We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great weekend” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Claramount Inn & Spa

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Picton
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Claramount Inn & Spa
Save
You added Claramount Inn & Spa to your Saves list
97 Bridge St, Picton, Ontario K0K 2T0, Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #25 of 44 Picton B&B and Inns
Hamilton, Canada
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“great weekend”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2012

Checked in March 3 for a one night stay.....we arrived early but had no problem checking in anyway. Front desk staff were friendly and cleaning staff even allowed us to peek into some other rooms that were still empty. We stayed in room #5 and highly recommend it.....huge room with a view of the lake, separate dressing room and large bathroom. The bed could have been better......it was a regular type older mattress with a separate thick pad on top but this was lumpy. The spa was great....we enjoyed excellent massages from Rita. Dinner was fabulous and the only waitress on staff did her best to keep up and provide excellent service to everyone. Breakfast, on the other hand, was a disappointment. I obviously did not read the details close enough because I was unaware that all that would be served would be a contentintal breakfast.....but, even then, it was skimpy at best.....very little available....a small selection of bread for toast, some granola, and a little fresh fruit. The only job the one waitress working breakfast had was to provide coffee or tea and make sure the table was stocked but she seemed unable to keep up with this task and kept disappearing to the point we had to chase her down in the kitchen to get a second cup of coffee.

Overall, an enjoy trip but short of excellent.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norah R, Owner at Claramount Inn & Spa, responded to this review, March 29, 2012
Hello paulab297. Thank you for the helpful feedback. We are glad you enjoyed your stay and spa treatment. and we will work on improving our breakfast service.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

194 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    72
    70
    25
    16
    11
See reviews for
20
133
1
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (67)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2012

We took advantage of the Innkeepers special.
The house is so beautiful and has been restored with a lot of detail especially in the main house.The whole property has a cheery feel about it.
We were in the Carriage house which is steps away from the main house.
our room was well equipped with toiletries and basic supplies, coffee, wine glasses and robes. I especially enjoyed the extra deep tub and bath salts.
There was a little deck off the room altho it was Winter so we were only out here a few minutes for the view down to the Bay.
The dining room has a beautiful light quality about it and is decorated to the time that the house was built. again a terrace all around with a lovely view of the Bay.
We really enjoyed the meals . Breakfast was a delicious buffet of many home cooked items. Fresh Fruit, Preserves, scones, croissant and homemade Granola(my fav) .Smoked salmon. I'm sure there is an ever changing menu. Chef Elliot believes in using cooking in season.
Our dinner there was also lovely. 3 courses and diverse choices, something for everyone.
My dessert was a gingerbread apple cake with Salted caramel sauce.!!
The serving staff were gracious and professional.
The spa service was also great. altho it is a small space it was very clean and well layed out. All of the gals who were there were quiet and friendly and very professional .
My hydrotherapy treatment was heaven.followed by a lovely relaxation massage, with plenty of cups of peppermint tea.
There is so much to see and do in Prince Edward County that it was a tough decision to go out and explore or enjoy the comfy room!
We will return!!
Sharon and Peter form Toronto

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norah R, Owner at Claramount Inn & Spa, responded to this review, March 29, 2012
Thank you Sharon and Peter! We are so glad you enjoyed your stay and will pass your compliments to the chef.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kitchener, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2012

Stayed two nights and one day a the Claramount Inn. Stay included treatments at the spa and dinner in the dining room. Must say that my stay was wonderful! The main house is full of charm and the staff if very attentive and polite. The room was very large and very clean with a wonderful view of the lake. The food prepared by the Chef Elliot was fantastic. All of the ladies in the spa were great to work with. I highly recommend this little gem in Prince Edward County. Thank you to Brenda and the rest of the staff...I will definitely return.

Room Tip: No elevators in this century old home, however we had the attic room and it was fantastic. Clean, l...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2012

We stayed in room #3 for a Billy's Best Bottles Wine Camp. The room was good and the Dining room food was fantastic, although we had the whole Inn and our own menu. The Chef's execution was great. The Inn needs a better WIFI system. Used the salt water pool, but no other Spa items. Sauna needs operating instructions.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orillia, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2012

We arrived at The Claramount Inn and Spa on friday Feb 3rd and stayed for two nights. The staff were very friendly, and helpful. We had never traveled to the "county" before. We stayed in room #2. We had a great dinner friday night at the Inn. The room was great. There was a sitting room, a bedroom, and a huge bathroom. Very antique style. The spa facilities were very nice. We would definitely go there again.

John and Lisa

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2012

Am so glad we stuck with our plan to spend 2 nights with spa treatments. We were about to cancel due to some written negative reviews. Enjoyed immensely our 2 nights stay- from cleanliness of the grounds, reception area, guest room, dining room, spa, sauna and pool. No dusts on window sills and boards ( Yes, I checked..) WOW..Amazing.!! (Micki does excellent job, treating the INN like her own house,) Everyone was very pleasant , professional, knowledgeable and friendly...Nobody had an attitude problem. Enjoyed very much the Reiki (we had 3 treatments, Micki is superb!!), Lomi Lomi and Moor Mud with Brandy are memorable, and Hydrating treatment with Erin is very relaxing. The cornish hen, Angus Beef salmon and pickerel dishes were very delicious..

Highly recommend to everyone, and will definitely will come back.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. John's, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2012

My good friend and I decided to do a girlfriends weekend at the Claramount to spend some quality time together….which we don’t get very often. We chose this location not only for the beautiful home but for its close proximity to the boutiques in downtown Picton which we were soo excited to explore.

My friend and I love this place. It’s obvious that whoever decorated and restored this grand home really cares for detail and authenticity. We had a sneak peak into some of the other suites (we had Suite 5) and the collection of antiques and fine art are amazing. Suite 5 is probably our favourite just because of the wonderful view over the bay.

The staff at the inn were courteous and attentive and catered to our needs. Our day started with an early check-in and spa treatments. My girlfriend had a massage called a “lomi lomi” (which I had never heard of either) but she still talks about how amazing it was. I had a “maple wrap” which is done with a vichy shower and it was sooo relaxing. We were surprised by the diversity of the treatments at the spa and picked some of the more unique treatments and we weren’t disappointed. After spending some time in the spa we went into their covered (and heated!!) salt water pool…really neat.

The two of us had a lovely dinner. The food is well portioned and tasty and the server was attentive (and suggested a great local wine pairing).

Between Spa, meals and having an afternoon tea on the second floor we actually didn’t get a chance to spend lots of time in town...but we will be back!!

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Claramount Inn & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Claramount Inn & Spa

Address: 97 Bridge St, Picton, Ontario K0K 2T0, Canada
Location: Canada > Ontario > Prince Edward County > Picton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 44 B&Bs / Inns in Picton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Claramount is a colonial revival mansion surrounded by lush gardens and lawn, on Picton Bay.Claramount offers seven suites in the main house, and additional suites in adjacent buildings. Clara's restaurant is located on the ground floor of the main house, with its dining room and patio overlooking the grounds and the bay. The spa features a number of indoor treatment rooms, an infrared sauna, as well as an outdoor hot tub and heated salt-water pool with a retractable roof. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Claramount Inn And Spa
Claramount Hotel Picton
Claramount Inn & Spa Picton, Ontario

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Claramount Inn & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.