub does not include reducing the staff and cutting corners on the food.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sudbury, Canada
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“did not meet trip advisor reviews”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2012

We felt they were basking in past reviews. I could not eat my fish, mushy. frozen fries. The greens in the salad were wilted. Would never return.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Waring House Restaurant & Inn also viewed

Picton, Prince Edward County
Picton, Prince Edward County
 
Picton, Prince Edward County
Picton, Prince Edward County
 

Been to Waring House Restaurant & Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Waring House Restaurant & Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.