We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Worst Staff Communication I Have Ever Seen” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Claramount Inn & Spa

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Picton
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Claramount Inn & Spa
Save
You added Claramount Inn & Spa to your Saves list
97 Bridge St, Picton, Ontario K0K 2T0, Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #25 of 44 Picton B&B and Inns
Kingston, Canada
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“The Worst Staff Communication I Have Ever Seen”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2013

Last summer we rented the Claramount for our wedding party and close family to stay in, for the weekend of our wedding. I have never seen such poor communication between staff in my life.

We called to book an appointment months before to see if we could rent the Claramount and have our rehersal dinner and morning after brunch there as well. The manager and the head chef agreed to meet with us on a Saturday afternoon so we could discuss the menu and renting the rooms and spa. When we arrived that day, neither the manager or the chef were there (we had driven from 3 hours away). We had to wait another 2 hours for them to show. During the meeting we agreed to rent some of the rooms Friday night (the others would be available for other patrons), all of the rooms Saturday night, a buffet style rehersal dinner for ~$35 on Friday night and a buffet for Sunday morning.

A few weeks before the wedding the chef was unreachable. My mother in law phoned and emailed several times (either he wasn't there, or he didn't respond). Three days before the wedding the chef emails my mother in law to tell her that the dinner now needs to cost $75/pp (instead of the original $35/pp) to make up for the lack of patrons who would otherwise come to the restaurant for dinner. We simply could not afford that and had to find another restaurant for the rehersal dinner. (We had a delicious dinner at Pomodoro's in Wellington. They were kind enough to book us a private room and host our entire rehersal dinner with 3 days notice. It was delicious and we had wonderful service!).

Friday night, when we came back to the Claramount we were told there would be no cots available for those sharing rooms. Even though I had offered to show which guests would be staying in which rooms earlier and what cots would be needed. I insisted, at the minimum, that my 88 year old grandfather and 60 year old aunt could not share a bed, the clerk at the desk insisted they had no cots and that was "too bad".

The next morning (the day of our wedding), the clerk pulls one of my bridesmaids (BRIDESMAID!) aside and tells her that there WERE cots available last night, but we will have to pay for ALL of the rooms (including the ones we did not rent). Excuse me? We were more than willing to rent the other rooms out on Friday night and we asked to show the desk clerk what rooms would need cots. My bridesmaid excused herself and the desk clerk and my mom had to discuss why we would not be paying for the unused rooms. If the Claramount is going to charge us for all the rooms, but not give us cots, at least let the guests each have their own rooms. It made no sense to me and I thought it was unexcusable that they brought this up right before we were about to leave for my wedding ceremony and to one of my bridesmaids, who has nothing to do with it.

That morning the spa staff were wonderful and completely organized. They did a great job with our nails and makeup before the wedding and we were all ready on time. When we returned home late that night, from our wedding, we were taken care of by a friendly security guard before we all went to bed.

The next morning we were surprised to see there was no brunch laid out. I suppose the cancelled rehersal dinner meant the chef cancelled our brunch as well. Approximately 30-40 guests and wedding party members had to order off the menu and it was extremely slow. My husband and I (the bride and groom) were the last to eat. The waitress was rude and complained to us that the kitchen had "no idea" there were this many people coming for breakfast. When I asked to have eggs benedict without the asparagus I was told "no, that's too confusing". Our guests felt uncomfortable.

Finally, when we were paying our bills that morning, my family still had to negotiate extra fees the Claramount was asking us to pay. We were told that the owner would be contacting us because of all the trouble we had. We never got a phone call or an email. By this time we were too frustrated to pursue it, we'd had enough.

Perhaps the Claramount is a good place to stay as an individual or a couple. They simply could not handle a large party like ourselves and I was shocked at the lack of communication between the staff. Not once did we see the manager or head chef, who we originally negotiated with. I am assuming they booked the rooms for us and nothing else, because none of the staff seemed to be aware of the previous arrangements we had made. I would not recommend the Claramount because they are so disorganized, rude and overpriced.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norah R, Guest Relations Manager at Claramount Inn & Spa, responded to this review, November 9, 2013
While I am just reviewing the comments on Trip Advisor for the Claramount, I like to respond first to this particular comment. Yes, there were some serious mistakes made at the time of this event, and I know the Management apologized sincerely for this.
I like to point out, that this did happen in October of 2012!! therefore I am a little surprised that this was posted again.

Norah Rogers,
Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

194 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    72
    70
    25
    16
    11
See reviews for
20
133
1
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (67)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Ottawa, Canada
Top Contributor
121 reviews 121 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013 via mobile

We had a really enjoyable stay at the Claramount Inn. We used this beautiful hotel as our base for some vineyard tours. The hotel is very charming, clean and elegant. We stayed in room 1 and it was lovely, very clean and spacious. We had a wonderful dinner at their restaurant, highly recommend, and used the outdoor hot tub afterwards. To improve the Inn's outdoor space, they need to update the hot tub and area around it. The tub is too small, the area is too dark, and the ambient lighting contained mostly burnt out light bulbs. Nevertheless, we will be back.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norah R, Owner at Claramount Inn & Spa, responded to this review, November 9, 2013
Dear Scott,

thank you very much for your visit and for writing about it.. I am glad you did enjoy your stay with us.
I noted your comments about the hot tub and the lights etc.. and we will try to address this soon.

thank you again and we hope you will visit us again

Norah Rogers
Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Ontario, Canada
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

Suite 1 and 2. I start my review by giving the two suite numbers which were occupied, as I was dismayed by the state of these two suites and perhaps other suites may are in better shape. All other things considered, I would like to assign a 4.5 rating to this hotel given the architecture, grounds, facilities, food and helpful staff - BUT - The rugs in both suites were filthy, I repeat very dirty. The state was reported to the staff who informed us that they were cleaned once a year as if that explanation justified the rooms' condition. In addition, all upholstered furniture was in a sorry state. Two easy chairs in suite 1 showed foam rubber through worn material and arm covers which had 2 inch holes in the totally worn material. Dirt is not acceptable for 200 dollars per night or 95 for that matter. The bathroom was spotless but light fixtures were covered in thick dust and upholstery was very dusty when beaten gently. The mattress was not exceptional but linens were very high quality. The food was excellent and well served. Such a pity to have to report as I must.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thornhill, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013

I had dined at the restaurant a few years ago, and was quite impressed. Thus when in Picton on the Labour Day long week-end, I decided to see if I could get a last minute booking and try out their accommodations. There was a room available in the Carriage House, and we took it.

On check-in, I was told that it was a "smoke-free environment". To me, that meant no smoking on the grounds. This worked for us.

We entered the room and I must say, I was quite overwhelmed by all the curtains. Okay, so there are lots of windows, and curtains are a good thing. But what was missing were the sheer curtains so that you could appreciate the light, but get a little privacy. Just felt claustrophobic with all that dark, heavy fabric.

On the whole, not a big deal though. What was a big deal was the fact that the people in the next room were pretty much chain-smoking on the balcony - next door to us - and unless you wanted to close all windows and stay holed up inside, you just couldn't get away from it. So I guess it wasn't a smoke-free "environment". Next thing we experienced was what I can only guess was our next door neighbours taking a 30 minute shower. The noise through the pipes and walls was hideous.

Moving on, upon using our bathroom I had the toilet paper holder fall off the wall, and then found frayed, threadbare towels on the rack.

So now with windows locked shut in order to keep the smoke out (so much for experiencing the relaxing sound of crickets in the night air), there begins an aggravating, droning noise, still painfully audible through the closed windows. An air conditioning unit nearby? The laundry room? Who knows. Never stopped though.

Next morning came the obvious check out time for our next door neighbours. I could all but make out every word they uttered as they prepared to leave, so thin the walls.

When we checked out ourselves, I mentioned a few of the issues. The girl on the desk couldn't have cared less. She didn't even understand the property's rules regarding smoking. Apparently people weren't supposed to smoke in their rooms or on their balconies. It had nothing to do with courtesy, though, but rather was because of the age of the building and the fire hazard, as I understand it.

So there you have it. 200 dollars spent, nothing but bad memories.

I highly recommend the Devonshire (which is under renovation and promises to be even better than before) ... or even Lake on the Mountain Resort.

All this said, this was the Carriage House, and perhaps the rooms in the main house are better! Don't think I want to drop another $200 to find out though.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

We made a reservation on short notice and had no particular expectations other than that it be clean and quiet. It was far more than that and we were instantly enchanted by the spaciousness and comfort of our room. Truly was a delight and we started planning a near-future re-visit. On checkout though, we were asked "Have you left a gratuity for the chambermaid?" Perhaps they thought they were providing a service, i.e. providing the convenience of simply adding this to our checkout total, but frankly, I was shocked. While this is something we almost always normally do, I consider it a private matter and of no business with the front desk. This was pushy and unnecessary. I'm not sure we'll go back.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013

This was our second visit to the Claramount Inn. We have now stayed in two rooms. The rooms are well appointment with comfortable beds and robes. For the age of the inn, we have always found the rooms to be clean and in good working order. The front desk attendants are a bit officious - arrived at 1pm - all the room doors were open - but were told - check in was at 3pm - which was fine - just wanted a map - but there was no way they would check you in early - so, don't try. We enjoy the restaurant - having had two dinner meals - both were very good and the service more than adequate. Our breakfast the next morning was excellent and the service was attentive. Overall, a good experience but just average for the rate.

Room Tip: We have stayed upstairs and downstairs - both were nice rooms but you do hear the footsteps of those...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whitby, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2013

Great rooms. Well sized and appointed. Our room had a private balcony for two with a nice view.
The breakfasts are included and very good. The staff is attentive and very helpful. We had dinner there and the waiter (Rick I think) was outstanding. The food however was mediocre at best. The great service and view from the balcony compensated a little but we still left feeling the food could be a lot better! Especially for the cost. It would also be great if there was access to a kettle somewhere. Tea drinkers are forced to make it in the room's coffee maker, which is never ideal. Otherwise the place was great. We will return, bring a kettle and eat dinner in town.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Claramount Inn & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Claramount Inn & Spa

Address: 97 Bridge St, Picton, Ontario K0K 2T0, Canada
Location: Canada > Ontario > Prince Edward County > Picton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 44 B&Bs / Inns in Picton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Claramount is a colonial revival mansion surrounded by lush gardens and lawn, on Picton Bay.Claramount offers seven suites in the main house, and additional suites in adjacent buildings. Clara's restaurant is located on the ground floor of the main house, with its dining room and patio overlooking the grounds and the bay. The spa features a number of indoor treatment rooms, an infrared sauna, as well as an outdoor hot tub and heated salt-water pool with a retractable roof. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Claramount Hotel Picton
Claramount Inn And Spa
Claramount Inn & Spa Picton, Ontario

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Claramount Inn & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.