We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Choice” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Gus's Family Restaurant

Gus's Family Restaurant
166 Main St, Picton, Ontario K0K 2T0, Canada
613.476.6900
Improve this listing
Ranked #30 of 65 Restaurants in Picton
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch
Toronto, Canada
Top Contributor
94 reviews 94 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
89 helpful votes 89 helpful votes
“Great Choice”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2013

I was in Picton, and was referred to this place by a few of the locals , so I figured to give it a try, ended up being a great choice, you cant go wrong with the Pork Souvlaki dinner , well marinated , nice portions , plus the dining room was very clean, and the service was quick and friendly. If I am in Picton again , I would definitely choose to eat here again or refer it to anyone visiting the County.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

69 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    19
    14
    20
    7
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Kingston
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Excellent food for the price”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2013

This was my second visit to this restaurant. I had their fish and chips and my girlfriend had rainbow trout. This is a very reasonably priced restaurant and neither of us could completely finish our plates, there was so much food. $ 25.00 plus tax for both. The service was fast and the waitress very friendly. We will certainly be back and are telling our friends about it.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Fast Service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

The place is clean, the waitress was very pleasant even though she was serving the place alone and surprisingly the service was fast. Don't get me wrong, it is greasy food, not the best quality but the plates are huge and the price is very cheap. Us four ate for $38. Will definitely go again.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Varied menu”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013

Family friendly fair with good service, reasonably priced with large potions. We had a dinner and a breakfast with a group of 7.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“There are many better options in Picton”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2013

My wife and I went here because they were one of the few places that were still open late one Wednesday evening in August. The decor is very tacky and is full of kitsch that you would expect to see in a thrift store or your eccentric second cousin's dining room out in the sticks. A sign that says "Tonight's menu: Take it or leave it" and another reading "Eat it or starve". I find this kind of thing very off-putting in a restaurant of all places. They also have paper notices taped to the wall asking you to take your bill and pay at the counter and not leave cash on the table for the waitress. These same notices also tell you to go see Gus or Sylvia if you're not happy about something. I guess they don't trust their staff?

I asked for Italian dressing for my salad and the waitress brought a bottle of Kraft Italian dressing to the table. Apparently this place can't even be bothered to disguise the fact that they're just using cheap old Kraft dressing for the salads. I thought it was pretty obvious that the salad was just from a salad mix in a bag like you get from the produce section.

Picton is in the heart of wine country and the wine they serve is bottom-the-barrel "l'Ambiance" (similar in price and quality to D'omaine D'or, Hochtaler or Baby Duck) Soft drinks are over $2 for a CAN. Why doesn't have this place have a soda fountain or a bar gun which would allow them to give free refills like any other diner on a town's main street?

We were seated directly across from the kitchen window and got to hear one particularly loud cook bark orders in a rude and condescending matter to other staff, not exactly what you want to hear in a restaurant.

The food is nothing to write home about by any stretch of the imagination and the place wouldn't get any review from me were it not for the issues which made this dining experience a dreadful one.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Gus's Family Restaurant also viewed

Picton, Prince Edward County
Picton, Prince Edward County
 
Picton, Prince Edward County
Picton, Prince Edward County
 

Been to Gus's Family Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Gus's Family Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.