We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Food was great, but service was very, very slow.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Waring House Restaurant & Inn

Waring House Restaurant & Inn
RR 1, Picton, Ontario K0K 2T0, Canada
613.476.7492
Improve this listing
Ranked #17 of 65 Restaurants in Picton
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Bar scene, Local cuisine, Special occasions
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Reservations
Mississauga, Canada
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Food was great, but service was very, very slow.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2011

We were seated on the patio, but the servers seemed to forget about us. The wait for our food was exceptionly long and no one was around when we needed water, more cutlery, etc. We had to wait for someone to show up or go get them ourselves. Maybe just an off night. I had heard nothing but good about this restaurant. Will give them another chance if I get back to Picton.

  • Visited July 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

180 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    61
    51
    26
    27
    15
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Cherry Valley, Canada
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“This place was AMAZING”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2011

From the delicious menu, pretty surroundings and the lovely clean room and comfy beds I LOVED LOVED LOVED THIS PLACE!

  • Visited August 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Picton, Canada
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Fantastic Night in the pub!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2011

What a great night my friends and I had in the pub. The live entertainment was amazing, and even though they were busy when we went, they were able to seat us, and the customer service was fantastic. The food was great too, I have been here many times, and the munchie platter & beef medallions are my favourite!

  • Visited July 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brantford, Canada
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Had a great meal”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2011

Stopped for lunch, service was excellent and meal was great

Visited July 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ottawa
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Amelia's Garden - a pleasant surprise”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2011

Recently my spouse and I visited the Prince Edward County area and happened upon Amelia's Garden at the Waring House Restaurant and Inn. It was beautiful. The food was amazing and the service (server was Anne) was extremely attentive and knowledgeable.
We started with their famous apple cider and cheddar cheese soup - fantastic.
Our main course was the special of the nite which was a nice size piece of tenderloin marinated in a blueberry reduction, along side pan seared tuna encrusted in sesame seeds with an Asian ginger sauce. My spouse had risotto which was amazing and I had small potatoes infused with truffle oil.
The best was the dessert, recommended by our server....a Coconut Cream Pie that was absolutely the best thing I have ever eaten....light, not overdone and delicious.

the meal was average priced and was worth every penny plus

  • Visited July 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Waring House Restaurant & Inn also viewed

Picton, Prince Edward County
Picton, Prince Edward County
 
Picton, Prince Edward County
Picton, Prince Edward County
 

Been to Waring House Restaurant & Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Waring House Restaurant & Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.